We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed Stay but Still Had to Pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My sister and I were traveling together with our 3 dogs on a 2 week road trip. While driving from Taos, NM to Kanab, UT., outside Tuba City, NM, a detour sent us in the direction of Cameron, AZ. It was dark, we were lost, tired and worried, so we returned to Tuba City, checked into a Quality Inn & immediately called Quail Park Lodge. We explained our situation & asked to change the reservation to the next night. He said we would be charged for the missed night, but we could pay for the next night also. He was going to talk to the owner and call back, but there was never a return call. We have been charged for the night we missed. Zion is closed. We drove by their empty parking lot the next day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SRR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W, Owner at Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Yes - we hold a room for you until 10pm on the day of arrival - you are responsible for it.

Parking lot is empty because everyone leaves in the morning to go to the National Parks and/or Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. The hotel was sold out and we could have re-sold your room if we had known earlier that you wouldn't be arriving and you would have had no penalty.

Sincerely,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
There are newer reviews for Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place looks funkier on the outside than it is inside, though they've made a good effort to set it apart and give it curb appeal. Lots of effort also in giving guests some personal touches. The room was comfortable and very clean, not too noisy though it's right on the main through-road, but it wasn't anything special, for the price. Kanab is a nice town and very tourist focused, but I walked down the main drag for dinner and there weren't a lot of people around by the time I was walking back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RundleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed the decor and the convenience of parking just outside the door. Staff was very friendly. The room was quite small, but the beds were comfortable and the location great for a quick walk to breakfast. Had we known the free breakfast was so elaborate we might have eaten there instead! The pool is right near the main street, so not exactly private. They offered a 5% discount for cash via email. Nice way to recycle an old "motor lodge" into a rather cool retro "experience" if that matters. It was nice to not have to lug bags very far (no stairs!) after a long day.

Room Tip: Not sure there's any difference in rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

In a perfect world, all 1960's style motels would be turned into Quail Park Lodge's. The room was darling...the pool perfect....and Ladd, the manager and Eric, who greeted us on our first day could not have been any more helpful or any nicer. Their suggestions were spot-on and added to the enjoyment of our 4 night stay. Kanab is perfect for exploring Bryce, Zion and the North Rim of the GC. The complimentary wine in the evening was much appreciated after a day of mind-blowing sightseeing and the breakfast in the morning was more than substantial to get us going on our new adventures. The four days at Quail Park were absolutely perfect and we truly hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: From what I could see....all the rooms appeared to be the same high quality.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews, the mid-century modern decor and the ability to have Best Friends sleepovers. We weren't disappointed. We were greeted by Ladd when we arrived and offered a glass of wine. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had ample amenities. The only misgiving I had was wishing for an in-room coffee pot. I really don't like going out in public before my first cup of joe! That said, their continental breakfasts (from 7-10) were great! They had coffee and teas, sausage and gorgonzola sausage bites, hard boiled eggs, apples, oranges, and bananas, and a nice assortment of pastries and muffins. Way better than any other continental breakfast I ever had. The Retro bikes free for patrons to use throughout town are also a fun addition. The pool heater was broken when we were there, and there was no jacuzzi (sad face).

Room Tip: Room ten is a suite with 2 full bedrooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Quail Park Lodge.It was the best property we have stayed on our trip exploring beautiful Arizona and Utah.
Everything was perfect starting the reception area with very friendly staff to the nicely decorated room,with 4**** hotel amenities including bathrobes.
Quial Park Lodge is not a regular motel on the road but a great place to stay and explore historic Kanab.By the way free bikes are available for the guests.
Bravo owners and staff.

Vladimir Umansky

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Someone has done a great job updating an old motel. The service was excellent, room and bathroom were very clean, the property well maintained. Fun retro style carried throughout the property! Loved the bicycles, available to motel guests, and other little details that showed the owners are thinking of their customers. There were four of us staying in the room which made it full but no big deal. Beds were very comfortable, plenty of towels, frig, microwave...no complaints! Restaurant recommendations were excellent and within an easy walk. Location is on main road making it easy to locate and traffic really was not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bornforadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Address: 125 N 300 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kanab
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#3 Green Hotel in Kanab
#3 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful roadside lodge with convenient location and incredible views of red hills and Kanab canyon. Underwent a renovation in Spring of 2010 and Winter 2012 with a return to the classic 'Route 66' motor lodge and today's updated amenities. Features: Plush beds that are triple-sheeted, down-like comforters, iPod/mp3 players, free bike rentals, microwaves and refrigerators, free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, complimentary continental breakfast, new outdoor swimming pool, sun deck and all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Park Hotel Kanab
Quail Park Motel
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing