We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly, quiet and rooms with a theme”
Review of Cowboy Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowboy Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very friendly, quiet and rooms with a theme”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We slept in a room with decoration about fishing. The car can stand in front of the room. Each room has a table and chairs to sit outside. Small supermarket and 2 restaurants are nearby. We had forgotten something in the room and the owner was frienly to sent it to our next hotel. Escalante is very small, but a nice place to sleep while discovering the Scenic Byway nr 12.

Room Tip: There is a foto of each room at the website from the hotel, so it is easy to make your choise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    44
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After a 14 day road trip, I am writing a review for the worst and best hotels I stayed at. This one was the best hotel. As others have noted, the woman at the desk is quite polite and professional. Also, it is obvious that much care and thought has gone into the rooms, or at least the room I stayed in. I stayed in the bunk room, and it was very reasonably priced for what it is. It is decorated in such a way as to make you forget that you are in a motel and not somebody's house, and I'll admit that it momentarily fooled me. The only down side I will mention is that the wifi didn't work for me. Perhaps rooms closer to the office have better reception, and management needs to install wifi range extender for the farther rooms, or perhaps it's bad regardless of where you are. The wifi was a minor complaint with an overall very positive experience.

Room Tip: If you need functional wifi, try requesting a room closer to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flapflapflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Tucked in just behind the main road, it has very clean rooms and toilets. Got a very pleasant welcome for check in and she even showed us on a map which are the best places to eat, where the grocery store is and how to go to the visitor centre

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murali8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Owner at Cowboy Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Yes, we are tucked away a little bit which makes it extra quiet at our motel! We have the attitude of having every one that comes to Escalante to enjoy their time here, regardless of where they stay, where they eat, or what they see or do!!!! We want our guest to enjoy their time here and be informed of the area and what we have to offer to everyone that comes to our "beautiful" town!!!! Thank you and please come again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not a luxury hotel, but after a long day of hiking, it was perfect. The beds are big and comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. My son and I stayed in the Faded Blue Room for 2 nights. The cowboy motif decoration gives the place character and was a nice change of pace from the typical box hotels. From our limited time spent driving through the town, this looked to be the nicest hotel and was definitely the busiest. Wifi was sketchy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidwalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Owner at Cowboy Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank YOU! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our motel! We take lots of pride in our motel and how are guests feel about being here and staying with us! Thank you for acknowledging and appreciating the time and effort put into making our rooms "extra-ordinary"!!!! We like to have our guests feel that this is their "home-away-from-home" home!!!!! Thanks again! Please come back and stay with us again....and bring your friends!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in the Faded Blue Room. Overpriced (paid $147) for this run down dump. Grossly outdated and in need of repair. Carpeting needs to go - the stifling carpet freshener used does not help! The bedspreads are worn out and faded. Kitchenette did not have a single thing - no utensils, pots, paper towels, paper plates - every cabinet empty. No stove, only microwave. When we opened one of the cabinets the entire door fell off and later the handle fell off on it's own. Heat in only one room. Toilet 3 feet from the bed. Worst of all every square inch of wall space and surface area is cluttered with knickknacks and rusting "antiques". There is no way you could keep the dust off all those things. There was no place to place or hang anything of ours. So many pieces of bulky, mismatched, worn down furniture we had to keep moving it out of the way. It drove us nuts. The exterior motel photo is not representative (shows grassy front lawn). In actuality this motel is directly behind a gas station and another house with a big wall cluttered with even more knick knacks. Would have gone somewhere else, but got there when it was getting dark and had no other choice. Would never recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasRoadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Owner at Cowboy Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Can't please everyone!!!! Please read all the reviews before making your decision about staying with us at Cowboy Country Inn!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a gem of a find in the middle of scenic highway 12. In the small town of Escalante, you have a choice of 2 big motels (Circle D and Prospector) and a few bread and breakfasts, and I went with this one given the good reviews on tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed. The room was very comfy, especially the bed which definitely had an expensive well maintained (or new) mattress. The usual motel mattresses are sometimes run down, spring kinds but not this one- had an excellent night sleep. The linen is such good quality, high thread count. The other nice surprise was the quality of amenities (shampoo, conditioner, lotion and shower gel) at this B&B. We usually carry our own amenities when traveling as most motels don't have any or have really cheap ones but not here! Aloe Vera body lotion was so nice, a nice relief for the dry UTAH air. The only reason I took away a star is that the wifi was very unreliable. It took a long time to connect, barely worked and there was no AT&T data network either but since we were on a vacation it didn't bother us much. If they improve their wifi, they can give Marriotts a run for their money :)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms here are unique and creative. Have the nice lady at the front desk show you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PM-DEL-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Owner at Cowboy Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
WOW!!!!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take a lot of pride in making our motel more than just a bed and a shower but a place that you can "kick back" and enjoy your stay as if it were in your own home! We appreciate your noticing the "special touches" that we put into our motel! Please tell your friends about us AND you come back and stay with us too!!!! Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great little place. The rooms are themed and very well kept. We received very friendly service. We have another trip to the area planned and will probably stay here again. The only complaint is poor wireless service, which appears to be a provider problem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Baujai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Owner at Cowboy Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our motel! Sorry about the WiFi!!!!! I think we have the problem fixed now! Sorry for the inconvenience of the WiFi and I appreciate your understanding that some times things aren't ALWAYS perfect! We had to wait for a few days for the parts to come to fix it! Thanks again for staying with us and so far....so good..... with the WiFi!!!!!! Come back and stay with us!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.2 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
0.4 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowboy Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowboy Country Inn

Property: Cowboy Country Inn
Address: 25 S 100 W, Escalante, UT 84726-7842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cowboy Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cowboy Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowboy Country Inn Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing