We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Whispering Sands on our way home from Lake Powell. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the great service at the front desk. Rooms were exceptionally clean. Staff is helpful and friendly. We will return for a stay on our next trip to Lake Powell!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here between visiting Capitol Reef and Goblin Valley. The rooms were large enough and pleasant enough. Parking was very easy. There is not a lot to do in Hanksville itself, but I suspect like us most people are just passing through. The laundry facilities were ideal in the middle of our Utah trip to get some clean clothes before moving on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank queenarmadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose to stay at the Whispering Sands Motel on our way to Capitol Reef National Park. The motel was a big surprise. While a lot of hotels and motels next to popular tourist destinations do not deliver great value and service for the money they charge, the Whispering Sands Motel is a pleasant exception from this sad rule.
The motel offers regular sized motel rooms in their main building as well as spacier rooms in a building where each room resembles a typical Amish barn from the outside. The rooms were spotless and check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. The same family also operates some other businesses in Hanksville such as Blondie's, the gas station and Dan's Burger Shack. Most of these locations had already limited opening hours due to the fact that we were travelling outside of peak-season. Why do I mention this? You absolutely have to try the shakes and malts at Dan's Burgher Shack! Thank's for a nice, comfy and clean stay to the entire team of the Whispering Sands Motel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just needed a room for the night on our way to some National Parks. Wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised! The lady at the front desk was very friendly and the rooms were much nicer than expected. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great place to stay!! Jillian (I believe that was her name), was so nice and accommodating. She found out that we had a little one with us and asked if we wanted a slightly bigger room at no extra charge. I loved being in the middle of nowhere. My family and I stopped here on our way from Goblin Valley and en route to Capitol Reef. What a great place! Clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke A, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Safe travels, we hope you will stay with us again.
Jeanette Pei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

OK, there are limited choices.

However, this is a nice clean hotel with great folks in the front office.
They have a building with rooms and individual cabins. I had just booked 9 cabins here while we were on a motorcycle trip. Everyone was very happy, beds were great and bathrooms clean.

They do have a nice discount program with the restaurant across the road, which has pretty decent food.

Motel is in a great location, it has factored into a couple of trips around Colorado and Utah.

Its also a quick 30 minute trip up to Goblins State Park, which make a nice run after dinner.

Room Tip: take the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This motel is very well located for those traveling between Glen Canyon and Capitol Reef. When viewed from the outside, the motel clearly seems the best choice for anyone planning to stay somewhere between those destinations. After checking in, I found my room to be every bit as pleasing and comfortable as the building's outside appearance suggested it might be. The room was tidy, and all its lights, appliances and plumbing fixtures seemed well maintained and in proper working order. The beds were very comfortable. The linens and towels were not only of nice quality but very fresh and clean. The motel staff was courteous and friendly. The motel provides breakfast at a gas station/ travel center next door, but the travel center offers only a few simple items for breakfast. Nevertheless, there are a few great places within an easy walk or short drive that can satisfy the appetite of those preferring a heartier, fancier meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing