We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay in Kanab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lee, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super place to stay in Kanab!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed one night at Canyons Lodge to break up our drive from Bryce National Park to the Grand Canyon. We wish we could have stayed longer! The owners were so pleasant and clearly love what they do! They had great recommendations for great local food and things to do in our short stay in the area. We had a ball biking around town on their "vintage" bikes. The complimentary "continental" breakfast next door at the Victorian was great! It had classic continental items, but also had omeletts, biscuits, bacon and make your own waffles! The kids loved that! We also took a tour of the local animal shelter/sanctuary called "Best Friends" - a most amazing place. The room was extremely clean and well equipped. We are so happy we stayed here and not at a big chain hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    170
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
144
367
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice, comfortable and friendly lodge in a special town.
Complimentary glass of wine at the fire pit in the evening. Nice room, clean.
Breakfast ok, in next door hotel. Not much space to sit down, restaurant to small for all guests.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemiek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Canyons Lodge on our recent trip to Utah. Kanab is an excellent location for visiting Zion and Bryce Canyon so we spent a couple days here to faciliate seeing the parks in the area.

We arrived later in the day and had no trouble getting checked in. The gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful, getting us a reservation for the Rocking V Cafe for a bit later and we went to get settled in. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made the stay extremely pleasant.

The room was extremely clean with a very interesting decor that was quite fun and funky. The room was a decent size with a small table and chairs for a sitting area that came in handy for working on the computer. We didn't find the room to be noisy at all, but we were staying in a ground floor room and it was very early in the season still. There was minimal traffic on the road outside in the evening in spite of being on the main road into Kanab. My wife and I found the beds to be quite comfortable and we slept quite well both nights we stayed.

The free breakfast they were offering at another property owned by the same owners across the street was a nice, well stocked buffet and quite tasty.

All in all we had an excellent stay and an excellent visit to Southern Utah. Can't recommend the hotel and the area enough if you're looking for an outdoors vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freerange13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were greeted by the receptionist (sorry I'm terrible with names, began with an A and she's Canadian) who offered to sit down with us outside and help us with our travel plans over a glass of wine. How could we refuse such a great offer? She was very helpfula nd also recommended restaurants in Kanab for dinner. We enjoyed the first recommendation and had a great steak, but the Mexican was a disappointment.
Back to the hotel - very clean and comfortable, yes it is a motel really, but more than adequate, they even provide comfy robes. There was some traffic noise, but that did not keep us awake.
My friend did not sleep well on the first night as despite the air con she was very overheated. We discovered why the next day when we inspected the bed. On top of a very nice mattress there was a thick piece of foam, no idea why. This is what made my friend sweat so much. We removed it and her second night was much more restfull.
I had difficulty with the WiFi but it eventually worked. You may need a different password depending on where your room is, you just need to ask.
Breakfast is taken at the hotel next door (same owners) and was very good, an excellent buffet choice. I don't like the disposable plates and cutlery or drinking out of cardboard cups, but this was not the only hotel to do this on our trip, so I guess it's all down to saving on staff. We liked the look of the hotel (called the Victorian I think). It looked like a good place to stay and was a hotel not a motel.
We met one of the owners the next day and he was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved it! Canyons Lodge is comfortable, clean, and offered a warm welcome around the fire pit with a glass of wine. A delicious breakfast the next morning was served to start off an adventurous day around the heart of a beautiful region at the National parks in Utah! Can't wait to come back to sleep under the stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailor2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I booked the Canyon Lodge based on positive tripadvisor reviews and because it advertised free wifi.
The lodge is a small hostel, with nice rooms, a broom closet for a bathroom and sadly, no wifi.
You can hear every word uttered in the adjacent room, every step taken in the room above you and every passing truck on the highway just outside the door sends the entire structure into an epileptic fit.
Staff is very nice and helpful and breakfast is very good.
Altogether, a nice hostel though overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for you review - I must say it made me chuckle.

I naturally must assume you've never stayed at a hostel and if so it must have been a very nice one. If the entire structure was going into an epileptic fit it most likely would be falling down. When staying in a hotel, I assume I will be hearing people outside of my room and possibly next to me, just part of the travel experience and certainly not a complaint we hear very often.

I apologize for the wifi and I will say the same to you as in other reviews - if you tell us you are having issues after the fact, there is nothing we can do to correct it. We would have happily got the service working for you had we known.

You paid $79 for one of our standard, cozy queen rooms and that include a full hot breakfast for two, direct tv, bathrobes, complimentary bikes, custom made spa amenities, plush bedding, etc.. I am sorry if you feel that is overpriced and I truly wish we had provided you a better value with the service we did deliver.

Sincerely,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I really cant understand all these positive reviews. My impression is that this Motel (it is really not a hotel) is run by people who never had a property before. They try hard, but still fail to deliver the service that one would expect.
The property is located on the surface of Kanab. The rooms are sized ok, but the bed is really uncomfortable, much to soft and with a rough surface.
The internet did not work at all.
One day they forgot to make our room (!!).
The breakfast can be taken in a sister property across the street - however the space is very limited and you might have to stand during your breakfast.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on ground floor due to missing elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Bateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi Patrick,

It sounds like with your experience we fell short at delivering a positive experience and I apologize for that. I will take this opportunity to clarify a few items you mentioned.

1. We don't claim to be a 'hotel'. We are a 16 room, lodge-style inn.
2. The management staff has a combined experience of over 30 years working in and managing high-end hotels. Clearly all the other reviews and the daily praise we received is evidence of that.
3. Our beds are very comfortable, new plush top mattresses - if you like hard and firm mattresses, this is not the type of beds you will find in any of our properties. Our sheets are very high quality, high thread-count and a 'rough-surface' is something we will need to look into as they are very plush and soft.
4. If the internet did not work, you need to tell us and we will get it corrected. It doesn't do any good to complain about it after the fact.
5. We've just begun our season in Kanab and the new housekeeper did miss cleaning your room - unfortunately stuff happens. Once you notified us, we immediately took care of it and that is what service is about.

Sincerely,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Property: Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Address: 236 N 300 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kanab
#2 Green Hotel in Kanab
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Remodeled (2013), Clean and Comfy Large Guest Rooms are found in our Rustic & Contemporary Styled Inn. All rooms offer: Supple Soft Linens - Microwave and Refrigerators, Complimentary WiFi, Direct TV Channels, Complimentary Hot Breakfast each morning. In-Season Outdoor Pool, outdoor fire, complimentary bikes and our wonderful and welcoming hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Bon Hotel Kanab
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing