We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal Ever”

Duke's SlickRock Grill
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eatonville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Duke's was a nice surprise in this very very small community with two hotels and not much more. The service was excellent, the food was prepared perfectly, the atmosphere was fun. We did not use the camping facilities, but they are very nice. If we did camp, I would certainly use the Campground facilities. Definitely plan on stopping there if that is your destination or if you are just passing through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    114
    25
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

There are only a couple options in Hanksville and while we hadn't the opportunity to review the others, this one was great. Our party of four had a steak, ribs, trout, and Nacho's for an entree and all had complements. The place is clean, simply decorated and had friendly service. The bathrooms were clean as well. The namesake is in honor of "The Duke" John Wayne and while some tributes adorn the wall, it is done tastefully.

Helpful?
Thank Smacks548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

It's always a gamble to choose something in a small town on the way somewhere else, but this was a highlight of our day. We left Capitol Reef hungry and tired and hoping to find something nice. This was just that. Nice, clean atmosphere and the service was excellent- friendliest waitress during our whole trip. (Short brown hair-name?). We had burgers and sandwiches but the menu included lots of variety and they even start your meal with yummy cornbread. I would go out of my way to return here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdomnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Vegetarian choices too”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My vegetarian daughters loved the pasta and the garden burger. I had the brisket sandwich which was delicious! Bathrooms were meticulous and service was great! Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebDebM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Tried Slickrock Grill based on motel manager's suggestion. This is not haute cuisine, but that is not expected nor wanted in an isolated crossroads location. Enjoyed everything--food, service, atmosphere, etc. Obviously the owners are John Wayne fans as menu items are named for his movies. Dinner was worth the 36 mile round trip drive from our motel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank twohappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's SlickRock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Duke's SlickRock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing