We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia IS still what it used to be”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nostalgia IS still what it used to be”
Reviewed 16 August 2008

There is a lot not to like about Parry's. The rooms and the decor are very dated (the late 50s) and have been only modestly kept up. And the food (which we skipped) is on the order of hospital food according to the friends who sent us there. But if the average Best Western doesn't scare you off, Parry's will be a true find.

The little slice of 1940s & 50s LA/Hollywood/TV & movieland history that the hotel provides a glimpse of is a real treat. The ladies who run the place probably were there when Gene Autry or John Wayne were in house filming some B Western. The place fits the funkiness of the town, which is a terrific launching point for tours of the great Utah Natl. Parks. We were happy to have stayed there, for one night only.

  • Liked — Movie history
  • Disliked — Condition of rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    175
    74
    33
    13
See reviews for
96
189
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Wanted to stay here because of the cowboy connections,stayed for one night.
Lady on front desk, vey cheerful and helpful, and gave us a stars room, OMAR SHARIF.She also helped with restaraunts that were open. It was sunday,and not a lot of action in Kanab on that day.
Our room was situated in the building at the back away from the main road.It was basic, tired looking decor, but very clean. especially the bathroom.
Went to see the free movie in the old barn, i love the old cowboy films. i enjoyed myself whilst the D/W slept through it all.
Very quiet room, had a good nights sleep.
Looking forward to breakfast 1/2 price for guests, however it proved a disappointment. Only about six other people in the dining room.
The buffet, and there was plenty of it, so i tried most of what was there, but it was only lukewarm, our guess it had been stood a while.Staff were also lukewarm and unfriendly.
We would stay again, we loved the experience, but would go else where for breakfast.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We were recommended this place in a passing conversation on the Grand canyon's north rim , which is 77 milesaway.
Parry Lodge , a fine looking older white building,sits right in the middle of Kanab, on the north side of the bend in the main road .
It was the home ( away from home ) of gazillions of film stars who made films here , so the walls are covered with signed photos, posters, etc , and they show the old films every night in the barn behind, for free , and the cabins are all called after the stars who've stayed there .
However nostalgia isn't the reason for this recommendation , but now !
The rooms felt more like a home than a motel - OK not the latest, but very warm & full of character .
The hot buffet breakfast was better than some of the Vegas buffet breakfasts and at $3,99 ( plus tax) for hotel guests ( double for non- guests- still a steal ) both in quality and price the best we had .
Non greasy crisp bacon , tasty herb & pepper scrambled eggs , pancakes , fresh fruit , good orange juice were my favourites, though it was all there . With a breakfast like that , we could be comfortable until the next day.
And the breakfast service was very efficient and friendly without leaving us feeling we were being watched . Also the lady at reception was very friendly and helpful .
Finally the prices were also very competitive - we paid about $102 (including tax) for a complete cabin, comprising two adjoining rooms,with two queen beds & TV in each , a shared bathroom/toilet in the middle, our two adult sons having the other room , with kitchenette .
There was a comfortable , secluded feeling pool with trees out front , and the whole property felt like a park - tidy & manicured .
Had our schedule allowed us to stay longer , we would've , and we can unhesitatingly recommend the Parry Lodge to anybody , movie buff or not .

  • Liked — Character - Comfortable, homely feel
  • Disliked — Really can't think of anything !
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Medrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The heart of Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

We traveled to Kanab in May 2008 as a home base to visit Bryce Canyon, Grand Canyon North Rim, Zion National Park. Kanab was a great choice as it was a 2 hour or less drive to all of these places and has beautiful scenery and neat history and is a great little town! Parry Lodge was a great choice for us. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The movies shown in the barn are great - we made sure that we were back at the hotel in time for these every evening. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The movies
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed at the Parry in March so we had a convenient location to stay the night before we hiked the Wave. The hike was spectacular!! The hotel... not so much. I selected it based on Trip Advisor comments and found the location to be exellent - we walked to dinner at a near by Mexican restaurant and to another for breakfast (the hotel was only serving cereal at that time of year). Based on past reviewers, I guess my expectations were high for a really clean place but it was not clean in my view - the middle of the floor was OK but there were hairs in the bathroom, dirt in the corners, under the bed was just nasty, and it didn't smell at all fresh. The beds (I hate it when they use flat sheets for the bottom sheet - I end up having it all bunched up under me), pillows, and towels left a lot to be desired in terms of quality. The decor is just plain tired.
I would recommend the location and the off season rates are very low, so if you expect just an OK room, you'll probably be fine with what you get.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, Uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

I was a little dubious about what the motel would be liked based on the exceptionally low price for a night's stay, however I was pleasantly surprised on arrival. As a previous poster said, if you are looking for modern surroundings then this is not the place to be but if you are looking for a piece of history and a little wild west fun, then this is it. We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay as part of our 16 night West USA tour.

We arrived around lunchtime hoping we may be able to check in early, however were told to return at 3 pm. Didn't matter as by the time we'd had lunch, looked in a few stores and visited Frontier Movie Town it was coming up to 3pm. Ate at Houstons Trail End Restaurant for lunch which was fine and homemade cooking.

I had requested 3 quiet rooms at the back of the motel, this was honoured and we were given 3 'named' rooms right at the back of the car park. Was a little noisy from the side street but it did die down in the evening. Room was pretty basic and dated but relatively clean, had coffee maker and hair dryer. Walked into town again and this time ate at the Rewind Diner - proper old style diner, food again was excellent.

We couldn't miss the free movie showing at 8pm in the barn - Calamity Jane and Sam Bass. Only my father is a real cowboy/western fan but all of us loved it as part of our 'wild west experience'.

Breakfast was good, very varied and situated in a nice, airy dining room full of signed pictures of past movie guests. Also a bargain as motel guests receive it half price (I think it was around $4 dollars each!).

All in all would definately recommend if this is your 'thing'!.

  • Liked — Value & History
  • Disliked — Decor a little dated
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1pink_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

This is a motel that hosted a multitude of television and movie stars in the heyday of the western, many of which were filmed in or around Kanab. The place is lovingly maintained, but a little run down. It obvious that the people working there take a lot of pride in the property and its history. The 8:00 PM free movie in the old barn (in the middle of the parking lot) is a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding in a very nice dining room. If you're looking for modern luxury, stay somewhere else. If you're looking for a somewhat kitschy and charming hotel where time has stood still since the 50s, I enthusiastically recommend the Parry Lodge.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacachion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Property: Parry Lodge
Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing