We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for rafting on the Green river for fly fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flaming Gorge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dutch John
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great, family friendly place - not fancy but comfortable. Staff is always pleasant and outgoing. Rafting the Green river in this area is not for the rafter, but the fly fisher. Food in restaurant is very good and great value for the money. Destination for outdoor lovers only.

Room Tip: Family suite is huge with four bedrooms. Very good for a family reunion trip of fishing and rafting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gatorgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

You come here for the fishing. Which is great. Spectacular scenery. Crystal clear water. Abundant trout.

The restaurant is surprisingly above average. Nothing gourmet -- yet they serve well prepared fresh food. But you come here for the fishing.

The accommodations are poor. Older musty rooms with uncomfortable mattresses. But you come here for the fishing.

They do have a remarkably well supplied fisherman's store. Because... you come here for the fishing.

So if you're not coming here for the fishing ( or maybe the rafting), perhaps you should choose an alternative venue for your vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in the row of motel rooms on the hill. The room was clean and comfortable. This is the best place to stay that's reasonably close to the Green River. The bed was very comfortable and the place was quiet. We fished with Trout Creek Outfitters, but I hear the Flaming Gorge Resort guides as very good as well. The room we stayed in did not have a fridge, so bring a large cooler if you have food/drinks.

They also have a small restaurant at the resort. There's a pretty good variety, but it's expensive for what you get. Don't expect 3 start dining, but you won't leave hungry. Their steaks and burgers are probably their best fare.

Room Tip: I like the motel row (300 series rooms). There a good view of the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim80516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We came for the fishing, but stayed for the family like atmosphere!

My husband and I took a delayed honeymoon after getting married the weekend of Thanksgiving. We chose late January to visit Utah and spent 3 days and 2 nights in Dutch John.

My husband located the resort as he knew he wanted to fish the Green River near the dam. FGR is the first place that came up, and in typical man fashion, he booked! I must admit, prior to our arrival, I read some of the reviews on here and was a little bit nervous in regards to the accomodations. However, when we arrived early on a Saturday morning, we were greeted by the friendliest people we encountered our entire trip (we also visited Vegas, Provo, Salt Lake City, and the Grand Canyon).

I know many will visit in spring, summer & fall, but our winter visit was AMAZING! Snow covered the entire area, we saw so much wildlife, caught plenty of fish, and did so in what felt like our own little resort.

We stayed in the motel room and yes, the rooms are indeed basic. They feel like you're visiting grand-ma. It's apparent they take effort to make you feel welcome by the little amenities they place in your room (soaps, lotions, coffee, and even candies by the bed). Someone listed on here that the shower was small and I wanted to be sure to clarify that the shower is a standard size tub/shower combo. The bathroom may be a little cramped by today's modern standards, but I assure you, I've seen much smaller bathrooms in hotel rooms. The linens are clean and comfortable and there's a small heater that kept us warm. They warned us though that beause of where our room was located, and since we were the only guests staying on one particular night, that it could take a little while for the hot water heater to push hot water to us.

Every member of the staff here was friendly and helpful. Please be sure to eat at the cafe as they will impress you! We had three meals there, in the quaint setting near the fireplace and everything we tried was wonderful. As a Texas, I was even introduced to "fry sauce" which was neat.

Now, everyone does come for the fishing and I assure you it was amazing. We were warned that it wouldn't be as good as in the summer but for us, it was great! We still caught plenty of fish. If you opt for a guided fishing trip, ask for Kevin and tell him Misty & Adam from Texas sent you! :)

We definitely plan to come visit again soon! I loved visiting in the winter and would like to do that again but I'd also like to see this place in the spring/fall!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in one of the condos which was showing its age but was large and comfortable. The view out the front was a large residential trailer park. The whole place seemed to cater for largely fishermen and hunters and we felt out of place. It felt a bit like a Butlins to us, which for British readers they'll know thats not a compliment. Overall, we thought it was massively overpriced. To be fair, I think we were just the wrong people in the wrong place because everyone else seemed to like it,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cassady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed in the Motel room which is in the older buildings and room was large (for all our fishing stuff) and decent for the area (much better than the offering at TC in Dutch John). No AC, but did have a cooling fan system. The bathroom is very small with a very narrow shower (would be tough to accommodate someone 200 lb or larger). Housekeeping does a good job of detailing the room daily.

Room Tip: If you have basic needs like us with the plan to eat, fish and sleep, this is great. Get a suite fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in the Motel with 3 other guys during a fishing trip on the Green. We stayed in the first of the rooms on end, these must have been the ones they had recently refurbished. They were clean, painted, comfortable beds, decent TV. It was warm when we stayed there as well, and there is no A/C except for the fan in the room which was adequate when you opened up the windows to get the cool night air in. The only "knock" on the room is the size of the bathroom...VERY small and the shower head basically comes to your neck..but it was clean and functioned well. We had breakfast every day in the restaurant on site and it was excellent every day, good selection, good quality. We also had dinner 3 times as well..the service can be a little slow but it is very much a "homey" atmosphere. The beer was cold, the food was good and it was convenient. The general store on site is really pretty cool...good selection of sporting goods, flies, snacks and drinks. EVERYBODY at the resort was very nice..really enjoyed the people here! I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flaming Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaming Gorge Resort

Address: 1100 E Flaming Gorge Resort, Dutch John, UT 84023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Dutch John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dutch John
Price Range: £62 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flaming Gorge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flaming Gorge Resort offers the best options for Lodging and Accommodations around Flaming Gorge Reservoir, Green River Fly Fishing, Fly Fishing Guides, River Rafting and many more amazing activities in the local area surrounding Dutch John, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Flaming Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flaming Gorge Hotel Dutch John
Flaming Gorge Lodge
Flaming Gorge Resort Utah/Dutch John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing