We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Motel with missing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I really cant understand all these positive reviews. My impression is that this Motel (it is really not a hotel) is run by people who never had a property before. They try hard, but still fail to deliver the service that one would expect.
The property is located on the surface of Kanab. The rooms are sized ok, but the bed is really uncomfortable, much to soft and with a rough surface.
The internet did not work at all.
One day they forgot to make our room (!!).
The breakfast can be taken in a sister property across the street - however the space is very limited and you might have to stand during your breakfast.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on ground floor due to missing elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Bateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Patrick,

It sounds like with your experience we fell short at delivering a positive experience and I apologize for that. I will take this opportunity to clarify a few items you mentioned.

1. We don't claim to be a 'hotel'. We are a 16 room, lodge-style inn.
2. The management staff has a combined experience of over 30 years working in and managing high-end hotels. Clearly all the other reviews and the daily praise we received is evidence of that.
3. Our beds are very comfortable, new plush top mattresses - if you like hard and firm mattresses, this is not the type of beds you will find in any of our properties. Our sheets are very high quality, high thread-count and a 'rough-surface' is something we will need to look into as they are very plush and soft.
4. If the internet did not work, you need to tell us and we will get it corrected. It doesn't do any good to complain about it after the fact.
5. We've just begun our season in Kanab and the new housekeeper did miss cleaning your room - unfortunately stuff happens. Once you notified us, we immediately took care of it and that is what service is about.

Sincerely,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were a group of 7 in 4 rooms. All rooms are with a single queen bed. The rooms are tiny. The front desk was great experience and later we set next to a fire talking about life. This was nice. The pool was not functioning.
Kanab is in Utah and therefore no pub can be found in the town. Furthermore the town is quite off after sunset.
Breakfast was great- It was served in the nearest hotel owned by the same owner.

Room Tip: Expect less and be surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviD_05749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for pointing out that yes, indeed our standard, economical category, single queen rooms are small and we advertise them as 'Cozy' size and price them accordingly. The weather in Kanab the majority of the time is very nice and we've created some very nice outdoor space to relax in and include full hot breakfast each morning to add value to our guest.

Photos of the rooms are very prominently featured on our website and on all sites that we are listed in, I'd suggest if you didn't want small rooms to book our Deluxe category rooms which are much larger and spacious.

Sincerely,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

stayed for the weekend and had a great time. The room was nice and clean.The bicycles they lend you to ride around town was a blast from the past. Quiet little town. Matt and Travis are the nicest people ever! Breakfast is really good!!! Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This motel goes just that little bit extra to make your stay in Kanab more enjoyable. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. Breakfast is a cut above the standard motel breakfast. Even complimentary bicycles are available.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank geoffr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This lodge is so charming, unique and comfortable. I only wish we had more than one night to enjoy the grounds and the town. I loved the little, personal touches, a welcome card, linen spray, bathrobes, etc. Will hopefully be able to return to the Kanab area someday and explore the owners other hotels in the area which looked equally as cool!!

Room Tip: Alot of luggage, request ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misswhitwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am going to give this place a great review, and we did not even actually stay here! And here is why - I made the reservation for Canyons Lodge quite a while ago and I chose a single queen room for our five night stay. Great price and yet when we checked in the owner questioned me about our needs due to the length of our stay and the size of the room. So we went an checked it out and he WAS right, it was quite small. It would be fine for an overnight, but for what we had planned as a four night stay we simply would have not been comfortable. My fault, totally, based on the bed size and not the room size. But, here is the great part. He did not have any real options for me at Canyons Lodge so he managed to flip me over into a beautiful, and significantly larger, room at the Colonial Inn right next door (same ownership) and credited me with the early booking and cash discounts so that, while I did pay a little extra for the room, it was totally worth it and a great value. His other option? Hey, I rented the room based on the picture and I could easily have been stuck with it. Because of his straightforward attitude, helpful nature and honest approach he made our five days in Kanab a memorable experience. And I will come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Really liked this place. Has been updated with attractive decor. The room though is a bit small. The bathroom is the size of a closet, but it does get the job done. Great location on the main drag of the town. The beds are very soft and, in my opinion, need replaced with firmer mattresses. Breakfast is at the Victorian Inn which is also owned by the same folks at Canyon Lodge. It's good and hearty. Both of the owners are very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanab
0.1 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
24.2 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Address: 236 N 300 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kanab
#2 Green Hotel in Kanab
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
Price Range: £75 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Remodeled (2013), Clean and Comfy Large Guest Rooms are found in our Rustic & Contemporary Styled Inn. All rooms offer: Supple Soft Linens - Microwave and Refrigerators, Complimentary WiFi, Direct TV Channels, Complimentary Hot Breakfast each morning. In-Season Outdoor Pool, outdoor fire, complimentary bikes and our wonderful and welcoming hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Bon Hotel Kanab
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing