We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Crew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Defiance House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had an excellent experience at the Defiance House Lodge - from the pleasant welcome from the check in staff, great service in the dining room, to the nicely appointed rooms. An oasis in the middle of the desert! I would like to share an example of their above and beyond service. One night while on the water on a rented houseboat, three nights after our stay at the lodge, the generator wouldn't start on the boat. After several attempts to find a voice to answer any phone or radio with no luck, I decided to call the lodge. Without hesitation, the voice on the other end took down my information and location, and within 5 minutes I was talking to a Marina mechanic. What a great team and vacation saving experience! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there on my next trip to Lake Powell!

Room Tip: Rooms on the marina side provide a great view of the sunset and marina lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WesterClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

When you are at Lake Powell and want to avoid tents and houseboats, you don't have many options. This hotel is super close to the boat ramp and marina, is clean enough, is right next to an OK restaurant with decent pizza and lots of cold beer. The rooms are outdated and the showers give you a blast of cold every 30 seconds or so. Regardless, the pros WAY outweigh the cons, so at $180 a night, we stay here every year :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at Defiance Lodge on and off for about 8 years prior to going to our house boat. Location is everything with this hotel. Over the years they have made improvements but it is not a 5 star hotel. If you go with the right mindset that you are at Powell then you shouldn't be spending a ton of time in room anyway.

Room Tip: View of Lake is great but hot in evening if you want to sit on porch for a drink. Maybe get room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passionboutgoodstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to embarking our house boat. The room was dated and sub par - there were cigarette holes in the bedspread and the soap/lotion dispensers in the bathroom didn't work. They did have some disposable toothbrushes and toothpaste packets that were complimentary at the front desk and that was greatly appreciated since ours somehow did not get packed.
We ate twice in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and the food was tasty but service was very slow and the place was close to empty. We had a party of 12 and the entrees would come out randomly, spaced apart by 5 to 10 minutes.
My husband and I traveled with our children ages 10, 8, 6 and 6 and this was an OK place to stay for the night, especially since it was the only option. I would not ever consider a full vacation here. I have heard that the other side of the lake (Arizona, Wahweap marina) has much nicer resorts. I would go with that if you are not planning to camp or houseboat the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have been visiting Powell since 1997, we used to rent houseboats but became to expensive and a lot of work, trying to get 10-12 people on the same page :) We started staying at Defiance about 5 years ago :) Its awesome to play on the Boat all day and be able to have a room and take a shower and have the AC on HIGH :) The Hotel rooms are clean and have nice linens & beds..And it has WiFi :) Nothing better then that :) yes if the restaurant was in my town I wouldn't go.. But its in the middle of NO where and has GREAT views and a GREAT staff and GREAT Pina Colada's .. So at the end of our HOT day on the lake it ROCKS.. We have been 5 times this year and can't wait to go back in 3 weeks :)

Room Tip: All room are VERY quite :) I preferred the up stairs rooms, just because I have been in Hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

During a very busy Memorial Day weekend, this hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Very few amenities, but you're there for fun on the lake. Restaurant was pretty good too. Had a great burger and the ribs were perfect.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank brucewiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is an old property with apparent "DIY" efforts to fix it up with some pine boards and cheap tile, which results in "ok" or adaquate. The new minifridge door would catch on the cabinet enclosure. The floors are creaky, and the place needs a very through, professional cleaning, and professional renovation. The linens and bath were clean. There were "out of service" labels on the ice machine. The overall feel is a dorm or "company" lodge. BUT, for being in the middle of no-where, on Lake Powell, with great views, it is good. The food at the restaurant matches the lodge, so-so. Consider grilling your own steaks/burgers and enjoy the view! There is a wonderful "porch" with rocking chairs to enjoy sunset over the water! Yes, will stay again if a hotel is needed in Bullfrog!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MountainJitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Defiance House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defiance House Lodge

Address: Highway 276, Bullfrog, UT 84533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Bullfrog
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Price Range: £102 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Defiance House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Defiance House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Defiance House Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance House Lodge Bullfrog, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing