We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Defiance House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ticaboo Resort(Lake Powell)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The View Hotel(Monument Valley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Firetree Bed & Breakfast(Monument Valley)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
49
55
30
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
55
30
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake powellfacing westshampoo and soapwi figlen canyoncan't beat the viewnice clean roomsgift shoppleasant stayfish lakeeasy accessdefiancemicrowavemileslodging
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to embarking our house boat. The room was dated and sub par - there were cigarette holes in the bedspread and the soap/lotion dispensers in the bathroom didn't work. They did have some disposable toothbrushes and toothpaste packets that were complimentary at the front desk and that was greatly appreciated since ours somehow did not get packed.
We ate twice in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and the food was tasty but service was very slow and the place was close to empty. We had a party of 12 and the entrees would come out randomly, spaced apart by 5 to 10 minutes.
My husband and I traveled with our children ages 10, 8, 6 and 6 and this was an OK place to stay for the night, especially since it was the only option. I would not ever consider a full vacation here. I have heard that the other side of the lake (Arizona, Wahweap marina) has much nicer resorts. I would go with that if you are not planning to camp or houseboat the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have been visiting Powell since 1997, we used to rent houseboats but became to expensive and a lot of work, trying to get 10-12 people on the same page :) We started staying at Defiance about 5 years ago :) Its awesome to play on the Boat all day and be able to have a room and take a shower and have the AC on HIGH :) The Hotel rooms are clean and have nice linens & beds..And it has WiFi :) Nothing better then that :) yes if the restaurant was in my town I wouldn't go.. But its in the middle of NO where and has GREAT views and a GREAT staff and GREAT Pina Colada's .. So at the end of our HOT day on the lake it ROCKS.. We have been 5 times this year and can't wait to go back in 3 weeks :)

Room Tip: All room are VERY quite :) I preferred the up stairs rooms, just because I have been in Hotel's with people loud above me... I feel like the parking lot side ROCKS.. Its cheaper and the sun in the afternoon is not beating in like the so called view side lol
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

During a very busy Memorial Day weekend, this hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Very few amenities, but you're there for fun on the lake. Restaurant was pretty good too. Had a great burger and the ribs were perfect.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank brucewiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is an old property with apparent "DIY" efforts to fix it up with some pine boards and cheap tile, which results in "ok" or adaquate. The new minifridge door would catch on the cabinet enclosure. The floors are creaky, and the place needs a very through, professional cleaning, and professional renovation. The linens and bath were clean. There were "out of service" labels on the ice machine. The overall feel is a dorm or "company" lodge. BUT, for being in the middle of no-where, on Lake Powell, with great views, it is good. The food at the restaurant matches the lodge, so-so. Consider grilling your own steaks/burgers and enjoy the view! There is a wonderful "porch" with rocking chairs to enjoy sunset over the water! Yes, will stay again if a hotel is needed in Bullfrog!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MountainJitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

I will be changing my vacation plans to Bullfrog from now on. Defiant house couldn't be better! But stay away from Anasazi restaurant. Tiny portions that seem to be poorly put together using grocery store snack packs, at a hugely inflated price. Tried twice to give them another chance. Then ate at the gas station. :(

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkgtchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews