We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Duke's SlickRock Grill
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Castle
Level Contributor
191 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Cute restaurant with very friendly staff. BBQ is a fave but they did have a few vegetarian selections on the menu: the marinara sauce was definitely better than something out of a bottle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lulubird487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    105
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“As stated "In the middle of nowhere"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast on the way to Bryce Canyon. Food was fantastic and the service even better. The decor is interesting especially the ladies bathroom. Everything was quite clean. Stop by if you're on Utah 24.

Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for the middle of Nowhere, UT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

An excellent RV campground, good restrooms and showers, very clean. They are taking care of the trees and are clearing looking toward the future. They have EXCELLENT tent sites also. The restaurant is good, very friendly wait staff. The food is not 'healthy', but if you're willing to eat BBQ ribs or brisket, you will not be disappointed. We were going to stay one day but stayed three. Nearby some real interesting desert attractions. Hanksville is a whole lot of nothin' but if you go by the BLM office there is an old waterwheel driven sawmill on display that is worth seeing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Walked In Mad....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stopped here on our way to Moab from Capitol. Stopped at the terrible Shell station across the street and realized it was lunch time. I had such a terrible time at the Shell that I was already mad when we walked in to Dukes. Sitting in the parking lot my husband mentioned that he has been here about 10 years ago and it was terrible. WELL WE WERE PLEASANTLY SURPRISED!! Between the three of us we all had really good food! Great service. Cute little place in a little town. Its not as awesome as some but you cant beat if for Hanksville... (or a lot of other places we went to on our road trip at that). Truly enjoyed the bbq sandwich and my husband had the brisket. All very yummy. Husband asked about the place and told the waitress he had been in many years ago. She said that a person had bought the place out about 1.5 ago because the other owner was going to lose it. Glad he did. Highly recommend to anyone driving through Hanksville. Walked out having a wayyy better day than I did going in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in the 'middle of nowhere'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This restaurant couldn't have been more surprising. We weren't expecting great food in the middle of Route 24; Hanksville seemed far away from good food possibilities. We were wrong. Duke's SlickRock has an extensive menu. We had a burger that I'd rank at the top of burger experiences for me (I'm not usually a fan.) Friendly service. Add this to your tour of Route 24.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's SlickRock Grill also viewed

Been to Duke's SlickRock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing