We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet B&B, great room”
Review of Purple Sage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purple Sage Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Kanab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a lovely place -- beautifully renovated, very friendly owners, and great food. We stayed in the master suite and it was HUGE. Was nice to have so much space, and the bathroom was amazing. It had its own little porch too, which was nice. It is a (relatively) short drive from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and Zion, and right in town so you can go out to dinner without driving. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We spent five days with Kathy and Tory Brock at their absolutely charming inn, the Purple Sage, in Kanab, while we were hiking the parks in Utah and the North Rim, and it was a stellar experience! This charming old house, full of history and artifacts, charmingly decorated, cozy and comfortable, yet with all the amenities of home and more, is a wonderful place to stay! And of course, the driving force behind all the perfection is the wonderful couple who owns and runs the place. Both Kathy, the main caregiver, and her husband Tory, who helps with the cooking and bottle washing when the place is full, are the greatest hosts you could imagine. They are both warm, friendly, welcoming, and full of useful information on the area. They gave us some wonderful hiking tips that we followed up on and loved! They are both fantastic cooks, our breakfasts each morning were fit for a king and queen, everything from soup to nuts, or, in this case, eggs to biscuits to fresh fruit to home fries to bacon, or anything in between! There's a wonderful living room with two extraordinarily comfortable couches where guests gather in the morning for coffee or the evening for cookies & conversation, or just when ever they feel like using the common room (which has a large screen TV, in case anybody wants to watch). We stayed in the master on the first floor, an enormous bedroom with an equally enormous and wonderfully comfortable king size brass bed, plenty of drawer and closet space with loads of hangers, a luxury many B&Bs might not provide. In fact, I cannot think of an amenity that this thoughtful couple has not provided, from plentiful towels, new each day, to double pedestal sinks in a wonderfully large bathroom with a separate large tub and large shower, with perfect water pressure… something not always found in older houses! Oh, and I can't forget the large side porch off our bedroom, with two comfortable rockers, beautiful hanging flowers, and a gorgeous view of the wonderfully landscaped yard and the mountains beyond. We whiled away our late afternoons, after our hiking was done, drinking beer and enjoying the view as we rocked. Perfect! Kudos, Kathy and Tory, for a job so well done that it's like a home away from home!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucythelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at many bed & breakfast properties over the years but this establishment is by far is the best one. The innkeepers, Kathy and Tory are some of the nicest people we have met during our travels. It is worth traveling to Kanab just stay at this inn. I would give this inn a ten rating! Thank you Kathy and Tory for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong on picking a room. They are all unique and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PackersWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had for a long time wanted to visit the national parks near Las Vegas. Based on reviews in Tripadvisor we selected the Purple Sage Inn as our base for visits to the Grand Canyon North Rim, Bryce, and Zion. The Inn is situated in Kanab and the parks can be easily accessed as day trips. What we did not expect was to meet such friendly and gracious hosts as Kathy and Tory Brock. They treated you as visiting friends, not just customers. Each evening they sat with us to discuss our day and to offer suggestions for our next day's plans.

The breakfasts were wonderful, just what you would expect at a first-rate B&B. They always included fresh fruit, yogurt and granola, and bacon or sausage. Our favorites included the picante omelet pie and crème brulee French toast. The 1884 house has been beautifully restored and is overflowing with interesting antiques. You must look very closely in every room (and outside) to see and enjoy all of the items in Kathy and Tory's collection. The house and yard are maintained to perfection.

We enjoy staying at B&B's and only select the best of the best for return visits. The Purple Sage Inn would definitely be at the top of our list. The only problem for us is that it is 2000 miles away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you find yourself near Kanab Utah on your travels, plan on staying here. Even if you aren't nearby, make a detour to stay here. It's a delightful place! Several things make it special. First, the innkeepers, Kathy and Tory Brock, are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and helpful; they immediately make you feel at home. Second, the Inn itself is beautiful and cozy. Kathy gave my daughters and me the whole upstairs, which was perfect for the three of us. Third, both Kathy and Tory had lots of suggestions for things to do, places to see, and restaurants for dinner. Finally, to top it off, the breakfast they serve is fabulous. After eating the breakfast on the first morning, my daughters and I spent the the whole day thinking about breakfast the next day.....and it did not disappoint.

My daughters and I all agreed that the Inn was a special place. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would start this review by saying that all other comments are so true for this accommodation . We arrived here fir two nights but are wishing we had stayed a week. The house is lovely, totally steeped in history. The bed soooo comfortable and Katy could not have been nicer. We also were lucky enough to have the house to ourselves and after previous nights in one room accommodation this was a real treat. We stayed previous night in Page but I will recommend basing yourself here and doing a short just over one hour drive to Page. Kanab has a historic feel to the town . There is a yummy Chinese restaurant just a short drive downtown. Driving distances to Zion and Bryce Canyons no more than 1 1/2 hours. We have been travelling for two weeks and would say this is the best accommodation we have stayed in.

Room Tip: To save the stairs, we would recommend ground floor suite but all rooms have character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Purple Sage for one night in April. Our room was small, tidy, and comfortable, with a small deck and several historic pieces as decoration. The bathroom was across the hall. The breakfast was outstanding--the best of our whole trip. It was a perfectly prepared veggie omelette just oozing with flavorful veggies and cheese, as well an ample fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and bacon. Kathy and Tory treated us like family. The location of the inn was great. We walked just a few blocks to Rocking V's for dinner at night, and the next day we drove just about half an hour to a fabulous hike in Grand Staircase (Lick Wash). Kanab is a good jumping-off point for exploring the Paria / Grand Staircase / Zion area, and it has a fun wild-west feel--though admittedly there is not much going on in town. I would recommend Purple Sage to anyone who will be in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
0.4 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Inn

Address: 54 S Main St, Kanab, UT 84741-3418
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kanab
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Inn Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing