We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Herriman, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay here”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very accommodating. There was a store built into this hotel and it made it nice, as we didn't have a place to eat. They had pizzas and heated them for us and brought them to our room when we arrived. What great service! Clean and big rooms. We also needed a baby play n pack and they had that available for us as well. For breakfast they could have done better, but they had toast and hot chocolate/coffee for free and other items you could purchase as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    235
    87
    10
    5
See reviews for
145
264
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Room (6) - A pearl of motel: very big and clean room. / Services (5,5) - Everything you need for a comfortable staying. Supermarket and Gasoline available in the same place. Basic but very good and rich breakfast. I absolutely recommend this Motel if you want to visit Bryce spending very less. / Location (5,5) - A perfect location not to loose the marvellous panorama south to Bryce. Very good restaurant in Tropic, 10 minutes by car. [1-6 scale]

Room Tip: An opportunity to see what's beyond the Bryce
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel was clean and a welcome place to stay after a full day of visiting Bryce Canyon. The room was nice and big. There are no restaurants in town, but the hotel has a general store attached. They offered to cook pizza for us, and even brought it to our room which was really nice. Breakfast could be a little fuller -- just toast and coffee, cocoa etc. But everyone working was very friendly to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaredpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The rooms in this hotel are very large (at least on the third floor), very clean, basic but nice furniture, and very quiet when we were there. The staff in the country store downstairs are friendly and helpful and although there are no restaurants in the town, you can buy food for dinner in the store and there are microwave ovens to cook it in. There is coffee and toast for free at breakfast and again you can buy cook it yourself food for breakfast. The one drawback is that there is no elevator, so if you can't carry bags up the stairs, make sure to ask for a lower floor room. Cannonville is an easy drive from Bryce Canyon and this hotel is much less expensive and a better deal than others nearer BC. As long as you are open to a hotel that is a bit different than most, I'd highly recommend this, especially for families.

Room Tip: Lower floors to avoid the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danny_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent two nights here visiting Bryce Canyon NP and were very happy with it.

It doesn't look much from the outside but our room was huge, two enormous beds (we only used one!) and an excellent bathroom. All very clean, the air conditioning was noisy so we just turned it off and opened the window instead.
Good fridge as well.

Reception staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast was simple but adequate. Really no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchies1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

As the title suggests I stayed 1 night here after visiting Bryce National Park and then moving on to visit more of amazing Utah! As a previous reviewer has mentioned the hotel also doubles as a gas station and a convenience store, they sell food which you can microwave in the microwaves available in the corridor of the hotel but there isn't a restaurant in Cannonville. The people who run the hotel are extremely nice and very helpful. The room itself was clean but basic, it is cooled/ heated by a system which is driven by some eco friendly mechanism (I read the notice about this but have forgotten the specifics!).

Good points:
Friendly staff/ owners
Gas station
Large room, very clean

Not so good points:
Air con was rather too loud for my liking
I couldn't work out had to change the TV over to get the cable channels even though there was an instruction sheet (this could be more my fault than the hotels!)
No lift/ elevators

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaClaireBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Cannonville is a small town. The gas station, the local store and the motel is one and the same place. It is 20-25 minutes by car to Bryce Canyon park, and you don't really want to be any further out than this. Tropic is a better bet: it is closer, there are more motels/B&Bs and a couple of restaurants, too. Cannonville has none.
The Grand Staircase Inn is named after a large geographic feature nearby (Escalante) and has nothing to do with the large escapeway structure at the end of the building.
The rooms are pretty basic - no complaints. We were placed next to the boiler/laundry room, which was too noisy for our liking. We asked for another room, and promptly got one.
Cannonville is close to Kodakchrome Basin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopenhagenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,614 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing