We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your visiting the Bluff area, this is the place to stay!”
Review of Recapture Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bluff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Recapture Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If your visiting the Bluff area, this is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have to admit, we arrived after 9 and left in the morning, our room was clean and quite, and the staff was fantastic and accommodating, they had a nice contintental breakfast, for the price, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: The only thing I recommend is get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaR5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    153
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
163
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are exploring southeast Utah between Monument Valley and the Canyonlands. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but I would suggest the lodge invest in some new towels...they are a little thin and scratchy. Otherwise, the breakfast was fresh and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaweed21043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and found it a great base for exploring this area of Utah. Several parks in the area and good access to them.

The rooms were a reasonable size and the grounds include a meadow area with plenty of wildlife. Breakfast was continental buffet and a little limited but the staff were very friendly and informative.

When we arrived it had rained heavily for the first time in a while and my partner got heavily bitten by Mosquitos. She wouldn't sit out on the very pleasant porch after that.

One small clash of culture / geography - the air-conditioning seemed to go off around 10.00pm. I couldn't find out how to turn it back on again (the rooms were very humid and uncomfortable). We found out that the system was controlled centrally and turned off manually by the manager. "If I kept in on the temperature would be down in the 60s and cold" . For us that would have been almost tropical at home!

Must sees are the valley of the gods ( with 4 wheel drive) and Goosenecks. We were also lucky that there was a 7 day Navajo fair on a few hundred yards up the road - highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mrdeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

very nice reception girl.
good breakfast, although not too much choice and spots to seat.
nice little swimming pool to cool off, as well as a hot tub.
room ok.
plenty of maps and information about the area in the breakfast room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French-girl-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This inn is older and a bit rustic so be prepared. The rooms are ok size and clean with pretty good sized bathrooms. The furnishings are older but the TV is new and the bed was comfortable.

The charm of this place is the mix of guests, the breakfast rooms with maps, a card table, a foosball table and pictures and other decorations collected over the years.

The staff is right on and the owner a comical fellow. Our heater wasn't working so he came to help fix it. The whole episode was like something out of a sitcom. Bantering back and forth, funny comments and an overall hilarious interaction. He never did fix it, but gave us a portable heater which worked fine.
We stayed two night and like the proximity to the areas around Bluff.
The breakfast is ok. Simple continental and in a room that is filled with various accents and stories of adventures old and new.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We recently had a delay of plans and needed a place to spend the night for our group of German guests after our trailer broke down. Bluff was the next "town" we came to and Luanne at Recapture took great care of us! She even helped arrange for our van to get towed out of the sticky red mud
Thank You!
The rooms, even though old were very clean and comfortable; breakfast was good and the service outstanding
We will bring groups here again!!!!!
Luanne had lots of local information and was willing to spend time chatting with us.

I am looking forward to my next adventure in Bluff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverotter1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Bluff is a good, central location to explore nearby valleys and canyons. Stayed here for 2 nights, we really enjoyed it. Rooms are basic, but very comfortable and large, and feel more like a backwoods cabin than a hotel, which is a definite plus for us. Their A/C system is not conventional, but more than adequate. Pool is clean and refreshing, a great way to relax after an active day and before dinner.
Internet reception is spotty, but it is not hotel's fault - I don't think that high speed is available in the area. Worst in the evening, best in the early afternoon.
Continental breakfast is adequate, with coffee and juices available throughout the day.
A word of advice - all nearby restaurants close at 9, and there is literally nowhere to eat other than snacks from gas station next door.
There is a trail in the back of resort leading to the river and canyon wall, great for morning and late afternoon strolls. There is a number of art galleries and museums in town within easy stroll of the resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3-bed room (2 queens, 1 twin). Large, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff
0.8 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
232 reviews
24.1 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#3 of 7 in Blanding
261 reviews
24.2 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recapture Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recapture Lodge

Property: Recapture Lodge
Address: U.S 191, 220 E. Main, Bluff, UT 84512-0309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Bluff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Recapture Hotel Bluff
Recapture Lodge Bluff, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing