We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Defiance House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Defiance House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just the nicest and most helpful staff, bending over backwards to make sure their guests are happy. They have a free shuttle to get you around the place, and a restaurant on site.
My room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable, and the room was spotless. The computer desk was a great help. The Keurig in the room was a nice bonus I wasn't expecting.
I was concerned, with it being the only place in the area to stay, that it would be terrible and I couldn't do anything about it. Thankfully, this place was awesome and I'd happily stay here again.
All the rooms have a patio/deck. If you can, ask for one facing west. The sunsets are incredible on the lake. And if not, go down to the restaurant. They'll seat you by the wall-to-wall windows so you can watch it from there.

Room Tip: West-facing, if you can! The sunsets are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    50
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
43
50
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went here for breakfast one morning when fishing at Bullfrog. The food and service were great. We also visited the bar in the evening. Jen was newly hired but really knew what she was doing and made us feel right at home. Thanks Jen!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Beautiful views and you can be on the water in minutes. Beds were good and everything was clean. We had Wi-Fi in our 2nd floor room and left the deck door open while in our room to enjoy the perfect temperature. View from the restaurant is gorgeous. Great place for time-lapse photography of the stars from the parking lot or the deck.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stallwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable, the food was much better than last year, and the new manager and crew are making some noticeable improvements. We were given help more than once by the front desk lady, the service in all areas was better than previous years. Good job!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, Director of Sales at Defiance House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are delighted to hear that you have noticed the hard work we've done over the winter to train the staff and improve overall customer service. I'll pass on your comments to both the new hotel manager, staff and of course, our wonderful Chef Matt Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms in perfect location for roadtrip from Cortez to Zion Nat Park via the Hovenweep National Monument, West on the 95 then South on the 276 to Bullfrog. The extremely scenic Burr Trail starts just North of the Lodge and then onto the amazing US12.
Its well run though even though they don't have much competition. I used the Lodge late March and on the drive down the 276 I saw only 3 vehicles and they were traveling North away from Bullfrog so I was mildly concerned if I would find anyone else down there! On arrival other guests were indeed very rare but I still received a prompt and friendly welcome at the Lobby

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Defiance Lodge is clean and comfortable. It is rustic and needs a bit of a facelift, but overall, it's better than a lot of motels we've stayed in. The staff is accommodating. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, but when you're getting ready to 'camp on the lake,' who needs it anyway? There is Wi-Fi in the lobby for those who just have to have access to the Internet. Phone service is intermittent at best. Once you're on the lake, remember that unless you are in sight of Navajo Mountain, you won't be calling anyone or receiving any calls. We always stay here the night before leaving on the houseboat. Sometimes we stay here after a houseboat trip, and it's wonderful to have a reliable hot shower. There is a coffee maker (Starbucks coffee), refrigerator, and microwave. It can get 'mighty' hot at lake Powell, and the air conditioning works great in the rooms. I like that they have re-cycle bins. It is the Number 1 ranked motel in the area . . . oh wait. It's the only motel in the area. (Unless Ticaboo has opened.) Regardless, we will always stay here prior to our Lake Powell outing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lake for an awesome sunset and upstairs or you'll listen to footst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Defiance Lodge, located on Lake Powell, is a wonderful place to relax or pursue boating or jet ski adventures. The extra cost of a lake view is well worth the price. The restaurant has great food and also has fabulous views. WiFi is only located in the lobby and the TV had intermittent reception. A wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane_and_Frank_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bullfrog
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Defiance House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defiance House Lodge

Property: Defiance House Lodge
Address: Highway 276, Bullfrog, UT 84533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Bullfrog
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Defiance House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Defiance House Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance House Lodge Bullfrog, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing