We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kanab
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stopped here for a mid morning break while sight seeing and were extremely disappointed not with the food which was very good but with the off hand attitude of the staff. We were rudely informed that if we wanted cookies we should have got up earlier. In addition the coffee containers were almost empty and the staff member on duty didn't seem to feel that it was his job to refill them.

If you want breakfast then this place maybe good but at any other time there are nicer and more welcoming places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cordelia2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    50
    20
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strafford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a muffin and scrambled eggs, both excellent. Service was friendly but not fast and there were very few customers. Nice to sit outside and eat breakfast on a sunny morning in October, but I can imagine that service would be a problem in busier times (as noted in other reviews).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling attitude of staff”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

6 of us stopped off mid morning for breakfast. The food was mediocre and that is being kind. I saw the staff member preparing the burrito with her mobile tucked under her chin, chatting away. Not only did our order get mixed up but so did another lady, she waited ages for a croissant only to be told they had forgotten it. We asked for tea and received a blank stare, the toast we ordered didn't arrive and when it did it was slung on the table minus any cutlery, when asked for a knife and jam it was also slung on the table whilst the waitress was in mid conversation with her colleague, so rude. We travelled across 4 states and ate out the whole time and this was the worst experience both for service and hygiene/ value for money. I don't know if we picked a bad time as there were no cakes etc on offer the cold cabinet was empty. I would certainly not recommend this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tried it once but didn't go back because”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This appears to be a great little breakfast spot. Great choices for coffee and even chai tea, my favorite. The pastries looked great so we tried a scone - it was great! The breakfast sandwich and burrito was quite good. The problems arose as more people arrived. They do not have enough help to make the special coffees, prepare food and deliver it. Very slow if more than six people are there at the same time. We also have to agree that the place was quite dirty. After ordering we noticed that the pots looked like they hadn't been cleaned in quite awhile. The small kitchen area was also less than sparkling. We decided to eat elsewhere the next morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debmoore013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food and great service!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Quality food with friendly service. The coffee was fresh and delicious. Right in the middle of Kanab, seating outside and inside! The bagels taste like they were shipped from New York!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenRSullivan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing