We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super mexican food!”
Review of El Jalisciense

El Jalisciense
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Delta
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super mexican food!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The place looked down home style, so I couldn't resist giving it a try. Excellent mexican food. Simple & well done. Had a coupla tacos the first stop & they were about as good as it gets. Stopped in about a week later, my enchilada combo plate was absolutely stellar. It's just a simple no frills taqueria, but the food is totally top drawer. I'll be stopping whenever I'm thru Delta!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hawknjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine homestyle Mexican food”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

A family run restaurant on the Main Street of Delta. As in many cases, if Mama is cooking, it will be good. For us, it was good enough to return the next day for lunch. Especially tasty was the pulled pork plate.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Salt_City_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“West Desert Gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you are looking for gems or minerals in the west desert of utah or just coming from or going to Great Basin National Park, El Jalisciense on Main Street in Delta is worth the stop. Clean restaurant, perfectly cooked ingredients, many salsas to choose from, menu with many choices and the price is budget.....easy to pass because it is in a small quiet town, easy to pass because the town is so quiet but if you stop, you will be rewarded. The owner started by selling only tacos on the street and his success has given him the best Mexican food in the area. While other restaurants have more traditional offerings (hash browns, chicken fried steak, dinner salad) none can compare to the offerings from this understated gem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, UT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Pleasant--and Unexpected--Surprise”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Saying "Delta lacks good places to eat" would be a gross understatement. So, after a day at Topaz Mountain, we'd resigned ourselves to bad burgers or worse. Based on two positive reviews for El Jalisciense, however, we decided we had little to lose and gave it a try.

What a pleasant surprise! Simple, honest, Mexican food. Nothing fancy, but remarkably good--better than anything I've found in Salt Lake outside of the Red Iguana. I asked the guy behind the counter what he would recommend and he said "anything with the tongue (lengua)." He the volunteered a sample, which he brought back from the kitchen in a small cup, and it was delicious--tender and flavorful.

I ordered one enchilada with tongue and another with pork. Both excellent, though the tongue really is da bomb. My wife and kids ordered a variety of stuff and everyone walked away full and satisfied. Great fresh salsa bar, and really good refried beans. Inexpensive.

Will stop there again, (I think they have a second shop in Nephi). Good food, friendly service. Definitely worth a visit if you find yourself in Delta or driving through it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were in Delta for the Snow Geese Festival from SLC and stopped into this restaurant. Don't be mislead my the name "the taco shop." It is much more than tacos. They even have lengua (tounge). Of course I had that and it was fabulous. Beans and rice were superb. If you get a chance try the salsa listed as "venum" at the salsa bar. It is very tasty and yes on the warm side. We will make the travel again in the near future to eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenna_samchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jalisciense also viewed

 

Been to El Jalisciense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing