We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired”
Review of Pinewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinewoods Resort
stockport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here early September. Would be an OK place, in season. Unfortunately, we stayed 10th September and it was very quiet. Restaurant was closed on a Tuesday night. (Normally closed Wednesdays). Thankfully there was just "one" other place to eat. It would be helpful to inform future guests, that it is out of season, rather than to just take the tourist dollar. Room cleanliness could be much, much improved. Bathroom window had a crack and was taped up. Breakfast, OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockport1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    18
    8
    15
    10
See reviews for
36
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a great time here. The place we stayed in was very large, great value and met our needs. We loved exploring and sitting around a campfire in the evening. The manager was really helpful and friendly. The bedding was clean but the rest of the place was not. There was rubbish under our beds and the curtains were thick with dust also there were plenty of spiders. With some simple maintenance, cleaning and updating this place would be dynamite. We used it as a base to explore Bryce canyon and Zion national parks and found the location convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Pinewoods Resort was probably charming and quaint 10 or 15 years ago. This is not, in my opinion, a "resort". Now it's just dilapidated and in desperate need of updating. The manager has been there 26 years. This place needs a fresh pair of eyes to see the many issues, most of which are simple fixes, plaguing it. My biggest gripe is about the housekeeping staff who every time they passed our two open windows would peer inside. (We had to keep the windows and blinds open most of the time because there is no A/C and the rooms were uncomfortably warm) They also told my wife it was OK to rinse our dog off in the campground shower, then went to the manager to complain about it. (I walked in on the conversation)
I didn't even know who they were for the first day because like most of the staff they do not wear name tags or have any kind of defining clothing. Theses were two young ladys who were always together and often spoke chinese to each other in the presence of guests.
The old, stained, scratched furniture was oddly placed in the dark living room. There is peeling, moldy wallpaper and flooring in the small bathroom which had a broken door lock and a tub that filled to your ankles after just 60 seconds of showering. I don't like showering while standing in 6 inches of my own filth and water. The tiny kitchen was supplied with the the barest of utensils, and despite the filthy oven, (See pics) there were no baking dishes, cookie sheets or the like. We had to make our own baking sheets out of aluminum foil that we brought.The flooring under the kitchen table buckles and dips so much so, that it made it very uncomfortable to have meals there. It really is that bad! We had 4 smokers and drinkers next door who one day stood in front of their door and smoked and drank and cursed for about 6 hours straight! Really, non stop! And of course we had the windows open because of the heat, so the smoke and bad language poured into our windows. It was awful! The "Game Room", with broken vending machines, games and equipment could be so much better. The Free breakfast was standard fare and staff watched the guests like hawks to see how much they were taking, which made it uncomfortable. We took our food to our room.
Disappointed over all, won't be back unless significant changes are made.
So much potential, what a shame.

Room Tip: I found a 20% off coupon on weather.com. Still paid too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetterDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinetrip, General Manager at Pinewoods Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We appreciate feedback from our guests, even negative feedback. We prefer they let us know right away about any problems during their stay so we can address them immediately. We are always concerned when a guest has been disappointed. I am somewhat puzzled by this guest’s complaints about our housekeeping staff. ALL our staff wear Pinewoods uniforms. Several of our housekeeping staff are international students from China and thus they often do necessarily communicate with each other in their native language. They also serve as hostesses for our enhanced continental breakfast and they do not monitor how much guests take, only keep an eye on what needs to be replenished to make sure we don’t run out. We are sorry about the dirty oven. It should have been cleaned before they arrived. We would have gladly sent someone to take care of it if we had been informed at the time. We have had no previous complaints about the shower in their suite being slow to drain, nor did this guest report it so we could do something about it. The utensils supplied in the kitchenette are basic items that are usually adequate for our guests needs (see list on web page). We provide disposable aluminum baking pans at no cost on request but we received no requests for additional items. We understand the frustration with inconsiderate guests nearby. We only got word of the problem late in the evening after it had already been going on for several hours. We strive to control unruly guests, but some people just don’t have any consideration for others nor even or the state laws they were violating. We strive to respond quickly to all guests. We immediately replaced a bad satellite receiver and installed a new 32” flat screen TV when they complained about the TV reception. Our pet policy is clearly stated on the web site. These guests booked a non-pet room then begged us to make an exception for them to our no pet rule, which we graciously did. They proceeded to take the dog into the showers we provide for our RV patrons before asking anyone and return the dripping wet dog to their non-pet room. The first any of our staff knew about the dog in the RV showers was when they brought it out soaking wet. We recognize that things will wear out and need attention and our on-site maintenance staff is eager to resolve any complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duck Creek Village hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This place is just what we needed. Peace and quiet in lovely surroundings - really a great place, if you want to relax and de-stress. Also the resort offers a lot of possibilities such as spa, playground and atv-rides. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which makes the place all that much better. And last but not least, the restaurant! The food was outstanding - you could come just for the food. And we didn't have to wait very long - also a plus. Our family came from Zion and was headed towards Bryce Canyon, and this place was conveniently located. Well deserved five stars.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leoschoujensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinetrip, General Manager at Pinewoods Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently purchased a travel trailer & decided to try out Duck Creek for a family getaway from Las Vegas. We found Pinewoods Resort online & booked an RV space for 4 nights. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about our entire experience. Exceptional & helpful staff & clean facility. Brian, the manager, treated us like family. Shrek is a great asset to their staff & very helpful when it comes to ATV trails, etc. We already have our next trip booked!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSBAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinetrip, General Manager at Pinewoods Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Pinewoods for your initial trip in your new travel trailer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

If your looking for a great place to relax in the middle of the forest with unmatched service then Pinewood Resort is the place. This is the third time that we've stay in the last 18 months and each and everytime Brian and his staff go out of their way to ensure that your treated like an extended family member. If your looking for total relaxation or riding trails either by ATV or Snowmobile this is the place. The facility has all ranges of cabin or hotel type rooms that are very clean and well maintained. The staff is excellent and respectful of your needs. If you decide to rent one of the ATV's or Snowmobiles, Shreik is the man to see and between him and Brian they know all the local trails like the back of their hand to ensure that your getting the most of your ride. Great place will be coming back in Feb fo Snow Mobile Season.....cant wait.

Room Tip: No pool, but a great SPA
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike Vikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinetrip, General Manager at Pinewoods Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

motel #10 was very small, ok if you stay for one night but not for two. next time we will stay in one with a kitchen. The breakfast was good, you can choose from cereal, french toast, bagel, and hardboiled eggs. The water pressure in the shower was wonderful. They have ATV's and snow mobile's on site if you come during lots of snow. They are open year round. Bring your own DVD's or VHS tapes because they have dish network and the satellite goes out often. STAFF WAS WONDERFUL!!!! can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinetrip, General Manager at Pinewoods Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Next time check out the DVD and VHS rentals in the office for when weather blanks out the satellite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Creek Village
20.4 mi away
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
17.1 mi away
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Cedar Breaks Lodge
#1 of 3 in Brian Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Bryce Zion Inn
Bryce Zion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hatch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
20.9 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#2 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
20.5 mi away
Zion Mountain Ranch
Zion Mountain Ranch
#2 of 4 in Zion National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewoods Resort

Property: Pinewoods Resort
Address: 1460 E Duck Creek Ridge Rd, Duck Creek Village, UT 84762-7701
Region: United States > Utah > Duck Creek Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck Creek Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewoods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewoods Resort offers the best Bryce Canyon Area Lodging. Choose from Motel Rooms, Lodge and Inn Suites, Mountain Homes, and RV Park Campground. Located on Highway 14 in the heart of Utah Color Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pinewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewoods Hotel Duck Creek Village
Pinewoods Resort Duck Creek Village, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing