We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed 28 February 2013

First let me say that the guy at the front desk was very helpful and very friendly. The old-fashioned key to the room did not work and neither did the second key. The maintenance man came to help and he said you have to put the key in, push down on knob, and shake it. Then you had to push as hard as you could to open door. To close the door you had to slam it so hard that the old building shook. The dead-bolt was out of alignment and would not lock. The room smelled musty our entire stay and the old box TV was very small. The free wi-fi did not work. On the positive side, the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent one night here and it was very good especially for anyone traveling with pets. It was 64.00 for two adults and one pet. We also had a very nice breakfast comped by the hotel in their restaurant. It was interesting to read the movie stars names over some of the doors....they told us that they had actually stayed there back in the day when westerns were being made around this area. The room was clean and looked like it had been painted recently.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank laddiesmuma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here again when we were out at Best Friends this past Christmas. It was another great stay with them. Everyone we dealt with was nice and friendly. Thinking about the history that’s transpired at this hotel is just another fun point of interest.

Room Tip: Book your stay early, rooms go fast!!! Depending on time of year you need to book a year in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Dripping with history and movie nostalgia. Had a blast looking at all the pictures on the walls. We stayed in the Walter Brennan room and were amazed at how quiet the night was. Very good rates and breakfast was wonderfull. The scenery is amazing especially if you get off the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

When driving through town, there were so many hotels and motels to choose from. This motel sits on a corner lot. Very cute. The rate was much lower than surrounding motels. The room was clean and large. The bed was comfortable, the blankets quite soft, a new TV and a bath to soak in. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful with suggestions on the local food selection. I'm not sure when we'll be in the area again, but will definitely stay there. There is a film history to the hotel, but we were just passing through on our way to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

If Kanab is not on your itinerary, don't worry, don't change your plans. There's a lot of publicity about Kanab but nothing really interesting to see. If you have to pass by Kanab, then Parry Lodge is a good choice. It's still a motel, so don't expect too much and you will be happy. Choose (as suggested by Lonely Planet) the L-shaped rooms, they are correct. I was in "Ruta Lee" room. The breakfast (buffet) was correct if you think the price is 5.99$ but there are other options “a la carte”. The reception and breakfast rooms are full of old pictures and souvenirs of American actors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The rooms where clean, however very tiny. We hardly fit between the bed and the sideboard with the TV on it. We only stayed for one night, so we didn't really care.
After all these excellent reviews here I would have expected something more though.
To be honest though: We didn't get a chance to taste the breakfast, as we head to head on before the restaurant opened in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: £52 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing