We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time at RMR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic time at RMR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

There's a reason RMR has such high reviews...it's because they deserve it. From the moment I got there, everyone was so friendly and professional. The resort is located amidst the beautiful red rocks, lava rocks and desert of southwest Utah. There are so many things to do there unless of course, you don't want to do anything, which you can do as well. Some of the things I did were the Petroglyph walk w/Boma Johnson (the rock star of rock art), MEET The Mustangs (a MUST if you like/love horses), horseback riding (awesome and funny guide), the nature walk (again, awesome and funny guide), mandala reading (fun), and of course, a bunch of classes which were all fantastic. Food was delicious, the rooms were great and as I said before, the staff is great. I asked for a room on the 2nd floor just in case of noise, but I must say, I didn't hear anything once the door was shut (and there was a fountain and a hot tub right outside my room). To balance things out, I usually like to add something that's could be improved upon, but apart from the fact that seating in the restaurant was sometimes slow, I can't think of anything. If you're still contemplating whether or not to book some time there, just go ahead and do it. Unless something changes, I don't think you'll be disappointed. Also, I paid the inclusive amount which I think is the smart thing to do. You'll end up eating there, as there's not much in the surrounding area that I saw.

Room Tip: I asked for a 2nd floor room which worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    217
    53
    26
    9
See reviews for
68
248
224
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location, activities and food are great. The overall management is TERRIBLE. Our issue is that one of their maintenance carts hit our brand new car. We know it was a cart due to location of impact, matching the exact location of the wrought iron grate of back of maintenance carts. We parked our car away from all other cars, however maintenance carts coming back and forth all day were not held accountable. Instead of management helping us by offering to file a simple claim, a discount of service anything... They didn't offer anything and did NOTHING. If you go, make sure you don't need management for anything! They are not there for you or for any customer with an accident or staff issue in my opinion. We own a nation chain restaurant and deal with customers all day long, we've never treated anyone like this! This is unacceptable for anyplace, but especially a place promoting positive energy. No wonder reviews on this place are dropping. Buyer beware!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spider1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWelshGeneralMgr, General Manager at Red Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Spider1671,

I am sorry that you feel that Red Mountain did nothing in respect to the damage to your car, and that it marred your experience at our resort. We offered assistance to you to make a police report, and had our insurance company make contact with you. The insurance company report which was just received, did not place liability on Red Mountain. We have reached out to you to make other amends as we understand how this situation has upset you.

Tracey Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just returned from my 6th visit (since 2006) to Red Mountain resort and again, had a fabulous time. The location, just outside St George, Utah, is idyllic. The accommodations are comfy, the food delicious, and the hiking, outdoor activities and fitness choices are wonderful. The staff, however, makes it all worthwhile: friendly, helpful and enthusiastic about their jobs. This is a wonderful "girl's retreat" and couples vacation. I have seen many mother-daughter trips as well. I have flown into Las Vegas and driven to the resort so as to take a side trip to Zion National Park, although the resort does offer a guided trip to the park. The Spa offers many choices in treatments; the hiker's massage is simply wonderful on sore muscles. I plan to return to Red Mountain to "recharge" again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjs1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at this property. Let's be clear that it's not a "luxury resort" with high end room furnishings and amenities. But they were very nice and you don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway because there are so many activities to keep you busy all day long. The property was spotless and well maintained. The scenery was spectacular! There were tons of activities you could sign up for. All of the activity leaders I interacted with were excellent and experts in their area.

Pros:
- Big variety of activities, some free and some for an additional fee. Hiking, biking, kayaking, yoga, tai chi, weight loss lectures, gym, two pools, jacuzzi, etc, etc....
- Free internet, in-room safe, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board in the room.
- The TV had a lot of channels.
- The food was solid and sometimes great. Attend a free cooking demonstration if you can. I learned a lot.
- You have the option to eat alone or community dining with others. Community dining was a great way to meet interesting people.
- Scenery is spectacular. The property is surrounded by red cliffs. It's gorgeous.
- There is a full service spa. I had a massage, facial and pedicure. Everyone did a great job.
- There were hammocks and lounge chairs sprinkled around the property that invited you to relax with a good book, for a nap or just to sit and enjoy the view.

Cons:
- The mattress needed a refresh in the room.
- The air conditioning was a bit flaky and didn't always work. It was also very noisy.
- The spa rooms were cool and the tables were not heated so it could get a bit cold.

Overall a great trip and I would return. There were many people I met there who were repeat customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have to say, the resort is all right, but Rhonda the hiking guide made the whole trip worthwhile. She was absolutely amazing and shared some great life advice that I will remember forever. I would come back to the resort simply for the pleasure of spending some more time with Rhonda. (I hope I am spelling her name right).

Room Tip: Get Rhonda as your hiking guide!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just finished a 7 night stay at the Red Mountain Resort in Ivans Utah and all I can say is what an amazing place. From booking to check in to check out all Staff members were just incredible and made everything perfect.

We stayed in a Villa King Room overlooking the pool with great Red Rock views. The bed was very comfortable and the large bathroom with a soaking tub and walk in shower was very nice. Meals were included in our package with Breakfast and Lunch being Buffet style and Dinner being sit down by reservation. All meals we had were excellent with our favorites being the Sea Bass and Yellowfin Tuna. The staff accommodated all requests with ease. Wine and Beer were not included and they do not have a full Bar.

The scheduled activities that we participated in included Guided Hikes, Horseback Riding, Fitness Classes and a Photography Class. All guides were great, very knowledgeable about the surrounding park and plant and animal life. They truly seemed to enjoy their jobs. Some activities were an extra charge and others included in the package price. We went to Zion National Park on our own one day, which was the only day we did not stay at the resort.

Last but not least the Spa! Our package came with a choice of 1 Spa treatment a day and we opted for 50 minute massages every day. Every one being great but Darby and Abby stood out as my 2 best.

We cannot wait to return to the Red Mountain Resort and hope to make it a springtime ritual.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had an amazing five day stay at the Red Mountain resort with my sister. Hiking was excellent and many different levels for different capabilities!
Excellent diversity of exercise & stretching classes. I didn’t try any of the spa/salon services, but seemed to have anything you could desire.

The setting in St. George is magical! Really enjoyed the proximity to the Snow State Park and Zion national park for diverse hiking trails!

We stayed in a condo type room that was very clean (sorry for my red dust from my hiking boots on the deck!) and had a washer/dryer. The meals were fabulous. Interesting veggie options and lots of healthy choices!

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room! Amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivins
5.9 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 41 in St. George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
11.5 mi away
Coral Springs Resort
Coral Springs Resort
#15 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mountain Resort

Property: Red Mountain Resort
Address: 1275 Red Mountain Cir, Ivins, UT 84738-6178
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Ivins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World-Class Adventure RetreatBlended naturally into a landscape of vivid red rock cliffs and canyons of southern Utah, Red Mountain Resort has everything you need to relax, renew and rediscover your passion for adventure. Eighty-two beautifully designed rooms and twenty-four villa suites are carefully sited on fifty-five acres of black lava gardens and fragrant mesquite with stunning vistas of the surrounding mountains. All amenities, from nutrition seminars to massages, are a short, scenic walk away.Red Mountain’s ideal location allows convenient planning of a customized adventure to Zion or Bryce Canyon National Parks, while Snow Canyon State Park is only about a quarter of a mile down the road. Our dedicated staff is here to encourage and support you in being as active or relaxed, social or private, as you wish – whether meeting new friends during an exhilarating rock climb or savoring a solitary walk on our private trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mountain Hotel Ivins
Red Mountain Spa
Red Mountain Resort Utah/Ivins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing