We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for summer and winter in the Salt Lake Valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holladay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were in SLC for a weekend last weekend and wanted to stay at a Marriott property that was close to the highway and included a free breakfast. This one met our initial needs.

Overall, we really liked the hotel. It was clean, provided great breakfast and quiet. It seems to cater this time of year to tour groups cause we saw a tour bus parked in the lot each night.

The breakfasts were all hot, plentiful and the food staff seemed like they really cared about what they did. They were diligent and happy to be there. For those of us who travel on a regular basis, it's the little things that sometimes make the difference and getting smile from the staff each morning was great.

The other thing that was a bit of a bummer is that the free computer and printers were out of toner on BOTH of them. I was trying to print out some stuff and nothing would work. However, after informing the front desk, they were able to replace the toner (even at 10pm at night) and everything worked great.

The rooms themselves were adequate and what you'd normally find in a Residence Inn. I did have to turn down the air as the air conditioning was way too cold. The bathroom set up was a bit small as I had to shut the door if I wanted to use the toliet. It was a tight fit.

Honestly, if you have ever been to Salt Lake, it really doesn't take too long to get anywhere, so it's an ideal place to stay if you want to go to a ski area like Alta, up to Park City, or downtown.

In addition, there is a plethora of restaurants to eat at that are within walking distance and some major malls and chains within 10 minutes away. A newly built Starbucks around the corner makes it even a better place.

For a Marriott property, it was worth the price and the location was equally as good. If you aren't set on staying downtown or up in the mountains, this is a great choice. There is a new Hyatt Place just next door, but if you are trying to collect points and free nights like me (I'm a Gold Elite), this was just as good as staying downtown.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor next to the elevator. Our daughter who stayed on the sofa said that sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockTravel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our property. Marriott has exacting standards and we were are glad that you had a great stay. Our breakfast staff will be grateful to hear that their hard work made a difference to you. We will also pass along your kind words to the front desk staff. As you mentioned, our location is a great home base for exploring the beautiful Wasatch mountains or the Salt Lake Valley. Thank you for being one of Marriott's valued and loyal guests and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This RI ranked excellent on all the usual amenities but where it shined was in response to our medical emergency. My husband's heart stopped for a few seconds and I called the front desk to request paramedics. Paramedics arrived immediately and so did General Manager Alan Jacobson and Assistant General Manager Chase Clark. I expected efficient, concerned assistance from the paramedics but was taken aback by the concern of and help by the managers. Recognizing I was in no shape to follow the ambulance in my car, Mr. Clark drove me to the hospital and Mr. Jacobson followed us in my car and parked it in the lot so I could drive back to the hotel later that night. (My husband had emergency surgery within a couple of hours of arriving in ER.) The next day Mr. Jacobson assured me we could stay at the hotel as long as we felt it was necessary. The entire staff was terrific and helped ease the shock of the medical crisis. Thank you to everyone. A grateful Calif. family.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good --- hotel built in a square so had access to everything. There are sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kansas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are so glad that your husband is feeling better! You are very kind to take the time to share your experience. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and especially about our assistant manager and general manager. They are both amazing men who lead by example, We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and compassionate management team. That was a scary time and we are glad that we were able to help alleviate some of the stress. Thank you again for the follow up. We wish you and your husband all the best and hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Yes we enjoyed this hotel having driven up from Vegas. Just what we wanted to unwind.
The Breakfast was good. Waffles with fruit plus that squirty cream; that takes you back to being a kid again. Breakfast on china and metal knives and forks. (that's a luxury in this day and age of disposable plastic).

Room spacey and with nice touches. Did not need to use all the qualities of the environment.

When we checked out we enjoyed driving to the mountain area at the back of Cottonwood.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can. Good value for money and better class than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tourerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are glad that we could be your place to relax and unwind! We are fortunate that all of our rooms are suites - as you discovered they are larger than a regular hotel room and very comfortable. The Wasatch mountains are a beautiful backdrop to our hotel and they offer summer and winter activities in a great setting. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Clean rooms, curtious staff and great property. Walking distance to several good resturants. Kids had fun playing basketball and swimming. Easy access to freeway and ancillary roads. The kitchen in the room made caring for kids snacks and leftovers much easier than to have to eat every meal out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjrtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are glad that your children were able to enjoy our sport court while you were here. It is a nice way to stretch travel weary muscles before relaxing in the hot tub and pool! Our courtyard is a popular place year round with our guests. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Great place and great service! It's a very clean and beautiful hotel. It's a family and dog friendly place. We are staying here for an extended stay. We have plenty of room for 5 in our 1 bedroom. The pool area is awesome, like a magazine! There is a grill, firepit, lots if seating.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Emsartsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are glad that you are staying with us! As you discovered, our suites are much larger than a hotel room as we are designed for extended stays. Let us know if you would like to use the grill to cook lunch or dinner during your stay, we would be happy to light it for you and provide the tools! We will certainly pass along your kind words to the staff that works so hard to maintain our courtyard and pool area. Thanks again for making us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are frequent Marriott guests, and I loved this property. I am a local, and just needed a weekend away from the kids, and this was my first choice for Marriott hotel due to location and ambiance. Simply fantastic hotel location, very close to the freeway, central to shopping and dining areas nearby, both within driving and even a few within walking distance. Also located at the base of the canyon, so very close to summer hiking or winter skiing. Which, also leaves for a beautiful backdrop, nestled close to the mountains with pretty trees and foliage, and very peaceful. Check-in was a mere 2 minutes. And my room location, room #202, was super close to the parking lot and door, which I loved, for easy access. The only downer was how busy it was at breakfast. While there is tons of seating around the lobby and even outside, I couldn't find a place to sit and took it back to my room (this was about 8:30am), so perhaps coming earlier would help that (Breakfast from 7-10am), but I don't really mind being that it's FREE breakfast, with a very large array of food options. Even the decor in my room was tasteful. And the room set-up was perfect, with a large desk area, free wi-fi, turnable tv so that you could watch while working at the desk or turn to watch while laying in bed. The bed was super comfortable ta boot. Unit has dishwasher, full fridge, microwave (enjoyed my complimentary bag of popcorn in the room), and well stocked with dishes and the like. I will definitely be staying here again! Thanks Marriott for another great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We appreciated the chance to host your getaway and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We work hard to take care of our guests and hotel and appreciate your kind words. As you mentioned, our complimentary breakfast buffet is very popular with our guests. There is sometimes a rush, but our breakfast attendants work hard to make sure that there is plenty of the delicious food for everyone. Thanks again for using us for your weekend away. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at a couple Residence Inns in different cities so we pretty much know what to expect. First, the location of this one is wonderful, in the foothills of the mountains on the eastern side of Salt Lake City. It was nice, quiet & had the free breakfast, the usual fare.We always get the one bedroom suite with the kitchen, like to be able to spread out a little. Within walking distance about 1 block, there is a cute little shopping area with Jimmy John's sandwiches, a cleaners, & a couple more eating places. Up the street also is Marketplace Cafe, a few of them around town. They get fresh fish shipped in from Seattle. It is a little pricey but well worth a taste. I chose the fish & chips, the fish was perfection, best yet. There is a walking trail there also that is quite lovely. We got our exercise after dinner. This was our first visit to Salt Lake City & hopefully won't be the last. I would stay at this Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to post such a thorough review of your stay here in Utah. We appreciate the chance to be your home away from home in Salt Lake City. As you mentioned, we are fortunate that Jimmy Johns, Market Street Grill, and the other seven or eight restaurants around the hotel all have very delicious fare; and there are other restaurants just a short drive away! Should your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City, we look forward to giving you another quiet night’s sleep and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holladay
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
6.4 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Murray
16.3 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#14 of 60 in Park City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood

Address: 6425 S 3000 E, Holladay, UT 84121-6955
Region: United States > Utah > Holladay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holladay
Price Range: £90 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing