We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of no where!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
buffalo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the middle of no where!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Whispering Sands Motel turned out to be a very nice place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had made reservations in advance. We would highly recommend staying at this location. The motel also has a very nice laundry facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    182
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
194
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Clean, nicely appointed rooms, clean fresh carpet, good beds....and 5 star service ! Four of us arrived in Hanksville on dualsport motorcycles. We were on a 7 day trip going town to town on the primitive backroads. In Hanksville (3rd night out), our friend discovered he had lost the nut on his rear axle. That would derail our trip, and we'd have to get him back to Moab for his truck. The kind lady at the motel desk told us her brother-in-law Duke knows all the riders in town. Turns out that is Duke Alvey, the owner of the Whispering Sands motel, Duke's Grille (eat there!) and the Silver Eagle gas station (best selection of beer in town). Duke brought over the axle nut from his own bike (too small), and then located a friend in town with one that fit perfectly. (made possible by Colorado friend whom we called, who told us a Yamaha nut would work on a KTM). Duke told us his great-grandfather was Ebenezer Hanks, who founded the town. We came back through Hanksville on Day 5, at the Sands again. The Sands is far better than most motels you'll encounter in rural Utah.

Room Tip: The Sands has a main two story section, and a row of what looks like little cabins, all attached. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whispering Sands is a reliable oasis in a very inhospitable land. The visitor cannot realistically expect 5-star service in the middle of nowhere. But at Whispering Sands you will get a clean room, air conditioning, a mini-fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, and cable TV. It is a good base to explore nearby places including Capitol Reef, Canyonlands, Lake Powell and Goblin Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonsieurPamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A simple motel in the middle of nowhere. However it was very clean and comfortable, just what we needed. Breakfast is in a restaurant/store close by, again simple but more than adequate.
Not the Ritz but very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I planned on staying in the Whispering Sands Motel for 2 days and I extended my stay for 12 more days. The property is very well maintained, staff was supportive and the management was very accommodating in extending my stay and providing excellent information for exploring this beautiful secret in a intersection in the middle of nowhere. Excellent food served everyday at Duke's Slikrock Restaurant. I am returning September for more exploration of the Henry Mountains.

Room Tip: second floor on the left side is a end unit with views and privacy and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Owners also own the gas station and two restaurants in town. they are very concerened about your happiness. They go above and beyond to make you happy. Free breakfast at stans next door. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Look at the wing they added on. lol. You won't believe what they did. they put 12 storage sheds together, finished them inside and put a nice brick front on and there you go. you have to see to really appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After a long day of driving, we came across Whispering Sands. Nice find for a friendly, clean and well appointed motel in an isolated location. There was nothing around in the small town of Hanksville. The TV and Wi-Fi were very good. Fairly new appointments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing