We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Day”

Grand Staircase Adventure Guides
Attraction details
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We went on a slot canyon hike with Aaron in July of 2011. It was during a three week trip in CO, NM, AZ and UT, and although we went to six National Parks and a lot of other great places, the hike with Aaron was the highlight of our trip. We had our three kids with us (7, 10 and 11 at the time). Although they don't agree on much, they all agreed that the hike was the best of the trip and actually the best we have ever taken. Aaron was the perfect guide for our family. It was an absolute pleasure. My brother did the same hike a couple of weeks after we did and also had a great time. We would not have been able to do it without Aaron. Thanks Aaron.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A trip to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our guide, Aaron, was fantastic. We chose the Zebra and Tunnel day hike and it was an amazing experience. With the recent rain, both Zebra and Tunnel slots were filled with water. Aaron guided, soothed, and encouraged each of us to go to the extent we were comfortable with in the Zebra canyon (tight fit!). The surroundings and colors were like nothing we had ever seen before. Even the basic walk to get to/from the slots was beautiful with a variety nature showing such different life within the canyon.

This is not a rough hike but it is long with not much shade so be prepared. We were the only ones out there which was a bit scary though I was comfortable knowing Aaron had things covered. Aaron was a comfortable to be with, great with my two sons, and interesting to talk with.

If you want an off-the-usual path hike and cannot go it alone, take Aaron on this one with you.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank HitTheRoaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a memorable day in Spooky and Peekaboo - thanks to Aaron of Grand Staircase Adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Maybe some people think they can find these slot canyons on their own, we sure preferred to have a relaxed, knowledgeable, competent, and all around fun guide with us, to take us through Spooky and Peekaboo.
Aaron, the main guy at Grand Staircase Adventure Guides just knew how to set the pace, make us all feel good about what we were doing - and we totally trusted his expertise and guidance, so that we had a carefree day, immensely enjoying the experience.
We were a group of 4, all around 60 - and we did just fine, thanks to Aaron:
On our own, we either wouldn't have found the right places, or gotten real nervous how to handle them and get through them. It sure helped that Aaron prepared us about upcoming obstacles, made suggestions of how to get through them , and then showed us by going first.
All in all, Spooky and Peekaboo can be done by anybody who is reasonably fit, not extremely claustrophobic, but ready to have an adventure.
On the way back to Escalante, Aaron threw in another surprise by taking us to "Devil's Garden", a piece of cake after our efforts in Spooky and Peekaboo.
I can only wholeheartedly recommend Aaron's services:
we had a grand time!
Thanks, AAron:)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Zebra Canyon and the Tunnel were great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Aaron was terrific. We went toDevil's Garden, Zebra Canyon and the Tunnel. Aaron was informative and patient with 2 first time slot canyon explorers. Zebra turned out to be just the right slot canyon for a first time especailly with someone who is a little nervous about tight spaces. I would go again with Aaron.

Helpful?
1 Thank tagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
“From expert to novice, Grand Staircase Adventure Guides knows how to make the perfect trip for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We used Grand Staircase Adventure Guides to help us pull off a great family reunion. They taylored hikes for the experienced ones in our group all the way down to a great hike that we took all the kids on. They had a great knowledge of the area and the best places to take our groups. We can't wait until we are in the area again and can use their services again.

Helpful?
Thank juleschattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Staircase Adventure Guides also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing