We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden champion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A hidden champion!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose to stay at the Whispering Sands Motel on our way to Capitol Reef National Park. The motel was a big surprise. While a lot of hotels and motels next to popular tourist destinations do not deliver great value and service for the money they charge, the Whispering Sands Motel is a pleasant exception from this sad rule.
The motel offers regular sized motel rooms in their main building as well as spacier rooms in a building where each room resembles a typical Amish barn from the outside. The rooms were spotless and check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. The same family also operates some other businesses in Hanksville such as Blondie's, the gas station and Dan's Burger Shack. Most of these locations had already limited opening hours due to the fact that we were travelling outside of peak-season. Why do I mention this? You absolutely have to try the shakes and malts at Dan's Burgher Shack! Thank's for a nice, comfy and clean stay to the entire team of the Whispering Sands Motel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    176
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
184
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paragonah, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just needed a room for the night on our way to some National Parks. Wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised! The lady at the front desk was very friendly and the rooms were much nicer than expected. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great place to stay!! Jillian (I believe that was her name), was so nice and accommodating. She found out that we had a little one with us and asked if we wanted a slightly bigger room at no extra charge. I loved being in the middle of nowhere. My family and I stopped here on our way from Goblin Valley and en route to Capitol Reef. What a great place! Clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke A, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Safe travels, we hope you will stay with us again.
Jeanette Pei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

OK, there are limited choices.

However, this is a nice clean hotel with great folks in the front office.
They have a building with rooms and individual cabins. I had just booked 9 cabins here while we were on a motorcycle trip. Everyone was very happy, beds were great and bathrooms clean.

They do have a nice discount program with the restaurant across the road, which has pretty decent food.

Motel is in a great location, it has factored into a couple of trips around Colorado and Utah.

Its also a quick 30 minute trip up to Goblins State Park, which make a nice run after dinner.

Room Tip: take the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This motel is very well located for those traveling between Glen Canyon and Capitol Reef. When viewed from the outside, the motel clearly seems the best choice for anyone planning to stay somewhere between those destinations. After checking in, I found my room to be every bit as pleasing and comfortable as the building's outside appearance suggested it might be. The room was tidy, and all its lights, appliances and plumbing fixtures seemed well maintained and in proper working order. The beds were very comfortable. The linens and towels were not only of nice quality but very fresh and clean. The motel staff was courteous and friendly. The motel provides breakfast at a gas station/ travel center next door, but the travel center offers only a few simple items for breakfast. Nevertheless, there are a few great places within an easy walk or short drive that can satisfy the appetite of those preferring a heartier, fancier meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a surprisingly comfortable and nicely furnished motel room in a very, very small town: one way to Lake Powell and the other to Capitol Reef. The room was clean and the towels were surprisingly large, thick and soft. The toilet paper and tissues on the other hand were not soft at all but they did do the job. You get a discount for a meal at Duke's Slickrock Grill (good place) and free (basic) breakfast next to the motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubird487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this over the other hotel in town due to the reviews here. I was a little disappointed: roon ok and quite clean but there was a stain in the sheets: small and clearly old but still. the rest was ok. but the breakfast was pitiful

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisadeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanksville
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
38.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke's Slickrock Campground & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing