We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Escape: Escalante Outfitters' Cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Escape: Escalante Outfitters' Cabins”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We came here late on a May day and liked it immediately. I'd made reservations after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Well worth the read --- so check out the others' comments. Our cabin #4 was clean and comfortable. It was a hot day, so things didn't really cool off until after dark. (There is a cylindrical heater to plug in each room . . . too bad it can't also just be a fan . . . that would make going to bed easier in the summer.) There were not many tent campers that night and our "community of over-nighters" was a quiet bunch. In the morning, we all seems to be more out-going, introducing ourselves and finding out where each of us was bound. Meals are very good and reasonable at the restaurant. Pizza was quite good and the breakfast quiche was light, fluffy and tasty (made in town by a local woman).

Room Tip: All the cabins are quaint, well-done, and seem to be identical. We stayed in #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    69
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
109
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent staff on board! The cabins are comfortable for spending the night. I wouldn't plan on hanging out in them, as they are very small, but it worked perfectly for us. We really were only there to shower and crash.
Restroom/showers are centrally located and could have been cleaner, especially considering the place wasn't very full that night.
I have to rave about the restaurant though. Great little outdoor seating area, food was fresh and fantastic, coffee in the morning was top-notch. Overall, we really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bravestrong
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

8 small cozy wood cabins with common restroom/showers in center. on same property is the best pizza, desserts and bakery in town and a nice higher-end clothing and gear equipment shop. Equally importantly, employees are the friendliest and most cheerful and helpful ever. my college-aged daughter and i really LOVED this downhome place, which is soooo perfect for Escalante. we were so glad we didn't stay in a motel. also on the site are 9 level tent-squares and a huge covered pavilion with tables and chairs. quaint and wonderful

Room Tip: we loved the small cabins but tent sites are also available (share the same bath/showers facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravestrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Cabins are cute but small. Bedding and towels are provided. staff is very friendly and willing to help. Restrooms and showers to share. Mens were OK, womens dirty.
The cafe serves excelent coffee, breakfast, salads and pizza.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrids77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

For the price, it's hard to justify staying anywhere else, especially if your needs are middle-of-the-road, meaning you don't need 4-star accommodations and you also aren't looking to get away from it all. The cabins are clean and provide all the necessary creature comforts, such as a comfy mattress, pillow, sheets, towels and blanket, electricity, heat, fan and light. The adjacent campsites have level tent pads, a covered picnic area, grills and a community fire circle. There is a common bathhouse building with flush toilets and hot water showers. Be aware that privacy is somewhat limited - be sure to wrap yourself before exiting the shower or you may be putting on an unintended show if someone opens the door. ;-)

If having a clean, reasonably priced place to sleep wasn't enough, the restaurant at Escalante Outfitters is first rate as well. A varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with many healthy and creative choices available. The selection of local craft beers (both draft and bottles) is impressive. My only suggestion is to include a gluten free beer option. Prices are reasonable too. Wi-fi only works within the restaurant, or sitting on the benches outside.

If having a great place to stay and a tasty on-site restaurant wasn't enough, the outfitter store is well stocked with gear for your adventure into the desert, slot canyons or wherever your wanderlust takes you. Guided trips can be arranged here too. Service is friendly and helpful, whether your questions relate to the store, lodging or restaurant.

We stayed in the cabins 3 nights, ate two dinners in the restaurant and cooked 2 meals outside while there. The daily morning visits from the resident chickens were looked forward to. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cabins are configured with either a double bed or bunks. Although the property is adjacent to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Quaint, charming with all the amenities... and dog friendly! Bedding, towels and handmade soap provided.

If you travel to Escalante during the "off season" (before April) this will likely be the only place open-- for lodging and food. Vegetarian options (vegan modification), local beer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We loved this place. My wife and I were travelling with our newborn. We stayed for three nights in a camper cabin, which was really well built and very cute and cozy inside. Everything is built from logs, including the bathrooms were clean and easy to use. The outfitter store and cafe is next door, which makes amazing food, and sells beer and espresso. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Can't wait to come back!

One issue was with Wifi. I needed to get some work done on this trip, but the only way to access Wifi was by sitting next to or inside the cafe. If you sit inside, they make you order... which sort of precludes the free wifi they advertise. Would be nice to have access in the cabins.

Room Tip: They are all great. Some have bunks, some queen beds. A few back up to the highway, a few back up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#6 of 9 in Escalante
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
1.4 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse

Property: Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Address: 310 W Main St, Escalante, UT 84726-7705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escalante Outfitters's Bunkhouse is your outpost for adventures in southern Utah's canyon country and the Grand Staircase-Escalante. Clean, comfortable lodging with lots of ambiance in our handmade log-cabin bunkhouses or camp sites. Nightly campfires, picnic tables, charcoal grills, common bath/shower house. Attached outdoor gear & supply store with maps, books, gear, and our Esca-Latte cafe and pizza parlor feature great food, local microbrews & ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing