We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip!”
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ideal Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently came from Dallas, Texas to spend a week at Bear Lake. It was fantastic! We came with our four kids, ages 2-12, who were all thoroughly entertained by the various Ideal Beach amenities. We enjoyed playing at the beach, swimming in the pool, kicking balls around the quad, creating masterpieces at the arts/crafts center, and eating ice cream at the on-site store, among other things. Our kids also really enjoyed their dealings with the Ideal Beach staff -- top notch! It was a perfect week, and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Bear Lake was beautiful in mid-June. My wife and two children enjoyed staying in a large hotel-style room at this resort. We enjoyed the pool, walking on the beach, skipping rocks, playing miniature golf, renting bikes and riding the paved trail, playing soccer with other visitors on the extremely large and well-manicured lawns, hand scooped ice-cream, Wednesday night bingo with other guests, and of course the lake itself. There are rentals available for jet-skis, boats, etc. right at the resort. We had breakfast at our room (kitchenette), and went into Garden City (three minutes) for other meals and found some decent restaurants and a grocery store for supplies. The manager, Steve, was very accommodating, and every staff member was very friendly. They run a good operation and we were impressed.

With their recommendation we visited the local Minnetonka Cave (30 minute drive from Ideal Beach Resort).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZionPonderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just came back from another great week at Bear Lake. We've stayed at Ideal Beach Resort every year for about 15 years now. There are lots of fun activities like water sports on the lake, onsite swimming pool, huge grassy field for games, volleyball standards, and a craft activity center that's open several hours each day. The onsite store has great ice cream and basic necessities. We especially had a great time with Mario who worked at the store. We played soccer with him several times on the grassy field. Kudos to great staff. Great place for the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Ideal beach resort is a great place for families. The playground and beach are clean and have no garbage. The staff is great and are really friendly! There is access to the beach, pool, store, craft center, mini golf, and the grassy area. Ideal beach resort is a great place to stay. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alyson126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This resort is full of condos but we prefer the Motel! Its great. We prefer the Motel because its quiet since its away from all the large gathering areas, its private and its right on the beach. In the sand! The rooms are old fashioned but clean and large. We sleep a family of 4 or more easily. It was so close to our beach spot we napped kids in the room while we played. Didn't even need a monitor, we were like 50ft away from the door at the most. With the condos, you never know what you're paying for. You could get a lovely remodeled one or dump from the 70s. With the Motel you know what you're getting. The resort is alot of fun. It has a park, lots of grass, horseshoe pits, water rentals like kayaks and paddleboats, tennis courts, mini golf, pools, kiddie pools, hot tubs, etc. The first time we went here we worried there was no beach with sand. But there has been every year we've gone, and plenty of it! The only thing i wish was different is the motel check in isn't until 4pm and checkout is 10am. That's kind of lame. So far though we have always been allowed to check in early, around 1pm without a fee. We already have our reservations for this year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LRHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I've been staying here for a weekend trip with my family for over 10 years. We rent one of the condo's for the weekend and play on the lake, play mini-golf that is on-site, play tennis, have BBQ's, swim at the swimming pool on-site, go to Pickleville playhouse that is right down the road. We have always had an amazing time! It's nice that there is a rental company right on site too. We often will rent boats and waverunners from them.

The rooms are all about the same - pretty outdated. They feel straight out of the late 80's to early 90's to me. A bit on the small side, especially the kitchens. They don't have enough bathrooms for the really large stay areas (15+ people with 2 bathrooms).

That being said, we don't come here for the rooms. The sleeping is usually alright, but it's all the rest of the stuff that is amazing. I wish they could really update some of these condo's.

I've been coming here for 10 years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Book Early!!! These rooms always go so fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gwen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our family stayed over the 4th of July at Ideal beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager had great activities planned! (We especially liked the side walk chalk contest.) The location is awesome and Bear Lake is beautiful. It is great to just be right there on the shore! We stayed in a newly renovated condo and it was clean and well kept. The other amenities on site were great as well. The kids liked the basketball courts, miniature golf course and and the indoor tennis court. For the location and staff and activities I would recommend Ideal Beach Resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Address: 2176 S Bear Lake Blvd, Box 224, Garden City, UT 84028-9700
Region: United States > Utah > Garden City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place for families, memories, and traditions. We offer the perfect opportunity to experience all the fun of the Bear Lake Valley. Situated right on the shore of beautiful Bear Lake, Ideal Beach has acres of white sandy beaches and quick access to the cool, blue water. Kids of all ages are sure to enjoy our vast open green spaces, which are perfect for picnics, flag-football, or an afternoon nap. From our swimming pools to the beach, from mini golf to tennis, from ice cream, hotdogs, or nachos the store to fire pits on the beach, Ideal Beach is the place for families to create memories together. We currently offer family activity's daily now as well. Such as: Face painting, nail and hair art- ever Tuesday and Thursday from 2-5pm. Scavenger hunts, and I spy games on Monday all day. Wednesday night we have bingo night. Friday is s'mores and hotdogs, with alternating ice cream bar. And Saturday is out big day starting with pancakes, a kids carnival games. Prices varies from free up to $5 at most. We are trying some thing new annd hope you enjoy it as much as we do ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ideal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Garden City
Ideal Beach Garden City
Ideal Beach Resort Garden City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing