We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It worked for what we needed”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Funny to decide how high to rate this on an overall scale. We normally stay at Hampton Inn type hotels and this is a completely different experience yet, very adequate for the price and for what one actually "needs". So while its not quite the environment I normally stay, I can recommend it if you understand what you are getting.

Its pretty much all that's in this small town. Our purpose was to visit Bryce Canyon Park and since all places were booked full right outside the park we were very happy to find this place. The room was very large. We just mainly needed a comfortable & safe place to sleep and that it was! It was interesting to be out in the country. The drive to Bryce was about an easy 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    247
    91
    10
    5
See reviews for
154
275
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We really liked this place and would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Bryce Canyon (stunning) or driving along the beautiful Highway 12 Scenic Byway. Our room was large, comfortable and very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and provide a basic (but more than adequate) breakfast for guests each morning. They will also happily heat up pizzas bought from the shop for guests in the evening.. quite handy as there's not a lot of options for eating out nearby! Utah became the unexpected highlight of a 3 week trip around the SW. If you're heading North from the Grand Canyon then Southern Utah is an absolute must.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Pleasant surprise for accommodation in such a small town. Generously sized and furnished room. Great service (thanks for posting our lost property to us at a forwarding address whilst we were still on vacation).
Beware that Utah closes down on Sundays and so food and Gas are not readily available in the morning.
Clarke's Restaurant about 5 miles away serves good Breakfast and Dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As far as family run, budget hotels go, this place exceeded our expectations. The rooms were large and clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect for visiting Bryce Canyon and Kodachrome.

The rooms have a mini fridge and microwave, so we stocked up at the store downstairs and didn't miss not having a restaurant nearby. There is a ceiling fan in the room, which was nice to have as well.

Take a drive outside of the town at night (away from the lights) to see amazing views of the night sky.

Definitely recommend staying here if you are traveling on a budget or prefer to stay at non-chain motels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Although Trip Advisor reviews were good and I made our reservation based on them, we were pleasantly surprised to find out how nice this place is. Our king room on the second floor was spacious and clean, with a microwave and small frig, couch, TV, Wi-Fi, excellent bath with dryer. Actually it looks like it's been through a recent remodel, but I don't know if that's true. For the price, I had expected something much more basic. The night before we had paid about $20 more for a very basic room with no TV, internet, dated furniture, tiny bath, etc. This was the night to bring in the computer to catch up on emails, download photos to post to Facebook, etc. First, we bought food in the downstairs store and made dinner in our room, then relaxed and watched TV. Despite the government shutdown which has closed all the National Parks we have come out west to see, places like this help keep our spirits up, as we realize the most important people in our lives are those we meet every day, such as the small business owners who run this hotel and fellow travelers along the way who we have met from all over the world, with whom we have laughed, talked and shared stories with. Keep up the good work Grand Staircase Inn welcoming weary travelers to your doors.

Room Tip: We had room 206, one of the first rooms after reaching the second floor. We didn't mind the cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This part of Utah has outstanding scenery and kind locals. Bryce Canyon is gorgeous! But accommodations are limited during the busy seasons and this motel is an affordable option for a night. It is kept clean but the amenities are basic. Rooms are spacious. There is no elevator so if you are on the third floor you will get good exercise. They should expand their complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfeifavs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Be ready for exercise, no elevator outside stairs. Nice spacious room, Great H.V.A.C. Geo Thermal. Easy to control thermostat in room. King bed Great nights sleep.
Staff friendly,able to give road conditions for local parks.

Room Tip: Just remember,no elevator,3 floors outside stairs. We stayed on 2nd floor with high ceiling and fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,830 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
627 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing