We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Purple Sage Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Sage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purple Sage Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Kanab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Purple Sage Beauty”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stepping into the Purple Sage Inn, I felt as I was transported back in time; wearing a long dress and sunhat! The old house was beautiful and the interior was finely appointed with very interesting antiques and pictures. The full breakfast were wonderful and Kathy was even nice enough to share her recipes! Tory and Kathy made us feel very welcome and were great conversationalists. I really enjoyed viewing Tory's wildlife pictures. Our stay was May 21-24, 2013. I only wish it had been longer. I vow to return.

P.S. The cookies were wonderful too!

Debbie, Debbie & Phyllis

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
82
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We prefer B&B’s on all our travels and the Purple Sage Inn rates with the best we’ve stayed in. It’s Americana at its finest. Kathy and Tory and their son Corey are wonderful hosts and so down to earth. We stayed there two nights (May 13th & 14th). When we arrived Kathy and Tory were temporarily away from the property so we met Corbin on the front porch doing his math homework (Hope that doesn’t embarrass you Corbin). He was so polite and took us to our room (Zane Grey Room) and then gave us a tour of the property. The home was decorated beautifully with a diverse array of antiques and small items they had uncovered on the property and the lot next door they also owned. The property had incredible landscaping to include an amazing collection of antique farm equipment as lawn art in the huge back yard. That may seem odd but it was just “cool” to see. They maintain a huge garden where they grow vegetables for meals and Corbin sells to locals and tourists during the summer. There is a washer and dryer for guest’s use and the large refrigerator is stocked with a wide assortment of beverages.

Kathy and Tory just made you feel so at home from the outset and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. They have a huge assortment of guide and photo books of all the local sights and provided great recommendations on places to go and see. Tory recommended “The Rocking V” (a 3 minute walk from the Purple Sage) and “Ecobars”. He called the Rocking V and made reservations for us, a must, as it was crowded and the food exceptional. We were going on an early morning guided hike and they were in the kitchen earlier than ususal preparing a breakfast of fresh fruit, pastry and coffee just for us. That evening they had some friends over on the back patio and we were invited to join them for wine. We spent several hours just laughing and talking and my wife and I both commented we just felt like part of their family. The next morning we had the full breakfast and it was about as good as it gets. We highly recommend everyone stay there.

P.S. Corbin, good luck on attaining your Eagle in scouting.

Bill & Brenda

Helpful?
3 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Wow what a pleasant surprise. The outside is so serene and peaceful. The gardens are amazing. However when you step inside it is truly remarkable. It is like stepping back into the late 1800's so many antiques in great shape each room is remarkable in itself. The host Torrey and Cathy are the nicest people. The breakfast was really good. My only regret is that we were not able to stay longer. I will plan our next trip to this area around staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This 1884 house really surprised me. The house is nicely decorated and very well maintained. Every old piece left by Kathy's grand parents and grand parents, maybe, is in good shape. Kathy and Toby are very accommodating as I arrived after 12am. Breakfast in the morning were also one of the best I ever had at a B&B. There were 7 different kinds of fruits, 2 different kinds of coffee, yogurt, toasts, potato, eggs, bacon, ets, for only 3 of us!
Toby sent me a flower before I left for an adventurous day. Very good value for money compared with the one I staged in Page, AZ.

Room Tip: The house is very close to the lottery center for the Wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fannyyudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Purple Sage is the epitome of American hospitality. We arrived after a long drive feeling a little tired and crabby but those feelings left us the minute Kathy greeted us on the porch and welcomed us in. We hadn't had a chance to stop and have dinner so Kathy very kindly offered to heat up some soup for us and it just got better from there. The bed linen was so luxurious it was like sleeping on a cloud and the room and en-suite just beautiful. We have had so many beautiful experiences in our travels but it's hard to beat the personal touch and attention to detail that Kathy provides. The breakfast was perfect in every way and Kathy made it look effortless but you could see the care and attention to every detail. I can't recommend The Purple Sage highly enough and we will definitely return .

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The owner, the building, our room, and the breakfast (including the coffee) were the best ever. Period. We have stayed at many B&Bs, and loved The Purple Sage so much that I would alter my trip route just to stay there again.

Room Tip: The more expensive room on the first floor was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I had booked three nights stay here many months before and could not remember anything about the place when we arrived as we had been travelling in the States since May.On arrival Kathy met us and gave us a tour of the premises,what a lovely surprise we were in for. the house is the second oldest in Kanab and a gem as is Kathy who by the end of our stay became like a friend.14 different types of fruit was placed before us at the start of breakfast and then onto the main courses which included home grown vegetables from their spacious garden,I would say it was more like a brunch than breakfast if I had stayed there for any longer I would have needed a crane to lift me out the house. Kathy did not mind spending time with us talking about the area or advising us where to visit and in the evening we were free to roam about the house or help ourselves to the free soft drinks in the fridge.Our room was spacious with a lovely bed and the toilet and shower room was enormous, this was one of our favourite places to stay, 5 stars easily and my wife still talks about the hospitality we received, talk about value, hospitality and location for the Grand Canyon or Zion two fantastic parks within driving distance..cannot do better than staying at the Purple Sage Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#5 of 15 in Kanab
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aikens Lodge
Aikens Lodge
#8 of 15 in Kanab
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Inn

Property: Purple Sage Inn
Address: 54 S Main St, Kanab, UT 84741-3418
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kanab
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Inn Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing