We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink in the View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kodachrome Basin State Park
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Drink in the View”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We'll never forget eating our dinner on the cabin porch while watching the sun set over the spectacular red rocks. It was really special. The cabin itself was very roomy and comfortable. Cabins are very close together though so it felt like we were on top of our neighbors whenever we were outside. Also, there is absolutely no cell service out there. But it's just beautiful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkaseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I guess I really expected vibrant in your face colors in this state park given the name. The road in is unpaved and dusty but we did see some interesting rock formations and decided to take the footpath to see Shakespeare's Arch. I believe it was about a mile and a half round trip but the pathway was fairly easy; if you're kids, it's a walk in the park! A little disappointed in what we saw (see posted picture) but it felt good to get out and walk after being in the vehicle for so long. The entry fee is $8.00 and there are some great spots for taking pictures.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful quiet remote setting, very clean campsites & restrooms. Foot prints are brushed out between campers. Hot showers! Outdoor sink for washing dishes. Firewood for sale. Staff at visitor center very pleasant. Grumpy staff at store at cabins, though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalante, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very beautiful scenery, unfriendly staff.

I stayed in a cabin for two nights in October 2013 with my wife and our two years old toddler.
The scenenery is very beautiful. The cabins could be kept better. Very dusty in some places.
Anyway: you got a terrace and a private grill with equipment (gas provided by campground). So just get yourself a good steak, and do some grillling in the middle of the state park while watching the hoodoos changing their colour in the sunset. It´s worth it! Don´t forget to buy a sixpack (I recommend "hoodoo") in the supermarket in the next town :)
When it comes to breakfast in the morning: There is only one table in the breakfast room. The owner puts a notice: "Please don´t take too much, so breakfats lasts for everyone". The first morning we did as asked. But when I reentered to get more, the owner had taken away the breakfast without asking us, if we wanted more.
Thing is: The next day we took as much as we could get, and even more.
Distance to Bryce NP is ok.
Remember: Staff is bored of what they are doing, not professional, not friendly and not always in place. (At nighttime they are gone.)
When you travel with kids: Be aware of poisonous animals.
You don´t pay entry fee for state park, when lodging in campground!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lereops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The basin is state owned land that is at the top of the Grand Staircase Escalante (a national park). The views of the mountains are gorgeous as you enter the park. There are several hikes and there is a drivable loop thru part of the park. We did the Panorama hike, and the hike to Shakespeare arch. Liked Shakespeare arch, panorama trail was ok. I would have liked the trail to go into the mountains, but it looped away-even though it offered differing views of the peaks. A pretty good day. Could not do Grosenvor Arch-road washed out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Kodachrome is so beautiful and worth the stop. The campground was quiet and in such a beautiful setting. All sorts of hiking right from the campsites. Great bathrooms with hot showers included at no extra charge. Hardly anyone there during the week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smch916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I highly recommend this campground for travellers to the Bryce Canyon area. Very clean and quiet, peaceful, with lovely short hikes all around and spectacular scenery. Clean bathrooms with running water. Easy to book in advance so you don't have to worry about driving all the way in and not getting a site. I've camped here on two different trips and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RundleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,822 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Purple Sage Motel
Purple Sage Motel
#2 of 14 in Panguitch
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodachrome Basin State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodachrome Basin State Park

Property: Kodachrome Basin State Park
Address: Cannonville, UT 84718
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kodachrome Basin State Park Hotel Cannonville
Kodachrome Basin State Park Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing