We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic motel with movie theater in the barn!”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Lovely motel with interesting western film history and nice rooms. We stayed in John Waynes room and went to the barn to watch the evenings western film. They have a pop corn machine and an enthousiast introduced the film by some interesting facts relating to Parry Lodge about the actors in the film.

The room was nice and clean. Easy to park.

1,5h drive to Bryce Canyon and 1h drive to Zion. Bryce is nice for a day of hiking. Be back for the film at 8pm :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked a room in the two-storey-building, hoping that a room that is not in the cheapest category would offer comfort and a good night's sleep. Well, you can go wrong... We paid 101 Dollars to get a room that was not only lacking any charme, but was old and shabby. You really did not want to take a closer look at the beds... Obviously two reprints of movie posters shall evoke some nostalgic flair. This is definitely not enough to distract from the shortcomings. The corridor in that building should have been a warning. What a depressing sight!

Same with the pool. This was the dirtiest pool we saw during our 3-week-tour through the southwest.

Only positive thing was the good breakfast buffet, at 5.99 a bargain.

Visit the lovely lobby in the charming main building, take some pictures, but sleep in a nicer (and cheaper!) place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiseprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed with them for a week and we had a very nice stay there. Working out at Best Friends we needed a room that was pet friendly. However the only thing that they had available when we made or reservation was non-pet friendly. Without us having to ask they were able to find us a pet friendly room and made the change. They have a great breakfast every day and a super lunch on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.

The only negative that we have is the channel selection on the TV, it seems that they are mainly news, sports and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We traveled to Kanab, Utah for a reunion that had been scheduled for a year. My biggest complaint is that the customer service was HORRIBLE. The ONLY person who greated you with a smile on her face and was friendly, going above and beyond at any time she was working, was Diane. It'd really do their staff good to take some customer service training directly from her, including the MANAGER! The morning buffet breakfast waitresses were terrible. They were rude and discourteous, and 30 minutes before the buffet ended when they'd run out of food they couldn't believe that they needed to bring more food out and only did so after being asked by three different people. Their advertised "FREE" movies for guests is a joke. They give you a speech prior to the movie starting and the gentleman who runs the movies let's you know that he has "strategically" placed donation buckets at each entrance, even making you feel somewhat guilty for not leaving a donation. The rooms are not what they're cracked up to be, especially around the courtyard/pool horseshoe. Oh, and room service....yeah, right. They bring you clean towels, but after the third day of the room not being vacuumed and the bathroom facilities not being cleaned when they replenished your items, I was at my wit's end. The planned banquet buffet catered by the lodge itself was not worth the $27 per person charge. The salad and desserts were set on each table at 2:00 p.m. (banquet didn't start until 4:00 p.m.). The pre-ordered meal was not as expected....prime rib was ok, but the chicken came out not as ordered. And no cheesecake for dessert, which was also pre-ordered. Instead, it was some kind of cherry "look-a-like" cobbler. Sad to say, but wouldn't the previous owners and stars that gave Kanab the "Little Hollywood" nickname during the filming of some great movies be extremely disappointed in the Parry Lodge as known today.

Room Tip: All you're getting with each room is the actor/actresses name above the door...on the outside, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunninTheRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccparrylodge, General Manager at Parry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

As the General Manager of Parry Lodge, I would like to extend my apology for any perception of poor service. However, many of the complaints were due a misunderstanding of the arrangements negotiated with the hotel by the group organizers. The group negotiated a rate of $65 (during the season our rooms range from $70 to $120) for a three-day event. We welcomed early arrivals and extended the negotiated rates for up to five extra days. The organizers of the event also negotiated a rate of $17 per person which included tax and gratuity for a banquet-style meal with a choice of prime rib or roast chicken. The group organizers and most of the individual members complimented the service and food saying that this was the best event they had ever had and looked forward to returning.

The staff of Parry Lodge prides itself in going above and beyond to provide the best service to their guests. We receive many compliments from our guests for our hospitality and willingness to serve. However, understandably, there are times when the staff resources are stretched to the limits of capacity. My staff has taken this complaint very seriously and are working hard to make improvements to their already excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

So pleased to have come across this historic motel, where the stars stayed. Most of the rooms had the name of a big name movie star above the door where they had stayed, sadly our room didn't.Ask if there is a room available, for example Frank Sinatra, James Drury. Photographs of the stars are all over the walls of the reception area and breakfast room. Around the town there are plaques with the stars and their history on them. The motel room was clean and the place was quiet at night. Full cooked breakfast available which was really good. Sadly for us the old barn cinema hadn't started showing films for the season. I would have loved to have seen one of the old films in it, have never been either to the cinema or an old barn in the USA. Great shop opposite called Denny's Wigwam, well worth a visit.This motel is well situated for visiting some of the National parks and I would highly recommend a stay even if it is only for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hairybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Good value and great breakfast buffet. No hot tub but fair outside pool. Friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We only stopped here because everywhere around Bryce was full. Does not look much from the outside and easy to drive by but dont. This is the town where most of the old Cowboy movies were made and the motel was part of the history. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. All have movie star names. We stayed in the John Wayne room. There is a very "homey" feeling about the place. People very friendly and in the morning you help yourself to breakfast. There is a piano and little sitting area where guests can meet. In the barn they play old cowboy movies every night. We were lucky to get the last room. A lot of the people there were going river rafting. There restaurant was closed. We got a take out from a diner nearby which was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soupied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing