We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place when you are just passing through ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had reservations for a 1st floor room ... so we didn't have to worry about carrying luggage up stairs .... our room was fresh and clean .... and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty basic ... coffee and toast... but the value of the room was well worth it all.

Room Tip: Very close to Kodachrome State Park and not too far from Bryce Canyon National Park ... which was ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2014. The room was large and clean. The hotel is a basic 3 star with toast and coffee served for breakfast that is included in the room price. The town of Tropic is a few miles away and we ate there every night. It is probably one of the best places to stay outside of Bryce Canyon Park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good hotel and rooms. Very friendly staffs. The only problem was having to climb the stairs with all the luggage, because we stayed on the second floor. A bit far from Bryce Canyon, but the road is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a family owned establishment, and we found all staff to be friendly and approachable. That being said, we were not prepared for the starkness of our room or the overwhelming smell of mold and/or mildew as we approached it. Fortunately after we ran the ceiling fan and air conditioner, the odor in our own room abated somewhat. The day after we checked in, someone actually tied open the outside door leading to the 2nd floor to air out the building. Even though the door was left open all night, the smell persisted. If anyone in your party has asthma or allergies, I would not advise staying here. While the bathroom facilities were adequate, the bed was not. Every time my husband or I rolled over, it literally groaned. There was no clock, no radio, no phone, no pool and no laundry facilities. As others have stated, the price is hard to resist, but if you can, I would recommend that you do. Thank goodness we were so close to Bryce Canyon. It saved the experience for us all.

Room Tip: They process the charge for your room right up front, so I would ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1stemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1goodboy2, Manager at Grand Staircase Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words about our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and we were very pleased. The drive to Bryce Canyon National Park is only about ten minutes. SO worth the savings compared to the price and accommodations available right outside Bryce Canyon NP. Our room offered two king size beds, which were very comfortable. Our room was very clean and simple, and offered a good size small refrigerator and a small microwave. Free ice is offered in the office, and so is a simple breakfast of toast, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. The staff is very kind and friendly. There is gas and a small well stocked market on site. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkippyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a night here and were pleased. Clean rooms with all the necessary features.

PRO:

Reasonable price
Good location between Bryce NP and Kodachrome SP
Quiet area
Excellent Wi-Fi speed

CON:

Limited free breakfast (Coffee & toast)

Room Tip: Book well in advanced, this is a popular area and lodge Request a first floor room if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyJim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed two nights here when visiting Bryce Canyon but only booked because our first choice, the Best Western Plus Grand, could accommodate us for our first night only. With the benefit of hindsight we would have stayed at the Grand Staircase for the duration of our visit, at a fraction of the price.

The Inn is situated just over a twenty minute drive from the park entrance and unless you are going to rely solely on the bus shuttle service, you will be getting in your car anyway, so it's hardly less convenient than the hotels just outside the park. Dining options close to the park are extremely limited and we chose to have dinner at Clarke's in Tropic just a short drive away, where there was a reasonable choice and the food was well prepared. You are not going to enjoy fine dining in this part of the States.

As other reviewers have commented the Grand Staircase is a little quirky, serving also as the local grocery store and gas station but for us this added to its charm. We were well received and shown to our large second floor room with two king beds, a refrigerator and everything else we needed. Access is via an external staircase which wasn't a problem for us but might prove difficult for the less mobile. The furniture is rather outdated and doesn't compare with the modern chain hotels but it served our needs adequately. We were aware of people pacing around in the top floor room above ours but on the whole it was quiet and we were undisturbed.
The free wifi and everything else worked well.

Complimentary coffee/tea and toast can be supplemented in the morning by juice, yoghurt, cereals and anything else you might like to purchase in the store to provide a very adequate and cheap breakfast. The family that run the place are friendly and helpful.

We would wholeheartedly recommend the Grand Staircase if you are visiting the Bryce Canyon area.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are smaller owing to the construction of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geeseplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,211 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
706 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
558 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range: £49 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing