We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value near Bryce Canyon NP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value near Bryce Canyon NP”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed here for only one night in July 2010. This is a basic motel in a rural area and not much to look at from outside BUT the rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. The aircon in the room was modern and based on a heat recovery system which shows they're investing! The check in is actually in the gas station on the ground floor where there was a small shop, ice machine and laundry.

The motel is less than 25 minutes drive from Bryce Canyon visitors centre and about 10 minutes from Kodachrome state park. There are no restaurants in Cannonville but Tropic, a few minutes drive away, has some - we ate at Clarke's which was very good.

The hotels at the park entrance,such as Ruby's, are much busier and much more expensive. At Ruby's the hotel lobby is large and quite grand but the actual rooms were off the pavement motel rooms.

So if you want good value, comfortable spacious room with no frills near to Bryce Canyon then stay at Grand Staircase Inn. I'd stay here again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    239
    89
    10
    5
See reviews for
147
269
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Sure, it's a little ways from the entrance to Bryce Canyon, but you can't beat the value, friendliness and cleanliness of the Grand Staircase Inn. The rooms are huge with two king beds, a decent wifi signal and spotless bathroom. Be prepared for no in room fridge or hair dryer and you have to drive to Tropic for restaurants - but that didn't bother us. We had two nights of great rest after touring the canyon. I highly recommend the Grand Staircase Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedekamerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hotel is 10 miles or so to Bryce National Park and 5 minutes from Tropic that has a decent enough steak house and pizzeria.
Very big, clean rooms with two king size beds, spotless bathroom.
Toast and coffee included in the morning. Grocery shop also available.
Very good free wifi.

Just one of those great finds that offer really top value, clean rooms.
Glad we stayed here rather than in the expensive places nearer the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWFamilyAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11 burnham rd chelmsford essex u k
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

the rooms did not even reach the very basic standards
the a/conditioning was very noisey
the staff were helpfull BUT THE OWNER WAS NOT THE USUAL Hospitable american
unfortuantly during the early hours of the morning right thru to 4pm i had a bought of sicknessand on feeling better i went to the reception/breakfast area and having explained my situation asked if i could have a cup of coffee the young staff member went to make me one only to be told [by the elder lady the owner ]WE DONT MAKE COFFEE AT THIS TIME OF DAY on the basis of this we and our friends friends will NEVER stay at this inferior place again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was a great motel for a very reasonable price. It was clean, a very large room, and had everything we needed - including an on-the-house toast breakfast in the morning. Everyone was very friendly and the place was quiet. It was a good stop on the way to visit Bryce Canyon and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadagrl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

It is what it is. It is clean, roomy and reasonable.

A good nights sleep, a short drive from a very good restaurant. Clarke's.

The Bryce Canyon National Park is a short drive away.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if I was ever in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metacomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This inn is really about 12 large, comfortable motel rooms built above the only grocery store/gas station in the small town of Cannonville, UT, near Bryce NP. If you are expecting a chain motel experience, then you will be disappointed. But if you'd like a large clean room in a very peaceful town, then you might like this inn. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean, but there were no clocks ( we turned our cell phones on to check the time) and no luggage racks on which to put our suitcases. Speaking of cell phones, there is no service here -- you have to go 4 miles to Tropic for cell phone service. The "breakfast" offered is simply coffee and toast with packets of jam in the little grocery store on the first floor. The store does stock a few other items but it is mostly for the convenience of the town -- sort of like a 7-11 little place. The town is very quiet -- the town dogs sleep in the middle of the streets, and the town kids ride up to the store on their horses! Beautiful stars when the sun goes down; beautiful colors at sunrise and sunset!
A few other things to mention: the nearest restaurants are 4 miles away in Tropic and both of them are fine -- a pizza place and Clarks, a family restaurant. This is Mormon country so the store is not open on Sunday and if you show up on Sunday or after hours, you'll have to use the red phone outside to call the owners to check you in. Also, the motel is 3 story and the staircase are outside, leading to inside corridors.

We had a fine time and would stay again, or maybe try someplace in Tropic. It is WAY more peaceful than the mass of people staying just outside Bryce!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowflyingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,717 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
622 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing