We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Living room
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Escalante, Utah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
marcia h
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a family vacation”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found the southwestern retreat to e immaculately clean and so comfortable for our family visit to escalate. The living area was perfect for watching dvds after our long hikes in the amazing Grand Staircase Natl Monument. The kitchen was well set up fo making meals and the bedrooms worked well for our 4 person party, though as many as 6 people could also be comfortable. The only suggestion I would have is to have the porch light on, as the place was a bit difficult to find in the dark.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review and suggestion. Glad you enjoyed the stay. As you found, the location of the house is ideal for a relaxing, quiet base after exploring the remarkable beauty of the Escalante area.

I will make certain we keep lights on for late arrivals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathug51
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
2 reviews
“comfortable home with beautiful view”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

"Southwestern Retreat" is aptly named. Upon arriving, we were delighted with the view from the porch, and then pleased with the tidy, comfortable house. We're already talking about when we might arrange another trip, this time bringing our adult children with us to enjoy the surrounding area from this great base.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra B
Palm Bay, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights in May of 2016 and everything was great. This is an older home and not in perfect condition but it's clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. My husband and I were traveling with our adult son and it was great to have a whole house with 2 bathrooms and a split plan so he had one side of the house and we had the other. The kitchen is quite large and was well stocked with more than we could possible use. The house is located at the edge of Escalante (which is a tiny town) so it's incredibly peaceful and the skies at night are beautiful. We were thrilled to have access to the full size washer/dryer as we'd encountered rain and really needed to get some clothes cleaned! Sandy was very easy to work with both prior and during our visit.
The TV had some basic channels (but not ESPN) and the internet worked very well which was great since we had very little cell coverage (Consumer Cellular/AT&T).

Make sure to stop at the Visitor Center in Escalante. Lots of useful information there including road conditions. a lot of the roads around here are dirt/gravel. If you are itching for wine or something more than 3.2 beer, the state liquor store is located in a tiny corner of Escalante Outfitters.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. Same as you, we marvel at the beauty of the night skies in this quiet setting. So glad you enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Southwestern Retreat was the perfect accommodation for three couples travelling and hiking together. I read the reviews before booking and had no idea what to expect. Three bedrooms, large living room and kitchen, clean and very comfortable - centrally located, Southwestern Retreat exceeded our expectations! It was great to have breakfast together, pack lunches to take hiking and have dinner with shoes off and a comfortable place to sit and talk in a nice living room after a day on the trails. We really enjoyed our trip to Escalante - I would definately stay at Southwestern Retreat again - the views from the porch are beautiful - day or night. Make sure you have at least one dinner at Escalante Outfitters in town - excellent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelers...
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Plain House, Awesome View, Would stay again!”
Reviewed 22 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010
5
people found this review helpful

We really loved this house. When we first drove up it looked like it would be a dump. The yard was overgrown with weeds, a gutter was laying on the front porch.... However, inside was a very basic, simply furnished house, with the walls painted with the kind of rock formations along the horizon in this area. Yes, the house could stand to have the furniture updated (reminded me of how my college apartment was furnished-with hand-me-down furniture), but it was kept nice and clean. The major perk for the kids was that there was a huge drum with drumsticks that the kids enjoyed playing & pretending to be indians. The master bedroom had a very very very comfortable bed. The showers/bathtubs in the bathrooms were very old, and best for a short person to take a shower. The view from the front porch was the best, and it was so peaceful to sit there each night on the porch looking out at miles of pretty uninhabited landscape. The kitchen was very well stocked, with plenty of pots and pans, even aluminum foil, baggies for sandwiches, spices..... This, is definately not an upscale house, but I would highly recommend staying here especially if you have kids. I would love to come back again and stay longer.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimy G
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, the front porch is a favorite of our guests and I am glad you enjoyed it, too.
We hope you will return one day to do more exploring in this amazing Escalante area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing