We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Staircase Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grand Staircase Inn”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Grand Staircase Inn - 3rd floor
May 9, 2014

Following an afternoon of adventure hiking in Zebra Slot Canyon, we drove to Cannonville for a night's sleep before heading on to Bryce Canyon. The drive from Escalante over the mountain was mile after mile of breathtaking views and beautiful landscape. The roads were not crowded. We chose Grand Staircase Inn for it's close proximity to Bryce Canyon NP and it's excellent price for our family of four. It was very easy to find.

Getting to our room on the third floor involved climbing the wide, circular outdoor staircase up to the interior hallway. We were delighted to find A-frame ceilings in our room and plenty of space to set up our four suitcases, backpacks and cooler. The bedroom was clean and fresh. A sink area was just outside the door to the bathroom - a very convenient arrangement for our family of three women and one man!

The bedroom's two queen-sized beds were comfortable and the towels were fluffy. The flat screen TV was a little small, the refrigerator was large-dorm-size with the microwave on top. We loved finding the specially marked basket of "old towels" in the hallway. The lobby is also a convenience store/cafe with complimentary toast, coffee and great hot chocolate there in the morning.

The staff was friendly. Check-in was fast.

We heard no road noise and no neighbors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    240
    89
    10
    5
See reviews for
147
269
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is the only 'lodging' in the small village of Cannonville. It has been around for awhile and the exterior shows the wear and tear of age and climate. Rooms were clean and very serviceable. Staff was very helpful. There are alternatives within 10 miles.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

When vacationing I look for a clean, reasonably priced, pest free room. The Grand Staircase Inn fits the bill. Staff is very friendly and helpful with info. about the Bryce area. The location is great right on scenic byway 12.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after visiting Bryce Canyon, needing basically just a clean, quiet room. It was completely clean and quiet. They don't serve breakfast but they do provide "toast, coffee, hot chocolate, and tea." The Wi-Fi was free and average speed. Our room was huge with a fridge and microwave, king-sized bed and plush rocking chair. Lodging in and around Bryce (about 30 minutes away) isn't cheap so we thought we got good value for $69.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank greg802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

When we first drove up we were wary. The sign was beat up and there was no indication this was a Best Western property. We had a room on the 3rd floor (note no elevator at this hotel) and were very pleasantly surprised by the large room with 2 queen beds. The price was great and location perfect for exploring Bryce Canyon or Kodachrome State Park. They offered a nice little breakfast. Nothing else in Cannonville so you need to look elsewhere for dinner options but Tropic, UT is a few minutes down the road and has a few restaurants. This is a definite recommend to anyone traveling through this area.

Room Tip: We had a room facing away from RT 12 that was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pricklypear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and accomodating staff. Room was clean and functional. Wished I had my own pillow though. Small store on site but little in the way of other amenities in town - come prepared. Microwave and fridge in room. Very convenient to Bryce, Kodachrome and start of Wonderful Scenic Byway 12 - which is a must do.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Just passing trough until our destination and needed a cheap place to stay. This hotel not only ended up being cheap but was nice. Huge room with two king beds. It wasn't your 5 star hilton in NYC, but for the money it was perfect for what we were looking for. The gentleman that worked the front desk was super friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Audiosnow46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,734 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
623 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing