We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 nights here and it was almost the perfect vacation. Adventure hikes are well-planned, Santa Clara 25 mile bike trip was fantastic, as was kayaking/paddle boarding. Only recommendation here would be to give guests more info up front about activities -- such as appropriate clothing to wear, how many miles, special conditions (such as walking 3 miles through water in the Zion Narrows). Spa treatments are excellent although spa facility feels (and is) a bit dated and small. Stayed in a villa, which was spacious and quiet (resort was half full). Wellness classes were great. Food was adequate, but not great. Portion size is good but selections are very limited; lunch (buffet) is especially weak. No need to dress up for any meal -- fitness clothes are quite acceptable. Friendly staff (except for weekend reception) and beautiful location. Can understand why many guests return again and again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank LMN4002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Red Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well, I've been four (4) times. That just about says it all.

The challenging--but doable--hikes in the picturesque mountains are the perfect way to start each day. Whether you're looking to jump start a fitness regime or simply to clear your head of the pressures and stresses of life, the daily guided hikes are just what the doctor order. I needed both this last visit and was very, very pleased.

The Sagestone Spa is equally delightful. Treat yourself to a special scrub or massage. I did both and found bliss during my adobe lavender scrub and my hiker's massage.

Be warned, the rooms are in now way fancy. They're comfortable though.

Oh and the meals somehow manage to be gourmet and yet healthy. (How do they do that?)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinkNGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWelshGeneralMgr, General Manager at Red Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Pink & Green. Thank you for your loyalty - we appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After an exhaustive search of wellness retreats, we chose Red Mountain for a private getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary because of its location, value for money, and the all-inclusive package. It turned out to be the ideal spot. We loved everything about the "active relaxing" experience. We enjoyed horseback riding, hiking, canyoneering, fitness classes, and spa treatments. We also splurged on a professional portrait photography session with the red mountains as a backdrop. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable, the food was delicious, the facilities were very nice, and the setting is stunning. We wanted a great experience but not Canyon Ranch prices, and that's just what we got. We are planning to return.

Room Tip: Don't worry about your room. You'll be so busy with all the activities, you'll sleep in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWelshGeneralMgr, General Manager at Red Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Congratulations Purple Scout on 25 years of togetherness. Thank you for honoring us as your choice for an anniversary destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Red Mountain was the perfect place for our girls weekend. I met up with 8 of my college friends here to collectively celebrate turning 40 and we had a wonderful time. We chose Red Mountain because they had an all-inclusive option so we didn't have to make choices about where and when to dine. All of the activities gave us lots of flexibility. We all indulged in some very relaxing treatments at the spa. I had a tonifying wrap and an 80 min massage. The spa could stand another tiolet in the ladies locker room - there's only 1!

Red Mountain arranged a private hike for our group and a private canyon view yoga session (note both at an extra cost but so worth it). The hikes were amazing with break taking scenery everywhere and knowledgeable guides to encourage us and answer all of our questions. We especially enjoyed hiking guides Toni and Ben. The fitness classes were great. Lori is a phenomenal instructor with boundless energy! The only negative comment that I can make about the classes is that the music could be updated or improved. And I think from the number of people in the classes, the resort could add a few more classes. TRX boot camp was fun!

The dining room staff did a fantastic job of putting up with 9 women who had lots of menu questions. Wendy was an especially patient and accommodating on our last night at the resort. We found the food to be good and plentiful. The desserts were all delicious.

Marcy, one of the concierge team, was always happy to adjust spa appointments and coordinate other activities for our group.

The biggest shout-out has to go to John who picked some of us up at the airport and shuttled us back to the airport. He talked with us about our group and our celebration and he arranged for a cake for us on our last night! One of the most thoughtful things I have experienced at a resort!

The rooms are on the small side and yes, as others mentioned, there's brown carpet but is this really an issue? We were in the rooms to sleep, shower and change for the next fun activity. And if they didn't have brown carpet, it would be stained from all the red dust you collect on your sneakers when hiking these beautiful red mountains.

This was definitely a great place for our group! Thanks for an unforgettable long weekend!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the Rabbit building which didn't have a mountain view, but they made sure our...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved Red Mountain again......the hikes are organized....and go to various locations within the area. Guides are knowledgeable and reassuring...both necessary for the varied level of guests and the heat. All have spectacular views and are a lot of fun. Rest of day you can go to a wide variety of classes, active, exercise, strength training, water, and cooking, photography, etc. so the combination of activities was very appealing. Loved the spa....had a variety of massage and facial type treatments. Delicious food...lots of choices, great service from the wait staff and bartenders. Only issue was the room itself...I would only stay in the villas next time...the regular rooms are dated. But all in all, loved the trip.....would go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very disappointing, we were expecting a 5 star resort. Just stayed at the Four Seasons in Las Vegas which is a five star rating.
Stayed for 5 nights at Red Mountian,Our room was on the first level with a small window which let zero light in, carpet was dark brown which felt like we were in a cave. Very out dated and needs some reno's.

No door on the bathroom, extremely loud fan, the shower was difficult to get in and out off and room service was poor. We could hear the guest's in the room above walking around and alarm clocks buzzing.
The first day requested a wake up call at 6:30 am which did not happen, phoned the front desk
Who just forgot.....
The resort was an hours drive to Zion which was a long day driving, a hotel closer to the park
Would have been more suited. Great having washing machines on site but the soap dispenser would jam every time we would then run down to the front desk each time for laundry soap.
Activities were great and the staff friendly and the location is beautiful.
But this resort needs upgrading.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 404Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWelshGeneralMgr, General Manager at Red Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear 404 Leslie

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Red Mountain. I apologize that you were disappointed. As it is often difficult to match up Trip Advisor guests with our guest ledger, please do contact me directly at twelsh@redmtn.com. Indeed we are renovating our rooms this summer. Warm regards, Tracey Welsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I wanted to go on a fitness retreat. Red Mountain Resort was awesome. Great workout facilities and classes. Hikes in the desert. And we picked a package that was all inclusive so meals and one treatment per day were included. We will be back for sure. It is warm so you should love the desert.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frecklebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWelshGeneralMgr, General Manager at Red Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Frecklebox,
Thank you for writing your kind review of Red Mountain. You chose our Essential Plus package which is a great value, and a wonderful way to truly nurture yourself. We do hope we will see you in the future for another visit. Tracey Welsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivins
5.9 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 43 in St. George
793 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
11.6 mi away
Coral Springs Resort
Coral Springs Resort
#18 of 43 in St. George
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 43 in St. George
905 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 43 in St. George
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mountain Resort

Address: 1275 Red Mountain Circle, Ivins, UT 84738-6178
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Ivins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Price Range: £142 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World-Class Adventure RetreatBlended naturally into a landscape of vivid red rock cliffs and canyons of southern Utah, Red Mountain Resort has everything you need to relax, renew and rediscover your passion for adventure. Eighty-two beautifully designed rooms and twenty-four villa suites are carefully sited on fifty-five acres of black lava gardens and fragrant mesquite with stunning vistas of the surrounding mountains. All amenities, from nutrition seminars to massages, are a short, scenic walk away.Red Mountain’s ideal location allows convenient planning of a customized adventure to Zion or Bryce Canyon National Parks, while Snow Canyon State Park is only about a quarter of a mile down the road. Our dedicated staff is here to encourage and support you in being as active or relaxed, social or private, as you wish – whether meeting new friends during an exhilarating rock climb or savoring a solitary walk on our private trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mountain Hotel Ivins
Red Mountain Spa
Red Mountain Resort Utah/Ivins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing