We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dining in the European manner”

Xetava Gardens Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Ivins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Healthy, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Locally owned cafe in the heart of the Kayenta Art Village. Specializing in local, grass fed beef, full espresso bar, wine and beer, and an eclectic menu. Patio seating available with incredible views, a menu that has something for everyone, including many gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options.
Ivins
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed dining in the European manner”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The surroundings are superb. The fare is consistently good with new and tasty specials offered most weekends. The staff is professional, yet friendly and willing to go out of their way to grant off menu special requests.
The atmosphere at Xetava invites you to dine in an unhurried relaxed manner, allowing you to savor the full dining and wining experience often with great live music in the background.
It's a great place to relax casually with friends over brunch and coffee dressed in your running or biking shorts (the waffles are heavenly) as well as celebrating that special occasion in your pearls and little black dress. Chef Roger won't disappoint.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KokopelliIvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    56
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Getting a little Old...”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have a vacation home in St George and have enjoyed taking friends and family to Xetava. The place is unique and the service was great-in the beginning when they were not so popular and busy. The last two times we went, the food was just OK and the service was rushed to say the least. The problem with "OK" is the dinner entree price is equivalent to a 5 star restaurant price at a cafe style restaurant. For two couples with a bottle of their cheaper wine we ended up with a bill close to $300, and that's without ordering any dessert! I definitely would think twice before recommending this place to other unsuspecting out of towners. If you want to visit this restaurant, try going there for breakfast or lunch-you will get the experience without losing your shirt...and pants in this case.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sisterjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xetavagardens, Owner at Xetava Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
I'm sorry to hear that your last few visits were not up to par with what they should have been. We have outgrown our space, and for the last few months, we have been doing a major renovation to our cafe. We have been operating out of 4 different buildings for the past 3 years, and it has been very frustrating. Finally we are getting everything under one roof, and we'll be done in January. I hope that you'll come back and try us again. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. It helps make us a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honestly it keeps improving when you think thats impossible!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have eaten at Xetava many many times. Its more then just a meal it is a complete experience. Greg and Rachael are just wonderful and the best host you could have. Each meal is prepared fresh so they're plated masterfully! If your not fully pleased with the whole experience out in Kayenta - chances are your just not a happy person with any level of taste at all. Really if you dont like it - its you.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onemind711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49th State
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Cannot say enough about the atmosphere, the food nor the staff. The drive through Kayenta just set us up perfect for the outdoor dining experience. We ordered their signature dish, chili garli lamb rack and a vegetarian portobello/quinoa dish and we split a beet salad with feta and carmalized nuts. The presentation was excellent, the service was wonderful and we enjoyed the outdoor dining. Although their wine list is somewhat small, their selections and prices were excellent. The reviews from Trip Advisor were very helpful and did not disappoint.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPS3AMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Another Trip Advisor winner”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had 8 pm reservations. It was a very dark ride to this secluded restaurant and needed a flashlight to find it once we got there as there are no lights.

We sat down in a very nice quaint room. We had carrot soup which was good. The chicken sandwich was excellemt as was the caeser salad. The soft shell crabs were also very good. Keep in mind we went to Painted Pony the night before so this was going to be a tough review. I woild recommend coming earlier like during the sunset as the views I am sure are excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xetava Gardens Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Xetava Gardens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing