We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice! (If you're not too picky)”
Review of Sun-n-Sand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun-n-Sand Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
429 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Nice! (If you're not too picky)”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Sun-n-Sand Motel is located not far from the Central Street in Kanab.

Me and my boyfriend spent two nights there.
The room was not very spacious but it was equipped with a refrigerator and microwave.
The bed was comfortable and clean.
The bathroom was quite old, dripped a little water from the taps...
But, all in all, we were looking for a motel at a good price and for $50 a night it was good!

The owner is very nice, kind and helpful; for breakfast we had bananas and donuts, tea, coffee or hot chocolate.
It 'a good choice, if you are not too picky and want to spend a little!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franci_Lavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    63
    19
    13
    20
See reviews for
42
68
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I can't say that this is the best place I've stayed or the worst.The value is excellent $50 for a night. The staff is super nice and the bed was clean and comfy. Older property with character. A good choice if you're passing through and need a good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

With few alterations, the Sun-n-Sands Motel could be the set for a low-budget indie film, the kind that relies on clipped dialogue and quirkiness (think Harry Dean Stanton).

When our regular motel-of-choice in Kanab was unavailable, my friend Ulrich and I went searching for old neon (character, as he says)—and the Sun-n-Sands does offer that. We’d barely pulled into the parking area and exited the truck when Wayne came up, dressed like Alley Oop, and handed me a pan of freshly made vegetable soup and two spoons. Without realizing it, I was now part of the cast.

A few minutes later Wayne had a fire going in a portable metal pit in the courtyard, chunks of dry pine expertly laid out. The flames stayed low as smoke curled above the table and chairs set out for guests. Being mid-October, the night cooled quickly and the fire was welcome. We shared it with the motel’s owner, a silver-haired woman who’d been a nurse, and two men who, like us, were just traveling through the area. When was the last time you talked to other guests at a motel or hotel except to make perfunctory comments?

We eventually checked in, a process that went as smoothly as any I’ve had. Minimal paper work, maximum trust. “We don’t need your driver’s license number.” Wayne was well past unnecessary details. Been in the service, been around, knew what counts.

The room. Some here have said “wonderful” or “best bargain around,” others “disgusting” and “rather sleep in my car.” I don’t carry a pry bar to check behind wall panels, nor a magnifying glass to locate errant hairs. (My wife would tell you my tolerance for “low-budget” is far greater than hers.) If there’s an odor—any odor—I’ll move along to another place. Passing that test, I discovered the shower head only drooped when the water wasn’t on—turn the handle and it came to life with a fine spray, hot water at the ready. Sheets? Clean. Pillow? OK, but I’m not home. Sleep? Continuous and sound.

In the morning another cast member arrived to pick up mail at the office. He stays for extended periods whenever he’s in town. Wayne had doughnuts and coffee in the office, which rightfully earns my award for Most Outwardly Disorganized. But like Klinger in M*A*S*H, he knew where everything belonged. Yeah, the pastries came from the grocery, and the coffee was instant, but it’s what you expect in a no-frills movie.

The Big Question—would I stay at the Sun-n-Sands again (or recommend it to you)? No—but I don’t regret my night there. Yet quirky only goes so far, even for the adventurous. This is roll-of-the-dice accommodation. If you value impeccable cleanliness and efficiency, or are traveling with children, you’ll be happier spending a bit more elsewhere.

As a footnote, Wayne said he’d be moving along at the end of October. The motel was set to close for the winter then, for the first time in many years, and he and his wife were unsure of its future. We wished him well before hitting the road towards Page and another scene from our travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseheads, ny
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I always look to find a good value for my money, but I'm afraid this place doesn't cut it. Yes, the manager is nice, but when the first thing you see is him in a filthy, oversized t-shirt down to his knees, seemingly without pants, it should give you a clue. If that isn't enough go into the office which is cluttered and smells. The room is extremely dated, in of itself not a deal breaker, but cleanliness is pretty important and the room seemed to also be clean - on the surface. Don't look too close - you can smell bleach, but look down at the moldy? molding or the wallboard coming away from the wall in the bathroom. The toilet ran all night and the tub faucets wouldn't stop dripping. I've uploaded photos and you can see the peeling wallpaper and crack in the wall. I'll let you judge for yourself. Sorry Wayne - I'd try again after some de-cluttering and paint.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcbush41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was one of my most entertaining stay here in the states!
Wayne is one of the most friendliest guys I can imagine!
Breakfast is perfect and rooms are clean!
Next time I will visit Utah I will stay again at this place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strongjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I returned to Kanab to spend some time hiking in Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument. As with our previous trips, we used the Sun-n-Sands as our base. The motel still old and dated but the parking lot had been recently (partially) paved. The rooms are clean and the customer service from managers Wayne and Terri is second to none. As with our previous stays we enjoyed breakfast in the lobby, conversing with Wayne and travelers from many different countries. We are planning another hiking trip to the National Monument, and will definitely be staying at the Sun-n-Sands.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dont_Stop_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the sun and sand by chance and if was the most memorable motel we've stayed. We travelled all around us and this was definitely our best stop. Wayne may looks a bit weird at the beginning but he's great and nice!! To try

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giubicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.8 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 15 in Kanab
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Motel

Property: Sun-n-Sand Motel
Address: 347 S 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741-3653
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE UNDER GOING A FACELIFT PLEASE BEAR WITH US! We provide clean, affordable lodging by the day or week. We accept pets. All rooms have fridges and microwaves. We also have "family rooms" which have 3 beds and two rooms with big "kitchen" area with dining table, fridge & microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sands Hotel Kanab
Sun-n-Sand Motel Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing