We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circle D Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Circle D Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

When traveling we prefer to patron locally owned hotels and restaurants. Glad we found this one. Very accommodating, clean and restaurants within walking distance. Definitely will stay here again if given the opportunity. A very relaxing atmosphere after a long day of riding.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    387
    139
    42
    22
See reviews for
216
404
65
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very nice renovated old school motel where you park right outside of your front door. We were in room #3. I don't know if they're all as nice, but #3 had nice hardwood floors and a very nicely renovated bathroom with nice modern fixtures and a great walk-in tile shower. We felt lucky to find this place after a long day of traveling. Another really nice touch is the communal fire ring. We were bummed to have to pass on camping because of the weather but happy to be able to have a fire under the stars - and sleep in a bed! The attached restaurant is actually quite nice too! I would recommend this place 100%. The midweek night we stayed was very slow for both the restaurant and the hotel. I hope more people will find this place and patronize it. The world needs more high quality, non-chain options oozing with personality like this place.

Room Tip: Room #3 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We needed a place in between Zions and Moab. This worked out well.

The room (#5) had a two queens, a sofa bed, and a kitchenette. Everything was clean enough. The stand up shower was nice and seemed to have the nicest soap and shampoo we had used in a while. The sink was not draining very well, but we survived. The kitchen was nice so we went to Griffins Grocery when it opened at 8am and bought some eggs and such to cook. That was a good change of pace from the typical motel breakfast.

We got in late just as the office was closing, but the owner saw us pull in and got us checked in. He had left us the key and a note so it would have worked out anyway, but luckily we caught him.

The rooms face east so the morning sun is blinding when you open the door. Just a warning.

The cleaning crew was waiting around our door to clean our room when we started to leave, which turned out to be a good thing because before we could pull out they found our phone we had left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestJuly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for one night as we pass by Escalante. The room (#3) is spacious with microwave and fridge at a reasonable rate. Restaurant on site is very convenience and the food is good. Guidebooks and brochures in room are handy. Staff is friendly. Some quirkiness in the room that needs upkeep but overall a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 500AT714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We could only stay one night. We were given room #3. It must be a renovated room. It was beautiful. The shower alone was amazing. It was not your typical step in bath tub. It was a stand up shower all beautifully tiled. The floor was hardwood and the room had an attractive paddle fan. It was very clean and comfortable. It is in a very quiet area so you really don't have to pick a room that is "away from the highway" because it is not a main drag. We paid about $85 by going directly to the website. Ask for room 3 and you will not be disappointed. We didn't stay long enough to really interact with staff although the guy at the front desk, in the morning, seemed pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We wanted out of St. George Utah for the July 4th weekend so we got a room here at the Circle D. We arrived on the 4th and found the room to be big and had enough room for the 5 of us. The price was very good considering we got a room with a full kitchen and it was stocked very nicely. The one thing I could not find was a spatula, but the fork was fine for what I was cooking. The fire pit was very nice we cooked hotdogs for dinner over the fire then moved on to the s"mores. The staff were great with any of our needs that arose. The one thing that really caught us off guard was how quiet it was. We did not even hear any of the other rooms until they left early in the morning. For the $112 and change I would go back any time. I did find that the prices at the little cafe next door seemed a little on the high side, so we purchased stuff for breakfast at the grocery store and used the kitchen. If you are planing on going to this area give yourself lots of time. There are so many things to see and do that you will need a week to get to all of them. We went to Calf Creek Falls and it was fabulous, just like I remembered it when I went there 25 years ago.

Room Tip: We got room number 1 and our friends got room number 5. If it was me I would try for room number 5 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a lovely little motel with a lovely welcome from a very friendly member of staff (owner?) We were given information about the area and invited on a hike departing that afternoon. We declined, preferring to enjoy the verandah outside our room, watching the sun go down that the stars come out. There was a barbeque area with seating which was being used by families.
A great place to stay in a beautiful area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#8 of 10 in Escalante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Escalante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#4 of 10 in Escalante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle D Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle D Motel

Property: Circle D Motel
Address: 475 W Main St, Escalante, UT 84726-7700
Region: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle "D Motel & Restaurant is centrally located in the heart of Escalante Grand Staircase, on Scenic Highway 12 between Capitol Reef National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Our Escalante motel is ideal for multi-day stays to experience Southern Utah's pristine wilderness. We have 22 affordable rooms where you can recuperate from your day of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fishing or off-road exploring the Escalante area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle d Hotel Escalante
Circle d Escalante
Circle D Motel Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing