We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable inexpensive stay, minimum frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss Alps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Alps Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Heber City B&B and Inns
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable inexpensive stay, minimum frills”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

- Room is average, not large.
- Bed was firm and comfortable (king size)
- Refrigerator and microwave in the room.
- No breakfast is offered, one will need to bring one's own or find a breakfast place in town. We found a good bakery that provided what we wanted in town.
- Check-in was quick and friendly.

Room Tip: If noise sensitive, ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupermanRoSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I was returning to California from Colorado on 24 November. A major ice and snow storm stopped us in this small Utah town. Looked for a motel and found this GEM.
The rooms were large, spotless clean, updated and little touches of extra thought here and there. The pride of ownership showed everywhere you looked, parking and all the walks were cleared of ice and snow all the way to the restaurant next door.
We were stuck in town due to weather and it would have been easy to bump the rate charge up, but they were more than reasonable for the quality and size of the rooms.
Last and I value this more than any thing else durring the stay. When it looked like the weather was going to keep us from getting home for Thanksgiving, we were invited to Thanksgiving dinner.
WOW. who does that sound like offering to feed a couple of strangers ?.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justme458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is an older motel that has been well-maintained and lovingly accented. Charming on the outside: retro on the inside. Each of the 26 rooms at the Swiss Alps Motel has the name and official seal of one of the 26 cantons (states) of Switzerland affixed to its exterior door. Even the word "wilkommen" (welcome) was painted on a wallboard in my room (#24 Uri). Other in-room room amenities included two large double beds, microwave, refrigerator and large TV. Outside, there was an inviting swimming pool.

The Swiss Alps is smack in downtown Heber City, within walking distance of fast food, fine dining, live-music bistros, as well as the post office, banks and service stations. Not to me missed is the quirky railroad-themed burgers-and-ice-cream place next door. (The pavement of the drive-thru is even painted as railroad trackage!)

Here's a chance to break out of the same old-same old hotel chain tyranny and save money in the process. It's a high value/high entertainment choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I found this place via AAA guide. Called the day of, and reserved a room. First, I want to say that this is NOT a new building. Third generation means and older building. The air conditioner is in the outside wall. Unfortunately, the coffee from hopefully the day before was in the coffee pot (and the cleaning staff gasped when I told them, so this is NOT a normal thing). Having said that here is what I liked about the place.

a) large rooms with refrigerator, microwave and room to move around. Even a table with two chairs.
b) internet connection is free
c) big tub
d) plenty of mirrors
e) they waited up for me (yes, they do close at a certain time at night and the owner lives next door, is easily accessible.)

I ended up staying her an extra day and took the Herber Train ride, too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Driving through Utah on a more or less random trip to "see Utah" in the dead of winter, we came across this place. It was the friendliest-looking place in a fairly boring town.

We're pretty snobby about our housing, in that we like places that are clean, friendly, cheap, and where we don't need reservations. The Swiss Alps Inn was all those things. The proprietor was a kindly gentleman who built the place with his own hands over the course of 40 years. It's a well-loved, but not at all shabby. The beds were clean and the rooms spacious, and there was ample parking right in front of our door.

Next door is a really charming fast food-esque place called Dairy Keen, run by the Swiss Alps Inn's owner's daughter. It's not really that fast, and the food is very yummy.

All in all, an extremely satisfying evening, night, and morning.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandandandandand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

I recently made a reservation at this establishment only not to be able to stay there due to a death in my family at the last moment. Max, the owner, still charged me for my stay despite my pleas with him to understand the situation. It's appaling that people like this exist. DO NOT STAY HERE. You will be dissapointed to say the least

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joshmutschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markowithak, Owner at Swiss Alps Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
We are very sorry that this guest did not call us to tell us he was not coming until days after his reservation had been charged to his card.
If he had called even that night we would have been happy to rent the room to someone else.
We held the room for him and therefore it was his room for the night. We did not charge his card the full room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

My daughter & I flew to learn cross country skiing at the Soldier Hollow (2002 Olympic site) right before Christmas without any hotel reservation as the trip was not planned ahead. At the ski lodge, everyone recommended that we stay at the Swiss Alps Inn, run by third generation family owner. We were told this is where the Ski teams stay. I am sure I would not have chosen to stay here from the look of the place as you walk into your room from the parking lot. The place came with high recommendation from others at the ski lodge. It is no frill but a great value. If you require a room service or any kind of full service, don't stay here. The room came with a microwave oven and a refrigerator. A grocery store is not too far and the Inn also operates Dairy Keen with a famous milk shake which they offered a free coupon with a room purchase. Why pay a high rate (4-5 times) at the Park City when you can stay at the Swiss Alps Inn. It was very convenient. We were able to drive to Park City, Soldier Hollow, Sundance Resort from its convenient location on US 40 which is the Main Street as well. A great value and location.

  • Liked — Clean, Free Internet, Free Parking, free newspaper, nice people
  • Disliked — The room door and parking lot is just a few feet away so I could hear cars leaving in the morning.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sy1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heber City
4.0 mi away
Homestead Resort
Homestead Resort
#2 of 2 in Midway
349 reviews
16.3 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 5 in Heber City
180 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lodge at Stillwater
Lodge at Stillwater
#3 of 5 in Heber City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Park City
16.4 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#9 of 60 in Park City
672 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Alps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Alps Inn

Property: Swiss Alps Inn
Address: 167 S Main St, Heber City, UT 84032-2043
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Heber City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heber City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Alps Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family owned motel, located in the beautiful Heber Valley. We are the perfect motel for your family reunion or quite get-away for two. Come and enjoy all the fun that the Heber Valley has to offer, and then come and enjoy our relaxing motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Swiss Alps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing