We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here for lunch if you are driving by...”

Duke's SlickRock Grill
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stop here for lunch if you are driving by...”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

There isn't much between Moab and Capital Reef -- we hit Hanksville right at lunchtime and stopped at Duke's. We had locals and tourists traveling through all in the restaurant. It is worth the stop. The burgers and fries were good. My son had their special soup (cheesy chicken quesidilla soup in a bread bowl) and said it was just great. Service was just right and clean bathrooms. Nice find in our travels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lvvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    114
    25
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best small town restaurant I've ever experienced”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Usually, in small towns, you get some very mediocre food, occasionally some good pie, but they are often very forgettable meals. At SlickRock Grill, the food was obviously made with a lot of love. Careful execution of dishes, big flavors, fresh ingredients. Everything I had was delicious and the service was very friendly. This is a a great restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

For a town of only 250 people, they sure know how to provide great food and a friendly family atmosphere. We were very pleased with the staff and quality of food.

Helpful?
1 Thank DeronNAustim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Duke's was a nice surprise in this very very small community with two hotels and not much more. The service was excellent, the food was prepared perfectly, the atmosphere was fun. We did not use the camping facilities, but they are very nice. If we did camp, I would certainly use the Campground facilities. Definitely plan on stopping there if that is your destination or if you are just passing through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

There are only a couple options in Hanksville and while we hadn't the opportunity to review the others, this one was great. Our party of four had a steak, ribs, trout, and Nacho's for an entree and all had complements. The place is clean, simply decorated and had friendly service. The bathrooms were clean as well. The namesake is in honor of "The Duke" John Wayne and while some tributes adorn the wall, it is done tastefully.

Helpful?
Thank Smacks548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's SlickRock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Duke's SlickRock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing