We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“LOVED this place!!!”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Hanksville, Utah is really sort of the middle of nowhere. Unless you're doing some out of the way hiking etc, you really have no cause to ever land here. We were doing just that and needed a place to stay. I found myself actually trying to think of reasons to stay a day or two extra in the area!!!! We loved this little place. The staff was great, the place was clean and quiet. I wish I had more reasons to go to Hanksville, Utah!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    180
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
80
192
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Sight seeing National Park In Utah we don't know what to expect for lodging in small desert town's of Utah . We pull in to this town late just before dusk and notice this inn ,but continue thru town for more options and find out quickly that are not many here so we go back to this motel and ask to see a room and the young lady at the front office was very accommodating,she give us AARP/AAA discount ,recommended good place for late supper next to a motel (show them a motel key card and you get discount) and we have good night rest there .Evrything was working the room was fine ,most importent to us it was clean and have evrything one need for over night stay !

Room Tip: Maybe second floor for extended stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tadeusz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We were not sure what to expect of the Whispering Sands since we had never been in Hanksville and we were arriving Thanksgiving Day. The woman at the Front Desk (she may have been an owner) was welcoming and gave us a good tip on a hiking trail near Goblin Valley State Park. The room was large with a microwave and mini-fridge. Clean and no frills. The information on local eateries was more than just a menu and a paragraph. When we are in the area again, we will definitely stay.

Room Tip: No special room tip since all face west and are on one floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had a wonderful visit for Thanksgiving night! Clean, quiet, cozy, and yummy. Great location with all kinds of directions to go in for recreation and site-seeing. Very friendly staff. Wonderful views.

Room Tip: the little cabinette was perfect for us and quiet even though an atached motel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kachtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We arrived in Hanksville after an awesome day at Capitol Reef. We were tired and did not feel like driving a long way and were holding our breath that we would find a motel of any kind in Hanksville. We were delighted to find Whispering Sands. The clerk who checked us in was very friendly. We found our room to be both clean and attractive. We were also delighted to find fast Internet, the best and fastest we had on our entire three-week trip. Since I work on the road and we also do a lot of web browsing in the evening to plan the next day of our trip, this was very much appreciated. Thanks to the owner and staff of Whispering Sands. We enjoyed our night at your motel. P.S. With the room customers receive 10% off at Stan's Burger Shack, which is next door. It was great to be able to walk next door to get a bite to eat. A complimentary continental breakfast is also provided at Stan's.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were hiking in Natural Bridges and around Goblin State park, so the location was central.
The owner was friendly and helpful. room was clean and the breakfast next door was very good.
Refrig and microwave were good to have. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alaska12550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed just overnight but this place is very nice, clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Blondie's Eatery across the road is a great place for breakfast. Much better than Stan's Burger Shack.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing