We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a beautiful area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boulder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found it to be a quiet and peaceful place to spend two days during our tour of Southern Utah. The staff was pleasant, the hot tub relaxing and room clean and quiet. As noted by others, there are not a lot of choices in the area but this one met our needs quite well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    85
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
203
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Small town inn situated on pretty property. The town has few options so this is the best one. Rooms are either bottom or top floor. Large rooms but outdated and tired (motel style). The best part about this place is that it is next to Hells Backbone grill which is AMAZING

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at this lodge several times when traveling Highway 12 and have never been disappointed. Peaceful, green, cool, and restful!! I have no idea what shermy1929 was talking about with old furniture. My rooms have always been furnished impeccibly. I rated service as very good, just because check-in was just fine, but I never needed them again. :)

Room Tip: I love the upstairs rooms overlooking the marsh and the plateau beyond. Idyllic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 805LInda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a treat to it was to stay the night in this wonderful lodge. The rooms are spacious, the grounds are lovely, and the staff is delightful. A bonus is the Hell's Backbone Grill located on the property. Our stay here was a highlight of our Utah national parks trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There may be a couple of cheap motels, but this is the place to stay! The rooms are comfortable, the views are lovely, and the property is very relaxing. When you stay here, you aren't close to anything else except the three restaurants at the crossroads, but all three are fine. Boulder doesn't seem to really be a town, just a crossroads of the Burr Trail entrance and scenic Highway 12, but it's a fine place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was the second stop for us on our trip to the 5 National parks of Utah. We absolutely loved this place. Very dog friendly, they even had a fenced area for dogs to run free. We loved sitting out on the porch at night watching the beautiful stars. Hated to leave. Very quite and such lovely grounds. Great restaurant right there called Hell's Backbone Grill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heckafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The setting for this warmly-run place is lovely. A make-over of the rooms, however,
would give it a huge lift. Our spacious room, for example, looked as if it had been
furnished by Goodwill. Small oversights led to momentary fits of annoyance. A night
light in the large room would have made finding the bathroom less hazardous in the
dark. The highly-reputed restaurant next door - Hell's Backbone Grill - has a menu so
creative its dishes belong in a painting, not on a dining table table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermy1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmlom, Manager at Boulder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
As our reviews show, almost everyone who stays at Boulder Mountain Lodge really enjoys the Lodge and the rooms. Since everyone has different taste, no property will please everyone. We are sorry to hear that these guests did not like the furnishings in their particular room. We are always working to upgrade our lodge and no two rooms at the lodge are the same. We recently opened two brand new suites that are over 900 sq. ft. each, and include full kitchens, luxury bathrooms with over-sized Jacuzzi tubs, separate powder rooms, a large great room, beautiful bedrooms, vaulted ceilings with wood beams, and large furnished patios with a great view. We are in the process of upgrading some of our other rooms.

Our rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, and decorated with art from local artists. Almost every room has a balcony or deck. Boulder Mountain Lodge also offers many amenities, including a large outdoor hot tub, a Common Room overlooking our eleven acre bird sanctuary, a beautiful stone fire pit, free wifi, refrigerators, Aveda toiletries, DVD players, yoga mats, yard games, and much more.

We do have nightlights in all of our bathrooms that can easily be moved to another room if needed. Most of our guests do not want nightlights in the bedroom area. We do have extra nightlights in the office. If a guest asks, we are always happy to provide additional nightlights.

As this guest mentioned, the menu at Hell’s Backbone Grill is very creative. And the food is presented beautifully. The restaurant has won many awards for its cuisine. Recently it was named the Best Restaurant in Utah.

We are sorry we did not live up to this guest's expectations. We are constantly working to improve our lodge. We do appreciate their feedback and hope they will give us another chance when they return to this amazing area of Utah.

Susan Heaton, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
165 reviews
13.2 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
233 reviews
13.5 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
13.4 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
58 reviews
24.8 mi away
Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Property: Boulder Mountain Lodge
Address: 20 N Highway 12, Boulder, UT 84716
Region: United States > Utah > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulder Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder Mountain Lodge is located in the middle of Utah’s scenic red rock canyon country. This nationally recognized luxury lodge provides everything for a fabulous getaway - spacious rooms, intimate ambiance, unparalleled views, fine dining, and an impressive array of services and amenities. There is not a better setting for your family vacation, meeting, reunion, or romantic getaway. The Lodge is the home of the award winning Hell's Backbone Grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing