We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable place to stay in Hanksville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable place to stay in Hanksville”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This motel is quiet, clean and comfortable. The room could have been a little cheaper. It was great to be able to walk around the back or across the street for food. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants to visit Goblin Valley State Park but doesn't want to camp.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillieBean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    180
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
80
192
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The location was convenient and the room satisfactory. There is a decent restaurant across the street at the campground.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The motel was the best/only place to break our journey from Richfield to Monument Park. It is expensive for what it is, but is clean and it's position makes the fantastic journey possible. We didn't find the staff welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Creek, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I were tired, hungry and looking for a place to stay for the night. This motel was recommended to us by a clerk at the local convenience store. We were a little leery...This place was clean with almost all the conveniences of home(no hair dryer) The local burger joint(Stan's burgers) was good.(also recommended) and Blondies for breakfast was very good.(also recommended) Both places even gave a 10% discount when they were told where we were staying. Would stay there again, if ever in Hanksville

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_rn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, WA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here one night with my three girls. We stayed in the cabins. Excellent rating is based on comparison to other small, independent hotels. The rooms were clean, everything was in good working order. No problems connecting to the internet, and we were in the farthest cabin from the office. The hotel is right off the highway and a short walk to a couple of good eating choices. On-line reservations worked great and check-in was quick and without problems. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Quiet, CLEAN rooms. Reasonable rate. Across the street from Blondies Restaurant who gives you a 10% discount for staying there. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Close to Goblin Valley - a don't miss.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder,co
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends for 2 nights.
the hotel is in good shape and clean, our room looked newly remodeled.
Right across the street from Blondies, great food and coffee.
we had breakfast and dinner there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfreehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing