We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charge $25 if you don't empty your own rubbish bins”
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garden City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ideal Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed 5 August 2013

There aren't many options in Garden City so keep that in mind. We stayed in the motel section, which is their cheaper rooms but they were the closest to the beach. So, if I came again, which we won't, we'd stay in the motel rooms again. They charge you $25 if you don't empty your own rubbish bins. So, if you put toothpaste or a tissue on the trash, you better go empty it yourself or you'll be fined $25!! They have really strict rules and aren't very friendly. The check-in isn't until 4pm and the checkout is 10am...very ridiculous! The beach is rocky and there's virtually nothing to eat around unless you like cheap, fried burgers and hot dogs. I hear the northern beach in Idaho is better, but we didn't stay long enough to explore.

Room Tip: The motel rooms are near the beach and the condo rooms are about 100 yards back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExpatTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very friendly workers! They have a variety of things you can do including; beach, park, activity center, pools, volleyball nets, mini golf, biking, and any summer activity. We go to Ideal beach every year for our family reunion and stay for about 4 days! We love it! Overall it was wonderful!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the store are great because you are in the middle of all the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lexi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed one night at Ideal Beach on the way to Tetons/Yellowstone from Salt Lake City after flying into SLC from Atlanta, Georgia. Bear Lake is beautiful and this place is located right on the lake. It has a nice open area on the lake front with several activities available including kayak and paddle board rentals. Our unit had a kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge and sink, two double beds and bunk beads all in one large room. The walls were thin so it was a little noisy trying to go to sleep since our neighbors to the side and above were up late. The room was very clean and nice for one night but the price seemed a little steep for what we got. We could only find one small grocery store in the Bear Lake area so if you are going to stay a few days you might need to bring food with you. Dining options are limited in the area. Probably a better option for locals that can bring supplies and watercraft for the lake, there were many jetskis and ski boats on the lake and anchored at the beach. Nice stop over to break up the trip to Yellowstone but might not be best option for travelers from out of the area on an extended stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turbo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been coming to ideal beach for 30 years. What a wonderful place and it just keeps getting better. This year was the best ever. Everyone was so helpful and great to work with us. We have all ages 1 to 95 and their is something for everyone. Thanks Ideal Beach and hopefully we we have many more reunions there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently came from Dallas, Texas to spend a week at Bear Lake. It was fantastic! We came with our four kids, ages 2-12, who were all thoroughly entertained by the various Ideal Beach amenities. We enjoyed playing at the beach, swimming in the pool, kicking balls around the quad, creating masterpieces at the arts/crafts center, and eating ice cream at the on-site store, among other things. Our kids also really enjoyed their dealings with the Ideal Beach staff -- top notch! It was a perfect week, and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Bear Lake was beautiful in mid-June. My wife and two children enjoyed staying in a large hotel-style room at this resort. We enjoyed the pool, walking on the beach, skipping rocks, playing miniature golf, renting bikes and riding the paved trail, playing soccer with other visitors on the extremely large and well-manicured lawns, hand scooped ice-cream, Wednesday night bingo with other guests, and of course the lake itself. There are rentals available for jet-skis, boats, etc. right at the resort. We had breakfast at our room (kitchenette), and went into Garden City (three minutes) for other meals and found some decent restaurants and a grocery store for supplies. The manager, Steve, was very accommodating, and every staff member was very friendly. They run a good operation and we were impressed.

With their recommendation we visited the local Minnetonka Cave (30 minute drive from Ideal Beach Resort).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZionPonderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just came back from another great week at Bear Lake. We've stayed at Ideal Beach Resort every year for about 15 years now. There are lots of fun activities like water sports on the lake, onsite swimming pool, huge grassy field for games, volleyball standards, and a craft activity center that's open several hours each day. The onsite store has great ice cream and basic necessities. We especially had a great time with Mario who worked at the store. We played soccer with him several times on the grassy field. Kudos to great staff. Great place for the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
4.0 mi away
WorldMark Bear Lake
WorldMark Bear Lake
#1 of 4 in Garden City
33 reviews
25.0 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Conestoga Ranch Glamping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Logan
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Address: 2176 S Bear Lake Blvd, Box 224, Garden City, UT 84028-9700
Region: United States > Utah > Garden City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: £56 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place for families, memories, and traditions. We offer the perfect opportunity to experience all the fun of the Bear Lake Valley. Situated right on the shore of beautiful Bear Lake, Ideal Beach has acres of white sandy beaches and quick access to the cool, blue water. Kids of all ages are sure to enjoy our vast open green spaces, which are perfect for picnics, flag-football, or an afternoon nap. From our swimming pools to the beach, from mini golf to tennis, from ice cream, hotdogs, or nachos the store to fire pits on the beach, Ideal Beach is the place for families to create memories together. We currently offer family activity's daily now as well. Such as: Face painting, nail and hair art- ever Tuesday and Thursday from 2-5pm. Scavenger hunts, and I spy games on Monday all day. Wednesday night we have bingo night. Friday is s'mores and hotdogs, with alternating ice cream bar. And Saturday is out big day starting with pancakes, a kids carnival games. Prices varies from free up to $5 at most. We are trying some thing new annd hope you enjoy it as much as we do ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Garden City
Ideal Beach Garden City
Ideal Beach Resort Garden City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing