We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So fun its annual!”
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garden City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ideal Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So fun its annual!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This resort is full of condos but we prefer the Motel! Its great. We prefer the Motel because its quiet since its away from all the large gathering areas, its private and its right on the beach. In the sand! The rooms are old fashioned but clean and large. We sleep a family of 4 or more easily. It was so close to our beach spot we napped kids in the room while we played. Didn't even need a monitor, we were like 50ft away from the door at the most. With the condos, you never know what you're paying for. You could get a lovely remodeled one or dump from the 70s. With the Motel you know what you're getting. The resort is alot of fun. It has a park, lots of grass, horseshoe pits, water rentals like kayaks and paddleboats, tennis courts, mini golf, pools, kiddie pools, hot tubs, etc. The first time we went here we worried there was no beach with sand. But there has been every year we've gone, and plenty of it! The only thing i wish was different is the motel check in isn't until 4pm and checkout is 10am. That's kind of lame. So far though we have always been allowed to check in early, around 1pm without a fee. We already have our reservations for this year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LRHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    5
    10
    17
See reviews for
57
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I've been staying here for a weekend trip with my family for over 10 years. We rent one of the condo's for the weekend and play on the lake, play mini-golf that is on-site, play tennis, have BBQ's, swim at the swimming pool on-site, go to Pickleville playhouse that is right down the road. We have always had an amazing time! It's nice that there is a rental company right on site too. We often will rent boats and waverunners from them.

The rooms are all about the same - pretty outdated. They feel straight out of the late 80's to early 90's to me. A bit on the small side, especially the kitchens. They don't have enough bathrooms for the really large stay areas (15+ people with 2 bathrooms).

That being said, we don't come here for the rooms. The sleeping is usually alright, but it's all the rest of the stuff that is amazing. I wish they could really update some of these condo's.

I've been coming here for 10 years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Book Early!!! These rooms always go so fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our family stayed over the 4th of July at Ideal beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager had great activities planned! (We especially liked the side walk chalk contest.) The location is awesome and Bear Lake is beautiful. It is great to just be right there on the shore! We stayed in a newly renovated condo and it was clean and well kept. The other amenities on site were great as well. The kids liked the basketball courts, miniature golf course and and the indoor tennis court. For the location and staff and activities I would recommend Ideal Beach Resort to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We paid almost $800 for 4 nights at this resort. The playground, swimming pools, grass, mini golf were nice to have right out our window. The condo was a dump. 1970s builder-grade everything. Fridge filled with water at the bottom every few days. Creepy and cramped bathroom. Dirty carpets. Old appliances. Slow kitchen faucet. Odd decorating.

Room Tip: Supposedly you can sublet a remodeled condo directly from an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Ridge UT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

This is a hard one to rate. Wish I could rate the amenities and staff seperate from the condo...

Condo, it's true 90% of the condos are old, outdated, and kinda gross! I was shocked that owners are getting away without having to update, but we the renters just keep renting and they're not concerned about doing a thing. The stove was seriously from the 60's, smelled funny but worked, we laid down a sheet or blanket on the couches before sitting on them, couldnt use the hide-a-bed because the mattress was so thin and limp that my 6 year old son fell right through, bathrooms and kitchens from the 70's with accompanying leaky faucets, rusted out kleenex holder, and cabinets with about 30 layers of grimm. Dead flies hanging from the overhead lighting. Our RV has better kitchen accessories than this place. The decor was so bad it became comical, garage sale central! Just tacky people!

We did have decent carpet and I was told the mattresses had recently been replaced.

Then there's the other side, the good side :) my family loved the amenities! Pools, mini golf, playground, endless grass, bingo, location, beach, tennis, activities for the kids...all great! Staff was fun and helpful with a renovated store and gathering area. Unfortunately the outdated dirty condos reflect on the property as a whole.

Nothing will be done to renovating the individual condos if we continue to rent them at ridiculous prices. We got a last minute discounted special and I still feel like I way overpayed! We recently returned from Maui where we rented a 2 bedroom condo for less..that was 100 times nicer, newer, had a fully stocked kitchen, and even included beach chairs, coolers, and ocean equipment....and again, cheaper per night than this dump. Too bad because it is so close to home, and such a fun family get away. I'm still torn on how to do this family adventure in the future.

We were in a 2 bdrm condo #253 and #254. I have a friend who's been coming here every other year for the last 20 for a family reunion. She said the condos have been the same ever since, in fact she mentioned ours was par for the course.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nvrdull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Springs, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It was disgusting. The beach was polluted - covered in trash and oil. The room didn't lock properly. The bath had hair in it. They force you to pay a whole lot for the extra activities. NO AIR CONDITIONING! Staff unfriendly. Floors were stained. Beds were old and lumpy. Walls dirty. We paid 700 dollars for three nights in a dive!!! It was a rip off.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The last time we were at Ideal Beach Resort (Sweetwater Resort) was 1998. This was the third time we've stayed there. This was not the same as our last trip. This was building I units #245,246,247. I was told I was renting a 3 bdrm condo but infact was 3 separate units. We were with our children and 2 grandchildren. One of the unit was 2 flight of stairs from the other 2 units. I went to the front desk but it was useless. The problem I had was that the owners had the master bdrm locked off from the rest of unit 246. This unit was a 2 bdrm but apparently the owner didn't want their space used. the cookware was awful and very minimal. This unit was on the East side iff the resort. The other times we stayed in buiding C more to the center of th resort. Wefound the staff to be freindly and ashelpful as they could. But bottom line is once your there you're stuck with the arraingement. We love the location ,still.

Room Tip: No AC in this unit, Very warm and hard to sleep. Bring a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
4.0 mi away
WorldMark Bear Lake
WorldMark Bear Lake
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
25.0 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
1628.5 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conestoga Ranch
Conestoga Ranch
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.5 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Logan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Property: Ideal Beach Resort
Address: 2176 S Bear Lake Blvd, Box 224, Garden City, UT 84028-9700
Region: United States > Utah > Garden City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place for families, memories, and traditions. We offer the perfect opportunity to experience all the fun of the Bear Lake Valley. Situated right on the shore of beautiful Bear Lake, Ideal Beach has acres of white sandy beaches and quick access to the cool, blue water. Kids of all ages are sure to enjoy our vast open green spaces, which are perfect for picnics, flag-football, or an afternoon nap. From our swimming pools to the beach, from mini golf to tennis, from ice cream, hotdogs, or nachos the store to fire pits on the beach, Ideal Beach is the place for families to create memories together. We currently offer family activity's daily now as well. Such as: Face painting, nail and hair art- ever Tuesday and Thursday from 2-5pm. Scavenger hunts, and I spy games on Monday all day. Wednesday night we have bingo night. Friday is s'mores and hotdogs, with alternating ice cream bar. And Saturday is out big day starting with pancakes, a kids carnival games. Prices varies from free up to $5 at most. We are trying some thing new annd hope you enjoy it as much as we do ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Garden City
Ideal Beach Garden City
Ideal Beach Resort Garden City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing