We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bison burger, great shakes”

Stan's Burger Shack
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice bison burger, great shakes”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had a coupon from the Whispering Sands Motel for a discount at dinner and a complementary breakfast. The bison burger was good and the shakes were great, really thick and good. It's basic here, but at the end of a long day it was a good place for a quick meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    29
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
433 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We ate both dinner and breakfast the next day here...there just isn't much in Hanksville, and it is an easy walk from the Whispering Sands Motel, right next door. Buffalo burger for dinner was OK; breakfast was on a voucher from the hotel, which was better than nothing but not lavish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Stan's Burger Shack, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thanks for coming in and letting us serve you. We hope to improve our quality and service through learning from each person we serve. Please feel free to let us know what we could have done to serve you better. Again thanks for stopping in !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small town Saturday night”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

On Saturday evening, having just arrived in Hanksville, we headed to Stan's for dinner. It turned out to be the perfect place to experience a small town Saturday night. Our good, reasonably priced meals included a hamburger and fries; a fish sandwich; and huge, thick (and I do mean thick) shakes. We also enjoyed the lively, family-oriented atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kredit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
“Best burger, fries, fry sauce and shakes!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stan's Burger Shack has many selections on the menu. I had a cheeseburger that was delicious! The fries were hot and crispy and the fry sauce was a great complement! The choices of milkshake flavors is great, too. Delicious! We travel through Hanksville each spring and we have to stop and eat there. And the staff is so friendly!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good burgers and shakes in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stan's was clean and friendly with decent burgers, fish & chips, and huge shakes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stan's Burger Shack also viewed

Been to Stan's Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing