We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good for a hole-in-the-wall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Tavern

Ray's Tavern
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Green River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Upland, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a hole-in-the-wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you need to eat while driving across Utah and can't wait tip you get to a bigger town, Ray's Tavern will do the trick. We had great service and the hamburgers were delicious! it was just what we needed at 10pm!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    220
    74
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ray's is solid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Solid! On a road trip through Utah, we stopped for the night in Green River not knowing what to expect. The consistently positive reviews on Trip Advisor led us to Ray's Tavern for dinner. My wife and I love a unique dining experience but that desire has gotten us burned several times. Green River is a semi-ghost town with many, if not most, buildings vacant. In places like this we tend to lean towards chains, even if it's fast food, just because we know what we are getting. However, Trip Advisor rarely leads us astray and the chain options are almost nonexistent in Green River. We never would have found Ray's on our own. It's just a small restaurant with an outdoor dining area as well. It is clean and has a decent amount of character. We liked the tables that look like lacquered pieces of trees. The staff were all friendly and on point. No mistakes were made. We were neither left unattended nor hovered over like it's 1984. This place primarily has burgers and steaks. We opted for the filet mignon cooked medium with baked potato and salad. I got the pale ale on draft and my wife had water as she is pregnant. Everything was cooked to perfection! Seriously, this place is a diamond in the rough. If we're ever back in Green River, we'll be dining at Ray's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of Green Rivers niceties.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not many places to choose from but a welcomed change of pace from fast food and a nice homey atmosphere. Liked the boarding house seating, a good way to interact with fellow travelers. Food choice limited but good and its easy to make up ones mind. Staff was friendly and quick. A definite on our next trip east.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Just had dinner here. Great choice - service is friendly and the food is great. Menu is one page which makes it even better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, OR & Los Barriles, MX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Not too far off I 70, easy return. Great burgers and service. Clean and fast. Would stop again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Tavern also viewed

 
Green River, UT
 

Been to Ray's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing