We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't book this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Last week we pulled up to this hotel and the laughter began. Our mistake for not checking trip advisor first before booking three rooms for our group there. Our room overlooked a huge white propane tank and a giant puddle that was in the dirt parking lot. Then we got a look at the room--early 70's decor....chairs upholstered in dirty upholstery and the bed was covered with a very very old tired bedspread. The sheets were some made of sort of very thin flannel. The room was $179 which was very very overpriced--that is what the rooms cost at the National park lodge at Bryce Canyon which was unfortunately totally booked 6 months in advance. So only word of advice, do not go to this hotel--you will be very disappointed. We woke up early and dashed away from it as soon as we could.

Room Tip: Try to avoid booking a room overlooking the large propane tank that is located right at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    56
    138
    149
    178
See reviews for
152
248
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I'm giving this 5 starts but with a caveat: This is no Four Seasons, but a fun and nice place to stay. The folks who wrote negative reviews clearly didn't know what to expect when they rolled into town. You are in the middle of NOWHERE. You are surrounded by nature and beauty. People don't go to Bryce to sit around their hotel rooms and lounge by the pool. You can do that at Palm Springs. Or Vegas.

When my girlfriend and I checked in, we were greeted by Greg, the owner, who gave us tips on where to go and what to see. After hiking all day, all we wanted was a cold beer and a fun place to spend the night. We did the Cowboy Show at Rudy's which was fun but it was over at 9pm. The only bar in town? The bar in the restaurant at Bryce Canyon Resort. The bartender? Greg, the owner. We closed this place down and met some of the nicest people and had the absolute best night of our trip at this place.

About the rooms: clean, spacious, TV, wi-fi, nice/clean bathrooms with shower and vanity area. The building is old and it smells a bit old, but after seeing the other hotels in town - you're not going to get anything different. You're also very close to the park entrance and "downtown Bryce" (which consists of a souvenir shop, a hotel and a gas station). This place is the best.

Thanks Greg - we'll be back again!

Room Tip: It's not the Four Seasons, but its a nice, fun and clean place very close to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this hotel online two weeks before we decided to visit Bryce and Zion NP in late June. Naturally, all the hotels considered 3 stars and above were booked by then. So we settled with BCR. The location of the hotel actually is great. It is only about 10 minutes or so from the entrance to the Bryce National park and is right at the junction of Highway 12 and 63 to Bryce. Try to book the second floor rooms for a better scenic view outside just like in the cowboy Western movie. It is beautiful at night, walk out and see the stars come out in full force. It has a decent restaurant within walking distance (1 minute!). We had an Utah beef steak with baked potato, chili con carne and a Mexican dish for a decent price and were tasty. The waiters were friendly. We were surprised to see four waiters serving in such a small restaurant. But if you don't want a filling, hot meal you can always walk over to the only Subways in town which is just outside of the restaurant.

We ventured over to Bryce City the second night and we were glad we didn't stay at the Ruby's Inn. The town is a tourist trap. It was noisy and crowded with tourists. I counted at least 12 large tourist buses by the hotels. The restaurants were jammed pack with tourists. In comparison, BCR is quiet and quaint, and the room was large and clean. It is definitely not a resort (just by name) although it does have a room near the lobby with a nice looking fireplace in it. It is a 2 to 3 stars hotel but given the locality it is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second floor left end room with queen beds. It is a quiet, large room and clean ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily92688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Decor would send The Hotel inspector to a mental institution. Clean it is not. But our cabin provided kitchen facilities and access to the Subway. WI FI only in the reception cabin. There was no other vacancy. Breakfast was not offered only coffee maker. Bring something to eat or go to Ruby's - avoid restaurant on site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maglip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bryce hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Bryce Canyon Resort Hotel, the staff are really nice there but wish we stayed somewhere else. The rooms needed repairs and were musty, and the shower went from burning hot to freezing cold to burning hot again. I screamed three times taking a shower! It was not enjoyable.

BUT, you should definitely eat breakfast at the Bryce Canyon Resort Restaurant. They have the BEST breakfast I think I've ever had! Get the steak and eggs and enjoy all the cowboy and outlaw memorabilia on the walls and the Johnny Cash playing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittanyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

In a pinch I might stay here with my old college buddies. But with my family I would never stay here again.

We had cabin room #151 in the back and the first thing you notice is the nasty "old" hotel odor/smell. You know, that smell of a really old musty rug combined with great grandma's polyester comforter. Then you'll be amazed by the plush towels in the bathroom that appear to have been used for a car wash. The long black hairs in the corners of the bathroom really made the towels seem much more appealing.

My kids left some toothpaste on the side of the sink the first morning. It was still there when we returned that evening after the room had been cleaned and the beds were made. Not sure what was done with the towels.

We paid about $140/night for two nights. But the place isn't worth much more than $50/night.

FYI-loved the previous comment about the attached restaurant and it's atmosphere of some kind of horror film. The entire complex reminds me of the movie "From Dusk till Dawn"

Yes, it is close to Bryce, but I would find a place in one of the neighboring towns of Tropic or Panguich before I would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in a "historic" cabin, it had two rooms and kitchenette. This was the only place available with our short notice plans, so I was a little worried. I am not sure what everyone out there is expecting when they stay near a national park, but this place is not a dump, nor is it a resort. Its a place to stay, and my room was as advertised, we had a flat screen tv + cable in our room, the pool has seen better days, but the kids didn't care. I have no real complaints, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The allegedly rude front desk guy is actually not rude, he is just blunt and if you cannot deal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axrandjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
6.1 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Resort

Property: Bryce Canyon Resort
Address: 13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764
Region: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Canyon Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic resort offers the charm of yesteryear. Escape from the hustle and bustle of the hi-tech world and return to a time when Cowboys road horses through the outback of the Wild West.Visit the hiding places of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or hike the hoodoos of Byrce Canyon. No matter what your visit, leave your cares at the door and escape to this charming inn.After a long day, saddle up to the bar and ask the bartender for any icy cold beer to wash away the dust. Or enjoy a thick juicy steak at the Cowboy Ranch House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bryce Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce
Canyon Bryce
Bryce Canyon Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing