We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Aikens Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aikens Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It´s one of the cheapest hotels in Kanab so we did not expect an outstanding stay. Actually it was an outstanding stay. The owner is very nice, helpful and humorous. The rooms are not very large but still OK. It´s very, very clean. WiFi was working very well.
I definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DimitriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    195
    81
    21
    7
See reviews for
133
195
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I pass through Kanab several times a year, and Aiken's Lodge is (by far) my favorite motel. This place is clean and efficient without being austere. It lacks the "big box" smell and feel, has comfortable beds, and is close to good restaurants. Wifi, TV, and AC always work well. No negatives after more than 20 stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very clean, no odor, good service, large room with large bathroom equipped with handicap accessible shower. All this and the price was very reasonable. This was the best value during our recent 20 day Southwestern journey. A Double Tree in Santa Fe was second. It is very apparent that the husband and wife owners work hard at providing a great nights stay for their guests. The carpet, sheets, pillows, cover all were in excellant condition.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant nor fitness center. I couldn't change my rating to nothing. Two doors d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWTwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

When you are tired of all the not so clean (or outright filthy) rooms at the chains and their inconsistent personal service level, check in here and you will find value for every cent spent.
Also, the central location in Kanab is matched by no other hotel.
Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie655dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Clean and neat. Close to attractions, stores, and restaurants. A good place to stay. Rates are fair and everything in our room worked (if you travel much, you know this is not always the case). I would recommend Aiken's Lodge as a simple, clean (very), and honest place to stay. They give you exactly what they say they will. and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Everything works (which is less common than it should be) and the rooms are super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT_Cruiser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co Mayo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a Motel rather than a Hotel and I chose it as it was cheaper than the Holiday Inn. I didnt know that breakfast wasn't available, so I saved nothing .
I arrived late as arranged and there was a message on the door telling the world where the key to my room was. Lucky for me no serial killer was waiting in the room for me.
The room was clean and basic and wifi worked very well.

There were no curtains on the window and as the room was on the ground floor everyone who passed by in the morning had a good look in , The only option was to leave the curtains closed all day .
The church across the road rings its bells every hour. It was definitley the best alarm clock to have " Nearer my God to Thee" pealing out loud and clear in the morning !!!
Receptionist was very friendly when I went to check out.

I wouldn't stay again but would not discredit it if privacy wasn't an issue for you , or if you didn't mind not having breakfast, or if you were an early riser.

Room Tip: Nothing on ground floor unless you want the world looking in your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divechick10891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageraikens, Manager at Aikens Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi, I remember you as a guest. We enjoyed you. I wanted to explain to you that the reason we kept checking on room in AM was because you had no car. Many of our guests leave early, and leave drapes open and key in room. Housekeeping kept thinking you were gone. I even made the same mistake, and looked in your window. Sorry. As far as breakfast if reservation was made on line it says no breakfast plan available. If we served breakfast we would have to raise our rates to help compensate. Also, guests don't want continental breakfast any more, they want hot breakfast or they want nothing. And the restaurants in town would stop serving breakfast if we all served. That would be missed. There are some good breakfast spots out there. As far as leaving the key out, we have done it for late arrival guest for 17 years. Most of the motels in this area without an all night guest clerk do it, and most guests appreciate it. Some guest can not make it by closing. Thanks you for your stay, Krista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Ok...this review is from a female...but I look for cleanliness and our room scored 5 stars. I esp liked the sparkling shower....even the white grout was clean. It is a regular, large tiled shower (no tub in this room) which I prefer. The room was large. I wish the frig was a little larger to store our freezer pack but a nice hair dryer. No coffee in the room but all you want in the office. Friendly and helpful owners. Great price and so much better than the giant chains Free secure wifi

Room Tip: our room was down from the office....some since there are trucks on the main road but did not interf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.2 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aikens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aikens Lodge

Property: Aikens Lodge
Address: 79 W Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3447
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanab
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aikens Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, easy parking, central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aikens Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aikens Hotel Kanab
Aikens Motel Kanab
Aikens Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing