We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and good value but dodgy booking system”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Clean and good value but dodgy booking system”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were a bit disappointed that despite having a confirmed booking for a cabin we were allocated an upstairs room in the main building. After some discussion and juggling the receptionist offered us a ground floor room which we accepted. We had booked a cabin to ensure ground floor accommodation so perhaps their booking system needs to be checked.

That aside, the room was comfortable and well appointed. The bedding and towels etc were good quality and everything was spotlessly clean.

We used the 10% discount offered for guests of the motel at a local restaurant and the free breakfast at the Burger Shack next door.

It was great to find such a clean quality motel in Hanksville which is a fairly small town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    176
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
184
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here after spending all day at Capitol Reef NP and before heading on to Arches NP. This was the only decent accommodations for miles in any direction. The motel was very nice (comparable to a 3-star Best Western) and the price was great. We also enjoyed the hamburger place next door - especially the milkshake. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

For being in the middle of nowhere this place was great. The young man that checked us in was friendly and welcoming. The first impression of our room was very good. It was clean; everything we needed was there. I did not realize that they discontinued the continental breakfast; we prepared and ate our oatmeal in our room. Other employees that were around if we were outside were very friendly and asked if we needed anything. You receive 10% off meals at Dukes and Stans. Would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms that was in the one story building; you can pull right up to your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShagOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Used this as base camp for going into the Maze. Comfortable rooms. The place stayed busy, at cross roads on the way to Lake Powell. Continental breakfast available at the gas station/convenience store around the corner. Considering how isolated this area is, it's a very welcome surprise to have this nice a motel available. Also ate supper at Slickrock Grill up the street. Awesome!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgenstern71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
619 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful. There are several places nearby to "gas-up" and to eat---both of those things mean a lot in this area of Utah. They provide a towel to clean your boots and/or your car windows---and both need dusting when in this part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this motel has very cute cabins. comfortable to stay in and quiet. The staff wasn't as friendly as they should be, but she was congenial. if you have to stay in Hanksville, then this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I made a reservation for two rooms by calling the motel directly. I spoke with a young man who took my credit card information and told me I was confirmed. But now, one day prior to arriving, we are told we have no reservation and and they are completely booked. The woman I spoke with was rude and acted completely apathetic. We were looking forward to staying here but we'll never attempt to do so again.

Room Tip: If you decide to make a reservation, do so online and print a hard copy. Otherwise there's no g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukjes, General Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir, I am sorry that you feel I was rude to you when you called to check on your reservations. It is unfortunate that I had no record of you in our system and you had no confirmation number. That night was completely booked since the beginning of Sept. I am sorry I was unable to help the situation. I do understand that humans do make mistake and I am sorry that you were unable to stay with us because of an error on our part. Please except my apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanksville
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
159 reviews
38.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke's Slickrock Campground & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing